We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Killarney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotts Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killarney Royal(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbutus Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairview(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Failte Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,457)
Filter reviews
2,457 results
Traveller rating
1,739
473
156
66
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
473
156
66
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunchbowl barmary macgarden roomtrain stationreading roombeautiful hoteljunior suiteold worldleisure centreself cateringtop classold stylewedding receptionbar foodfrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,122 - 2,127 of 2,457 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in The Malton, everything from the room, staff, and the food, was excellent, and central location makes it a really wonderful place to stay. I will have no hesitation in recommending it to relations and friends, and outside of the Hotel everybody we encountered in Killarney made us most welcome.
Ita & John Marmion, Co Meath

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds. Concierge was extremely gregarious, witty, and helpful. All recommendations were excellent. Wonderful breakfast served in lovely setting. One morning the hairdryer didn't work and after a phone call to the front desk, a staff member quickly brought a replacement! Highly recommend the Malton.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARWestLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Visited this hotel in May 2012 for my nephew's wedding. A beautiful hotel and wonderful friendly helpful staff. Exceptionally clean throughout and the delicious food together with beautiful gardens and the central location made our short but memorable stay most enjoyable. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Malton and indeed intend to to return hopefully for a longer period to enjoy also the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the beautiful gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Malton Hotel is located very close to the train station, why I first thought that it could potentially be a bit noisy. However, we had a nice room showing to the lovely garden and there was no train noise at all. The double room we had was very spacious with entry area, sitting space with sofa and a table, big double bed and a spacious bathroom with separate shower and bath tub. The 3-course dinner at the hotel Restaurant offers plenty of options for all kind of tastes but if you're a vegetarian you may only have one. The food was very good so was the bar food in the hotel. The staff was overall very friendly and professional but exceptionally friendly was the lady at the reception (Mary?) and the main guy at the bar. The hotel also offered entertainment and on both nights we stayed, there was live music in the bar. The music wasn't that loud but should you feel like a quiet drink at the bar, you could still use the back seats as the bar is spacious enough. I didn't use the gym but the pool, which is fine but nothing special. It could need some TLC and also, that one time I used it, the floor of the pool needed a clean. What I appreciated less was the strange noise in the morning that sounded like a old water pipe starting to work and that the heating was turned on fully. We didn't notice until the morning when we woke up feeling very warm. Overall, I would recommend the hotel very much.

Room Tip: Garden room
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madita76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

I hosted a seminar May 28th to 31st based at the Malton. Our visitors from 9 EU countries were raving about the facilities food & service at the Malton.
The conference facilities were excellent too. I'd highly recommend it for future conferences. We had no negative experiences in the 4 days.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooneyTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews