We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard”
Review of Shraheen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shraheen House
Ranked #31 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay while enjoying Killarney , Maureen is a wonderful host (and baker) and has excellent local knowledge. Rooms spacious , clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious - Maureen makes her own bread. Definately recommend .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EttaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Shraheen House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

During our visit to Ireland in May 2012, we stayed four nights at the Shraheen House. It was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. What a treat!

There were three of us traveling together and we stayed in the family suite, which consisted of 2 adjoining rooms each with their own bathroom. The rooms were spacious and bright and the beds were very comfortable.

Maureen and John were such wonderful hosts. Their breakfast was fabulous. You were given a choice of a full Irish breakfast, other egg dishes, porridge with a choice of Baileys or brown sugar, or yogurt and fruit. There was ample tea and coffee. The highlight of the breakfast was 3 homemade baked breads or scones. The breakfast room was bright and cheery and was a good source of travel advise from the other guests.

During our stay, Maureen and John provided us with travel assistance and would book our tours for us. The O’Connor’s tours would pick us up and dropped off at the Shraheen House. This was very convenient for us since we chose not to rent a car. In the evenings when we would go into Killarney, Maureen and John would provide us with recommendations on where to eat.

We thank you Maureen and John for your true Irish hospitability and we recommend the Shraheen house to anyone looking for the best of the best Bed and Breakfast in Killarney.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for two nights with Maureen and John in May and had a lovely welcome of tea and homemade cake on our arrival. Our room was spotlessly clean and had the most comfy bed with top quality bed linen. Nice deep bath to come back to after travelling the gorgeous Ring of Kerry was a welcome bonus. Maureen was very informative and helped us to enjoy our stay and plan our next part of our trip. Now the breakfast here is a spectacular affair which could have been served up in the most swanky hotel anywhere, gorgeous breads and cakes were on offer alongside a great menu. Attention to detail is definately Maureen and Johns forte'. There is a very homely feel with family photo's and collectibles around the the house. Located in a peaceful location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Shraheen House was our first stop on our trip to Ireland. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay there. Our hosts were very gracious and welcoming. We loved the breakfasts! Probably the best we had on our trip. The rooms are inviting and impeccable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tread123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Outstanding b&b well appointed rooms and guest area. Maureen was a gracious host and nothing was too much trouble. The home baked bread was delicious and the breakfast outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have been to Killarney on many occasions and always enjoyed our visits. However, our visit last weekend topped them all and Shraheen House with its wonderful hosts (Maureen and John) was totally responsible for this. This immaculate and flawless four star B&B is lovingly maintained at a very high standard and is surrounded by a couple of acres of lawns and trees. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Maureen and treated to some of her delicious home baking. Our room on the ground floor was just gorgeous with quality bed linen and plush carpeting. As we were leaving for dinner in the evening, we met John who was tending to his roses and was more than willing to give us tips on where to go. After a very restful sleep ( this house was so peaceful you could hear a pin drop) we were served a wonderful breakfast in the bright and airy dining room. Maureen also bakes some fantastic breads. This is a wonderful place to stay with nothing left to chance. Great attention is paid to every detail. Shraheen House is a credit to Maureen & John. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: This is a lovely peaceful location, away from all the hustle and bustle.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

As I was attending a conference in Killaney I reserved a room at Shraheen House on the recommendation of a friend. What a find! This B&B is absolutely fantastic. I was warmly welcomed by Maureen and shown to my room with professional courtesy. It looked onto a beautifully manicured lawn with mature trees. Maureen was so gracious offering some wonderful home baking. Where would you get such service? I had a wonderful night's sleep (so peaceful) followed by a shower with fantastic pressure. Breakfast was a treat with so may choices, served in an elegant dining room. This B&B would put many a five star hotel to shame. I will certainly be back! Thank you Maureen.

Room Tip: Make a reservation.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#12 of 143 in Killarney
211 reviews
12.2 mi away
Redwood Country House
Redwood Country House
#38 of 143 in Killarney
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#52 of 143 in Killarney
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chelmsford House Lakes of Killarney
0.4 mi away
Dunn Court House
Dunn Court House
#61 of 143 in Killarney
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shraheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shraheen House

Address: Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £56 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shraheen House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shraheen House is a luxurious home set in 2 acres located 1 mile from the centre of Killarney town. Hosted by Maureen Fleming, Shraheen House is a family owned guesthouse. You will experience the warmest of Irish hospitality when you stay with us. Start your day with our delicious breakfast served with our speciality - Maureen's home baking. You can relax in our guest lounge or sunny conservatory after a day touring the lakes & mountains of Killarney and the greater Kerry area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Shraheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing