We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #74 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Unique B&B where you actually stay on a farm nothing bets waking up looking out the window and seeing horses grazing. Hosts very friendly. Location is great as not far from Killarney town centre. Breakfast was lovely and very filling. Would definitely recommend for a young family as there is the opportunity to ride the horses and there is a swing set for them to play on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Long story -- Maureen allowed us to park our vehicle at her home the morning of our Gap of Dunloe tour. When we arrived, the van had been there and was getting ready to leave. So we, family of 5 adults (sons 21, 19, 17), grabbed our things and jumped on the van. The gap was miserable that day; rain, rain and more rain -- and cold! While hiking the Gap, my husband and son inadvertently took the wrong path (an entire other story). With my husband, were the keys to the car and the bulk of our money. By the time my two sons and I returned to Muskross Stables we were sopping wet, cold, hungry, tired and stressed. We had a bag of gorp, 10 Euros, and no access to the dry things in our car. So........ Maureen stepped in. While we took showers, Maureen washed our clothes and gave us extra big towels to wear until our clothes dried. While waiting, she lit her fireplace so that we might stay warm and brought us some hot tea and scones.

To add icing to the cake, we had booked the 'family room' for five (which really would have been fine for the five of us) but Maureen had one vacant single room available and she gave that to us at no cost. Wow!

Of course we paid her for the laundry service plus gave her a generous tip. We were so grateful!! We weren't her only lodgers, but she treated us as if we were. The other two arrived home safely, but not until 10:30pm!

This beautiful home is not in the center of town but not far from town either. The setting is relaxing and peaceful. To see the horses grazing in the evening with the sun setting is somewhat surreal. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is looking for a quiet, peaceful and beautiful place to rest their head.

As for the complaint of "cash only" I am surprised -- 'cash only' is predominant in Ireland. Every Bed and Breakfast we stayed in only accepted cash. The fee for credit card transactions is simply too high for these small business owners to accept and still make a profit. Did these people not do their research???

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KSaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

While in Killarney I always stay at Muckross Riding Stable B&B. It is on the edge of a National Forest as well as on the edge of Killarney. The location is superb...just 5 min. from the center of Killarney and it is very tranquil. It is a pleasure to return each day after being on an adventure.
The breakfast is wonderful, the owners Maureen and Padraig and family are very helpful and fun!
The rooms are extremely comfortable as are the beds. We stay there every June and look
forward to it all year. It is absolutely beautiful to look out onto the farm and see the horses and sheep each morning and evening. A wonderful location for a family or for friends. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

Room Tip: I always stay in Room #3 because it has a wonderful view of the pasture. Every room is excellent, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

While the B&B and grounds were all very nice I was particular unhappy upon check out. As we were preparing to leave and check out the owner advised us that she could only take cash for our 2-night stay. When we expressed our surprise she pointed to a small sign that read, "credit cards not accepted at this time". We said we saw the sign two days ago and assumed it was a temporary glitch. She said no, they don't take credit cards because of their service charges. So we (another couple and us) had to go into town to find an ATM to get cash. I had to pay a $15 ATM fee and it took an hour off of our tight schedule for the day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to do horseriding with my 12 year old daughter & it was fantastic..
While waiting we were able to have a cup of tea, my dad & my sister's were happy about that..There is also a petting farm, the children can hold the rabbit's & the cute little puppies...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank rachel09dooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We cannot say enough about this B&B. Maureen the owner was amazing! The B&B is a beautiful location with a working farm. They have a small petting farm and riding horses. The beds are amazingly comfortable, morning breakfast fantastic, plenty to choose from. Great for a family. We stayed an extra day becuase we loved it so much, great location, just outside the main town and close to the key attraction Ross Castle, The Gap of Dunloe, and Muckross House. Easy start for the Ring of Kerry or Dingle Pennisula too!. Fun town, great pubs, great food. We had a great horseback ride through the forestwith Maureens husband and assistant. Maureen helped in every way she could to make us welcome and at home. Two other ladies joined and had been coming for 8 years, we understand why. You cannot beat this location, easy to find, easy to stay a while at a great price too! Thanks Maureen, we will be back!

Room Tip: The great room that sleeps 4 is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed here on our trip to Ireland. The B&B has beautiful grounds with lots of wildlife, it is well kept, clean and has a great location being so close to Killarney. There is also a great pub/restauarant just down the road.
Staff were beyond friendly and helpful in many ways. Breakfast was amazing! I totally enjoy my stay and would highly recommend Muckross Stables to anyone visiting Killareney area. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK196276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,608 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing