We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Invicta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Invicta
Ranked #42 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Invicta for two nights in mid August and can highly recommend this charming B&B. Sean and Mary Sweeney are wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room overlooked the lake and was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices available. Sean and Mary's knowledge of the local area is extensive and they offered many wonderful sightseeing suggestions with Valentia Island being a particular highlight or our trip. Fantastic value for money. A home away from home!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having booked the Invicta a year in advance of a friend's wedding we were incredibly upset that the owners had no recording of our booking and after one night stay asked us to leave the next day! The way they handled the booking error was incredibly unprofessional and implied that we as the customers were at fault. Sean in particular was quite rude and aggressive in his manner of dealing with us. While the house was clean the decor was very outdated and the breakfast was very basic. I would not recommend the Invicta to any friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mullinpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S, Owner at The Invicta, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Invicta. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.
In response to your review, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify some details.

Whilst we regret that we were unable to accommodate you for a 2nd night at our B&B, we did advise you both that we had no confirmation of your booking from Expedia on Saturday morning.

When you arrived on Friday evening, you did not produce the confirmation so therefore it was assumed you had no reservation and just called to the door to see if we had vacancies for that night, as many of our guests do. We had a vacant room for that night only.

I do feel we were very accommodating to you and your partner by agreeing to serve you both a late full cooked breakfast. We understand you were upset and annoyed by the Expedia mix up, however I have contacted the National Organisation, Bed & Breakfast Ireland and they also confirmed that I had never recieved a confirmation from Expedia. All on-line bookings go through their web site before they forward them to me. Therefore it appears that it is an I.T mix up.
In our many years of operating our Bed & Breakfast, we have never had guests refuse to pay. Also I had to knock on the door in the afternoon to ask you to vacate the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want a quiet peaceful place to rest, fish, walk the Gap, or just take a quiet stroll, The Invicta is the place. Sean and Mary Sweeney make you feel at home and relaxed from the minute you arrive with coffee, tea, and small treats. You notice their Bed and Breakfast is absolutely clean and friendly. The rooms are en-suite and perfectly immaculate. There is no detail that is over looked from cleanliness to the Full Irish Breakfast included in a moderate price. If you want just a fried egg and toast, no problem, order what you want or enjoy the cereal and fresh fruit.
Sean has 5 clean and well kept boats to take out on the lake. Mary and Sean can tell you great places to eat, sites to see, walks or carts up the Dunlow Gap, or jet sit and have a pleasant conversation with two of the greatest hosts you could ever wish for.
If I could rate this bed and Breakfast I would give it 5 stars and if I had to describe it with one word it would be PERFECTION!!!! Feel the real Irish hospitality!

Room Tip: You will love every rooms Mary and Sean make sure every detail is PERFECT!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at The Invicta for 2 nights in late July 2014. We were warmly greeted by Sean and made to feel very welcome with tea and coffee and some freshly baked cakes. The B&B is right near Lough Leane and has beautiful views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. It turned out to be a perfect location for exploring the Gap of Dunloe, the Ring of Kerry, and the Dingle Peninsula.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were all very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (cereal, fruit, eggs made to order, toast, and/or a full Irish breakfast).
Sean and Mary are friendly, gracious and wonderful hosts and their home is awesome!! We would definitely recommend The Invicta to both family and friends.

Debbie

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Invicta for 2 nights in late June 2014. We originally were only going to stay for 1 night, but liked it so much we stayed for another. We found them on trip advisor and liked the location to the ring of Kerry and Killarney (about a 15 minute drive). This B&B is nestled between the mountains and Lough Leane and gave us a peaceful escape where we could enjoy nature and each other's company. The view from our window was breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Sean and Mary are friendly and gracious hosts. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (full Irish, eggs made
to order, toast, OJ, coffee and tea, cereal, and fruit). We hung out in the living room during the evenings and watch the World Cup with Sean and talked about current events in Ireland. I would definitely recommend The Invicta to friends and family. Definitely a great value!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We found this b&b by coincidence and we loved it from A to Z. It is located at 100m from the lake. You have very nice things to do around in the Nature and the owners of this b&b are fantastic. You will feel at home there. We had the best breakfast we tried in Ireland during our holidays. We also enjoyed the boat and the fishing. Thank you for all ! (Do not focus on the picture of their ads, because the place is much better than the pictures)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Mary was awesome and so was her home! It is in such a beautiful area and the house was spotless! It is right across from a lake and has awesome views! She suggested an awesome restaurant and breakfast was perfect the next day. It was in the perfect location for the Ring of Kerry. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jwguaraldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.1 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#29 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
4.8 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wayside
Wayside
#57 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Purple Heather
The Purple Heather
#4 of 6 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invicta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invicta

Property: The Invicta
Address: Tomies | Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Invicta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Invicta is situated on a beautiful setting overlooking Killarney's Lower Lough Leane, known for Salmon and Trout fishing. Boats are available from the proprietor to enable you to enjoy both fishing and touring the beautiful lake. The house is within walking distance (300 metres) to Tomies Oak Wood and O'Sullivan's Cascade. The Invicta is also just 5km from the famous Gap of Dunloe. It is an ideal base for golfers as there is a choice of 9 or 18 hole courses in the area. Recommended by "Le Guide du Routard." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Invicta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing