We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”
Review of Shraheen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shraheen House
Ranked #35 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After arriving in Shraheen house it felt like home, Maureen was very welcoming and very infomative about the area. The house was well decorated and to a very high standard. Breakfast each morning was the highlight as Maureen's homebaked breads and cakes (They are something one would dream of they were that nice!) Definately will stay with Maureen once again on our next visit to the lovely town of Killarney. Nothing felt better than returning to her wonderful B&B after a long day. Thank you Maureen and your husband for being amazing!! - Annika and Eoin

Room Tip: Each room is just as lovely as the next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnikaH306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed at Shraheen House in 2012 and loving it, we often talked of making a return visit. Well, last week end we unexpectedly found ourselves in Killarney and called Maureen hoping a room was available at short notice. Luckily, she had one available and we were so warmly welcomed and spoiled during our short stay that we genuinely did NOT want to leave. Once again, we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast after a most peaceful night's sleep. Maureen puts a lot of effort into making certain her guests are comfortable so if visiting Killarney this is the place to stay. Hope to return before long!

Patricia and Thomas

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are visiting Killarney and looking for an EXCELLENT B&B then please do not look any further-You have found it at Shraheen House!
We have been visiting this B&B for the past fifteen years and not once have we been able to fault anything-surely this says it all.
The quiet location, on-site parking,cleanliness,attention to detail,wealth of local knowledge,breakfasts to die for with daily freshly- baked cakes or scones, are all truly 5star facilities and value for money which, the excellent hosts Maureen and her husband John, have offered us during this time.
It is truly a Home away from Home in the loveliest part of Ireland!

Greetings from Gibraltar from John & Dorothy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This B&B is really nice, very clean rooms, and bathrooms.
Very peaceful area around and the entire property has been maintained really well.
Also comes with a great breakfast.
Its a little while to the city center, but if you have a car, i would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very private ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Despardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My family and I stayed at Shraheen House for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Maureen was a very thoughtful, organized and helpful host. Breakfast was excellent and Maureen in fact provides you a menu with a number of different options so you can select what you would like the night before (one highlight, porridge with warm baileys...yum). Maureen was also great in accommodating a gluten free breakfast and went out to get gluten free bread for my breakfast the first morning. Not only were the breakfasts delicious but they were beautifully presented. Maureen also provides her own baking along with breakfast for an extra treat.

Maureen was also really helpful when we asked for recommendations and gave us maps showing us how to walk to downtown Killarney from Shraheen House and different places to stop for our trips to Muckross House and the Ring of Kerry. Shraheen House is in a suburb of Killarney in a residential area but it only takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to Killarney. We found the walk to Killarney very pleasant and would walk in to town for dinner or drinks and then catch a cab back which cost about 10 Euro.

Overall my family and I had a wonderful time staying at Shraheen House and found it to be a great jumping off point for our driving trips around Kerry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The house is nice, and our room was comfortable and clean. The location was a few minutes outside Killarney, but near a caravan park and car dealership, not a very scenic area. And honestly the main thing that stood out about our experience was that the host, Maureen, was cordial but not actually friendly. She was almost dismissive and insulting of our plans for the day when we spoke at breakfast. I personally would not return here when there are so many other B&Bs to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wonderful B&B with special irish breakfast ... to suggest to all those that happen to Killarney.
Thank you very much for your kind hospitality. You love your job and it shows!
Best regards Michelangelo, Simona e Camilla

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelangelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
776 reviews
12.2 mi away
Redwood Country House
Redwood Country House
#39 of 143 in Killarney
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#51 of 143 in Killarney
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
595 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shraheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shraheen House

Address: Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £29 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shraheen House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shraheen House is a luxurious home set in 2 acres located 1 mile from the centre of Killarney town. Hosted by Maureen Fleming, Shraheen House is a family owned guesthouse. You will experience the warmest of Irish hospitality when you stay with us. Start your day with our delicious breakfast served with our speciality - Maureen's home baking. You can relax in our guest lounge or sunny conservatory after a day touring the lakes & mountains of Killarney and the greater Kerry area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Shraheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing