We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountain drive”
Review of Gap of Dunloe

Gap of Dunloe
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.83*
and up
The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney
More Info
US$41.49*
and up
Gap of Dunloe Half-Day Tour from Killarney
More Info
US$9.48*
and up
Gap of Dunloe Self-Guided Tour from Killarney
Ranked #2 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“mountain drive”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Really dodgy road but what an adrenaline rush! Driving along mountain edge, stunning!! Breathtaking views of Black Valley, go to Europe Hotel on Killorglin Rd for 5 star view of d lakes

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank miriam154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,086
    448
    85
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We ended up driving through the Gap on a day when it was foggy and pouring--and we wouldn't have changed a thing! The water pouring over the dark rocks in the mist created a Lord-of-the-Rings-movie-type environment. There were flowers, sheep, stone bridges, and extra waterfalls! One of my favorite places we visited!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenlynn821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were on a family faction and took a horse cart tour through the Gap of Dunloe. The view of the lakes and surrounding area was unbelievably beautiful. Our tour guide/horse driver was a wonderful young woman who gave us an hour and a half ride through the Gap. From there we took a boat ride down through two rivers and 3 lakes and ended up at Ross Castle. All in all, a wonderful day!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thomlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice easy walk through the countryside”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A nice easy walk through the country to the lakes. Horse drawn cart travel is also available, but much cheaper to just walk in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank septicgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery ”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

A Jem of a place just outside Killarney. Drive up to Katie's cottage and hire a jaunty cart to be brought up through the gap for an unforgettable experience.

Helpful?
Thank zorbathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gap of Dunloe also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Gap of Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing