We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and Day Tour - Malton Hotel”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay and Day Tour - Malton Hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Myself and two friends had a wonderful few days in the Malton Hotel, Killarney. The food accommodation and staff were equally superb. Thankfully they encouraged us to take a mini bus tour with Ray Furlong. We had a splendid time visiting Muckross Gardens, Torc Waterfall and Aghadoe Heights. Ray was great fun and very informative. He was very reasonably priced and very patient with us.

Maeve Taylor

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write this review & delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Malton & your tour around Killarney with Ray. Hope to welcome you & your friends/family back again in the near future. Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Marketing dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    409
    129
    59
    19
See reviews for
560
822
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in the bar i couldnt say one bad thing about it.. the food was amazing we had 3 course the soup was lovely.. Had steak as a main was cooked and presented so classy and tasted amazing best steak i've had out in ages.. The hotel was so comfy to relax and enjoy our meal.. The staff were amazing so friendly.. Our waiters Sean and declan couldn't of done enough for us as i'm a picky eater they went out of their way to please me.. Will defo be eating there again really soon..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed one night here and was not disappointed. Beautiful lobby with excellent service. Rooms was homely. Parts of the hotel are a tad dated but the location and service make up for that. Breakfast was superb. Within minutes by foot of the town and next to the train station.

Room Tip: Opt for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Recently we visited Killarney where we go frequently. We had the opportunity to dine here on numerous occasions. The staff including Nikki, Declan, Kieran, and Michael were wonderful to us,so we kept going back. The food is excellent and very good value.

Room Tip: Talk to Mary, the concierge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardvanhouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for a week attending a conference. Rooms can be a bit hit and miss, initially I was allocated a twin room and the room location was noisy and bed was hard so I requested a different room. Despite the hotel being fully booked for the week my request was met promptly and with a smile, reception staff are wonderful. My second room on the first floor was lovely, much quieter and more comfortable. Food was good throughout, bar food and breakfast in particular is lovely. All staff show high levels of good customer service and have a smile and a few words for everyone. Conference facilities are excellent and I would really recommend this hotel for conferences.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollypops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi, Thank you for your taking the time to write this review & for the staff compliments which we do sincerely pride ourselves on. We have a mix of rooms at The Malton, some are more old world style & some more contempory soas to meet the requirements of all our guests. Delighted you found our conference facilities to be excellent. We recently carried out a major upgrade to our conference & banquesting room/services & are very proud of this. Hope to welcome you back here again in the near future. Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Marketing dept
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay here wit one dinner on sat night it's a real high class hotel I was lucky enough get a present of this weekend and enjoyed it hugely in saying that it caters for 5 star guests so ill be back when I win the lotto

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocktailsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I just had an amazing weekend in the Malton Hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. There's a fabulously warm and welcoming atmosphere cin the hotel reated by exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. My friends and I were blown away by their attitude. The quality of food and service was fantastic and our suite overlooking the gardens was absolutely gorgeous. For a treat weekend I would highly recommend The Malton to anyone visiting Killarney! Thanks to all the staff! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillBeHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi, thank you sincerely for your review. We are celebrating our 160 year anniversary next year so keep in touch for special offers. Hope to welcome you back here again sometime in the near future, again Many Thanks & Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Marketing dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing