We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic cottages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Killarney Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Killarney Village
co laoise
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was here in April and had a great time location is great, plenty of space to park car, quite area. The house was heated for us everything was in working order, Very well stocked with kitchen equipment, Aggie even came out in heavy rain with a dvd player to us. The area around is stunning and there was somewhere to go every day .When i'm away i don't cook but on this occasion i did as grill oven were high standard. Also nice touch with welcome tea, coffee, etc and washing up liquid. The fire place was in working order and fuel could be got in local centra. But do beware that car is needed as it is out from town a bit, plenty of room for families. My mum was 70 and this was a treat for her to stay in a thatched cottage with mod cons she really loved it we have no problem in coming back here hope it sooner than later!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
76
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here, 4 adults, as a jumping off spot for touring the south west corner of Ireland. We had half of a thatched roof cottage that had plenty of room for all of us. It had 3 bedrooms, plus a loft, 3 bathrooms and a kitchen. It also had a washer/ dryer combo that worked, but did not dry my clothes very well. I had to spread them out all over one of the bedrooms overnight to dry them. You definitely need a car to get around. From here we drove the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula and visited the Killarney National Park. It is a very long drive from Dublin, but there is plenty to do once you get there. I would recommend this if you want to tour the area. Just one heads up, there were a few neighborhood dogs that were roaming freely. All were friendly (and overfed) but they liked to be very up close and personal to everyone in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greymomBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Did not know this place existed until I was told by a friend of a friend. Great location 2 minutes from city centre. Shop just down the road also a bar and restaurant are close by if you don't feel like cooking. Facilities in the house where great. Kitchen and living area fire all lovely and clean. Great space. Took the option for wireless internet but it was very slow. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Some info first: a great place to stay to see western Ireland (Ring of Kerry, Dingle peninsula, even down to Blarney), but you WILL NEED a car for this area. About 15 mins from the Kerry Airport (serviced by Ryan Air) and plenty of rental car companies at the airport. The positives first; reservations easy on Booking.com and a good value for the money, and the staff communicated with us how to find them. The staff was nice, explained many things when we arrived (location of Tesco, using the WiFi dongle), and one came out in a pounding rainstorm to check on the TV not working (got it fixed). LOTS of room--easily sleeps 8 (but only two bathrooms). Plenty of flatware, cups, glasses, and plates. So, why do I only give it 3 of 5? It needs updating. Couches looked dirty and worn; other furniture was broken (bedpost off of one bed upstairs; rocking chair arms detached). Kitchen counter was very worn (formica rubbed through/burned to the particle board). The cookware needs replaced, especially the skillets. Rooms were FRIGID when we arrived (couldn't they have gone by and turned the heater on?). Water pressure is low, and no hot water one night (heater is on a timer and it turned off early afternoon; being electric it took forever to heat back up). Lights in bathroom flickered on and off and one over the sink did not work. The WiFi was good but they did not charge the dongle before we arrived, and the short cord meant that to charge it it could not be by the window--where it could pick up the signal. Nearly all of these are easily fixed if the owners apply a little money and manpower and then they would be perfect! I would still recommend the place for visiting western Ireland, and it was neat to stay in the thatched cottages. They are a great value and lots of room (roomiest apt that we have stayed in all over Europe), but to avoid getting more bad reviews and a slide in business, I would recommend a little attention by the ownership.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ross, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Only back from our stay in the cottages and we couldn't recommend them highly enough, well equipped, spotlessy clean and most importantly for me warn and cozy as was nervous they would be cold and plenty of space for the 5 of us and all our bags as we never travel lightly!!
We will definitely be back and will recommend them to everyone we know heading to Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great environment!
Very helpful staff. Nice working fireplace.
Lots of space to sleep in.
2 bathrooms but poor water pressure if both are used at the same time or if the washing machine is running.
Whole house seem to shake when washing machine is spinning dry.
Otherwise, we would definitely stay there again as it is comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wchankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very comfortable spacious and well equipped cottage. Lovely quiet location and great space between cottages. Some sort of divide would be nice between outside table as if adjoining neighbours are smoking outside it blows in your patio door, or if you are eating outside there is no privacy. Great to have pub within walking distance. the pub staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food was good especially the steak.
Great location for seeing the surrounding area.
Cottages nicely painted and grounds well kept.

Room Tip: Houses with 2 en-suites are best as there is no bathroom upstairs for the double room and twin mezza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Killarney Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Killarney Village

Property: Old Killarney Village
Address: Killarney Villa Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Killarney Village 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Killarney Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Killarney Village Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing