We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Killarney area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #74 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

While in Killarney I always stay at Muckross Riding Stable B&B. It is on the edge of a National Forest as well as on the edge of Killarney. The location is superb...just 5 min. from the center of Killarney and it is very tranquil. It is a pleasure to return each day after being on an adventure.
The breakfast is wonderful, the owners Maureen and Padraig and family are very helpful and fun!
The rooms are extremely comfortable as are the beds. We stay there every June and look
forward to it all year. It is absolutely beautiful to look out onto the farm and see the horses and sheep each morning and evening. A wonderful location for a family or for friends. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

Room Tip: I always stay in Room #3 because it has a wonderful view of the pasture. Every room is excellent, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

While the B&B and grounds were all very nice I was particular unhappy upon check out. As we were preparing to leave and check out the owner advised us that she could only take cash for our 2-night stay. When we expressed our surprise she pointed to a small sign that read, "credit cards not accepted at this time". We said we saw the sign two days ago and assumed it was a temporary glitch. She said no, they don't take credit cards because of their service charges. So we (another couple and us) had to go into town to find an ATM to get cash. I had to pay a $15 ATM fee and it took an hour off of our tight schedule for the day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to do horseriding with my 12 year old daughter & it was fantastic..
While waiting we were able to have a cup of tea, my dad & my sister's were happy about that..There is also a petting farm, the children can hold the rabbit's & the cute little puppies...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rachel09dooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We cannot say enough about this B&B. Maureen the owner was amazing! The B&B is a beautiful location with a working farm. They have a small petting farm and riding horses. The beds are amazingly comfortable, morning breakfast fantastic, plenty to choose from. Great for a family. We stayed an extra day becuase we loved it so much, great location, just outside the main town and close to the key attraction Ross Castle, The Gap of Dunloe, and Muckross House. Easy start for the Ring of Kerry or Dingle Pennisula too!. Fun town, great pubs, great food. We had a great horseback ride through the forestwith Maureens husband and assistant. Maureen helped in every way she could to make us welcome and at home. Two other ladies joined and had been coming for 8 years, we understand why. You cannot beat this location, easy to find, easy to stay a while at a great price too! Thanks Maureen, we will be back!

Room Tip: The great room that sleeps 4 is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed here on our trip to Ireland. The B&B has beautiful grounds with lots of wildlife, it is well kept, clean and has a great location being so close to Killarney. There is also a great pub/restauarant just down the road.
Staff were beyond friendly and helpful in many ways. Breakfast was amazing! I totally enjoy my stay and would highly recommend Muckross Stables to anyone visiting Killareney area. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK196276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best pet farm I've visited in Ireland! It is spacious, and surrounded by beautuful natural sceneries. Green hills covered with grass and flowers, ancient oaks, everything is so full of life and Real (sorry if I can't express it better).
What is differ this place from some other farms, is that all animals are kept in good conditions and environment, everything is perfectly clean and tidy, and they look calm and seem to enjoy being with people. It gives a warm feeling when you pet and play with happy animals which are at home, not kept there for being a "turist attraction", but truly cared of and loved by their owners. I believe we should support places like this.
Puppies are so playful and cute, we spent more than an hour playing with them and cuddling! Goats, pigs and deer were curious and immediately came closer, and pony even licked our hands:-) And there are even emu and wallaby there, which is rare.
Owners are very nice and kind, it was a great pleasure talking to them.
And before leaving, we had a coffee with a pancakes and definitely those were the tastiest pancakes I have tried in Ireland, freshly homemade and fluffy. So as much as I can judge the food there is also very good.
Will visit again!
Лучшая ферма из всех, которые мы посещали в Ирландии. Восхитительные пейзажи зеленых холмов и старинных дубрав, дружелюбные хозяева, животные в прекрасных условиях, игривые и ласковые.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolinaGlavatskikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Off the main road and in the back of a large pasture is Muckross Riding Stables B&B. Easy check in and a very restful night. We had a great Irish Breakfast while viewing the horses, sheep, and emus and a wonderful "Katlin" rainbow. When you visit you'll be blessed if you find out what that is. Owners directed us to visit Muckross Gardens which we would have surely missed otherwise. We took a buggy ride through the park with driver Patrick and his horse Sally to the waterfall. Great experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a tour with Patrick and Sally in Muckross Gardens close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razorbackreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Riding Stables B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Muckross Riding Stables. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,589 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#18 of 38 in Killarney
529 reviews
1.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shepherds Lodge
Shepherds Lodge
#82 of 143 in Killarney
31 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
1.8 mi away
Lios Na Manach Country House
Lios Na Manach Country House
#57 of 143 in Killarney
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £72 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing