We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Enjoyed drinks and afternoon tea at this luxurious hotel and special treatment by Nicole who attended to our every need. An order went astray and she immediately sorted it out when I brought it to her attention . To compensate for the mix up she did'.nt charge for the tea. A lovely gesture and encouragement to visit there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanairtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    425
    136
    61
    19
See reviews for
588
864
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just back from a two night stay in the Malton Hotel in Killarney and I had an amazing time!
Hotel itself is just outside the centre of town but a very short walking distance in. Myself and my partner were celebrating both our birthdays during our stay, which he had mentioned to the staff on making the reservation. When we arrived and were checking in we were both wished a happy birthday which was a nice touch, and, the receptionist also told us we had been upgraded to a suite! The suite we were given was beautiful, very spacious with long windows(overlooking the balcony at the main entrance) and everywhere was very clean. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the saff and food were wonderful. On our last night we were brought out our dessert with Happy Birthday written in choclate on the plates, this was very unexpected and a wonderful touch. We also drank in the Punchbowl bar where again the staff were very attentive and there is a very relaxing atmosphere with the sofas and open fires.
Staff are amazing in this hotel and really go above and beyond. Would definatley recommend this hotel as one of Killarneys gems!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

From the moment we arrived and met the receptionist,the friendliness of the staff the luxury of the room the quality of the food and of course the location the malton has it all, well done on a great overall package ,it was our second time staying,and we are already looking forward to going back. We have also called in to eat at the bar on many other occasions when in Killarney and always found it a good expierence, keep up the good work well done!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Junior suite it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerlyons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lIMERICK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Had a wonderful one night stay in the Malton, Killarney. Beautiful hotel but the most impressive aspect was the staff. Despite working such long hours, they were all extremely happy, helpful and charming, especially Laurence in the bar. He is a huge asset to the staff and just has it.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the gardens on the 4th floor. The lift was a bit of a walk particularly for eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We are just back from a one night stay in The Malton, my reminder to do my review on Tripadvisor was in a lovely well presented chocolate gift box that we received on checking out. It was our first time staying in this hotel and we will definitely be going back, I'm already planning a weekend in January again for my husband's birthday. We just had a standard room but it was lovely, very comfy duvet and lovely toiletries provided in the bathroom. We had our food in the bar of the hotel, (The Punchbowl), we were lucky to get seats as there are not that many there but it was a lovely,cosy atmosphere, we had seats across from the fire. Breakfast the following morning was well organised and everything we required was there. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: As I said the standard room was lovely and spacious but I'd pay the extra few euro the next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at the Malton for a wedding. Our first impression was of the room. If this is what a 5 Star room is supposed to look like, then DON'T stay here - what a disappointment!!! Plain, drab, no color, no warmth of any kind. Small bathroom with a dirty shower curtain and an old bathtub. The suites might be nice, but the basic room was not even close to many 2-Star hotels we've stayed in. TWICE the maid knocked on the door BEFORE 10am and even opened the door on one occasion! We were still in bed as the wedding went on until the wee hours of the morning. Unfortunately, breakfast was a disappointment for me; I have yet to understand this type of mentality but why does no one want to serve a single female? As an American, I'm used to tipping well, and yet, we're STILL discriminated against. But in Ireland where tips are generally not required, the stigma still remains and it was no exception at The Malton. I sat there while a couple on one side of me and a single gentleman on the other side of me were served BEFORE me! I would never stay at the Malton again nor would I ever recommend it. There are much lovelier places to stay; one being the Killarney Avenue Hotel where you're treated with dignity and respect and with much much nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Perhaps a suite would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Firstly my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The Malton is a four star hotel, a lot of our guests think the hotel has a five star rating it is a great compliment for us and I think the fact that the property is a beautiful historic building dating back to 1854 with friendly service and dedicated staff people get this impression.

In relation to your comments about our staff I sincerely apologise for the interruption by our housekeeping staff, it is something that should not happen but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly do not have discriminatory policy in place in The Malton and we are an equal opportunities employer. I am looking into your specific comments with regard the restaurant to ensure this incident was a one off. I have included my contact details at the end of this email and if you would like to discuss the issues any further please do not hesitate to contact me, but in the meantime please be assured your comments will be taken on board.

Conor Hennigan

General Manager

Tel: + 353 64 6638000

Email: chennigan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Wanting to make a special trip for my 30th Birthday, my partner and I spent a lot of time choosing where we could stay and eventually decided on the Malton and I'm pleased we did. The rooms are immaculate and spacious. We stayed in the Junior Suite. The service is good and friendly if a little slow at times and the food is amazing.

My partner cant recommend the Chowder highly enough. The portion sizes from both the restaurant and the bar are generous and delicious. Praises to the chef and his staff.

Location wise, its perfect. Set right in the heart of the town and yet just out of reach of any noise at night. We're staying here for two nights, and will sadly be leaving tomorrow but I've no doubt tonight will be just as enjoyable as the last.

It seemed to us ( we're a young couple) that the majority of guests here are of the older generation but we see that as a plus. No noisy children and a calm atmosphere. We even took time to relax in the lounge areas which we'd avoid in other hotels.

The only down side is that there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the public areas.

I'd definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing