We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of a Let Down”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Let Down”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a honeymoon around the west coast of Ireland. We arrived late on a Sunday evening after a day of driving the Skellig ring and sitting in traffic on our way into Killarney; as it was late when we arrived we could only find parking some distance from the hotel and we struggled through a group of American guests to reach the reception desk. The staff were indifferent (a smile costs nothing!) and we were checked in to our Double Deluxe Room on the third floor. Although it had a great view of the gardens, the room was small and stuffy and looked nothing like the Double Deluxe Room on the hotel website. There was a constant hum from an extractor fan that was across the hall from us and we had to sleep with the window open as the rooms do not have air conditioning (a fan is provided though). After a fairly poor night's sleep we went for breakfast; the selection was excellent and the food was very good but again the service was lacking and we were forgotten about after we were seated. Maybe my review of the hotel is a little harsh considering that there was quite a crowd in town for The Gathering, however, as repeat business is more likely to come from an Irish couple who spent a memorable night of their honeymoon and not a coach-load of tourists from the US, I think the hotel are missing the opportunity to offer a better personal service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zodalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltonManagement, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at the Malton Hotel, we are very disappointed that sections of your stay were not as enjoyable as it should have been. Our hotel will celebrate its 160th Birthday next year therefore we have a variety of bedrooms in the main hotel and from your description it sounds like you were allocated one of these rooms, some people love this part of the hotel because of this but unfortunately you did not and I hope if you visit again you will let us know that you have stayed with us previously so we can rectify this and talk through other room options with you. We have two car parks here at The Malton on both sides of the Hotel and we also offer Valet parking for guests that would like assistance and I hope this was offered to you on arrival. Yes, Killarney and Kerry is having a very successful season with guests increasing from America, Canada and other European countries and a large increase from our very important domestic market. I note your comments regarding breakfast this is not the experience we wish for our guests and I have discussed your comments with our Restaurant Manager. We do value our guests at The Malton and particularly for guests who are marking special occasions like your were on your honeymoon. I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the future, please feel free to contact me directly when you are planning your next visit to Killarney, I would like the opportunity to meet you.
Best Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
064 6638011
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    420
    133
    61
    19
See reviews for
574
854
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here last week for one night on business. I've passed the hotel many times by car, it is is a prime central location but yet has a feel of being very remote.
It's an old building but with a modern very grand reception. My only negative was the foreign guy who checked me in. Grumpy jocks.
My room was far from reception and in an older part but had all the fab little touches of a very good 4 star hotel.
The bar for me was the best bit, It has a great atmosphere, great food and service.
I used the pool which was nice.
The parking is free and right next to the hotel.
Breakfast was very very good.
Check out was quick and easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room her reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at The Malton. We were pleasantly surprised with the spaciousness of the room. The staff was great, and breakfast was one of the best of our stay in Ireland. A short walk to the Main Street where we enjoyed a great dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarRLorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Malton in January 2013 - we had both stayed there separately on previous occasions (when it had previously been the Great Southern Hotel) so we knew what to expect. Our visit together did not disappoint.

The Malton exudes "Olde Worlde" charm - from the comfortable and cosy salon on the ground floor where you can order delicious sandwiches and food (try their home-made smoothies, they are delicious) and relax on the sofas reading the Sunday papers, to the charming reading room area, also on the ground floor, to the well-stocked bar area serving great bar food, the Malton offers a home away from home in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. Our room overlooked the mountains and the town and it was a beautiful view to wake up to.

Even better was the breakfast - quite simply, the Malton's breakfast is THE BEST we've ever had in any hotel and we have both traveled a lot over the years. The sunshine poured into the room on both mornings and we felt like we were in a grand stately home rather than a hotel, such was the warm atmosphere and friendly service. The selection of food was fantastic and the cooked breakfast was fit for a king. The dining room itself again is olde worlde and they still use the old silver teapots and coffee pots with "GS" engraved on them when they inherited all the Great Southern Hotel crockery and silverware.

I couldn't finish this review without mentioning the fantastic concierge (sorry we didn't get his name but he was South African we think!) - he was unbelievably helpful and suggested some fantastic routes for us to take as we're both keen hikers. Coming back to the turf fire blazing at the end of a cold January day was just lovely. The added bonus of the Malton is its great location - it is literally on the doorstep of the train station so we decided to leave our car at home and took the train (but you cannot hear trains at all from inside). It's also within walking distance of Killarney National Park and the town, the only place we got a taxi to was Muckross House and Gardens but it's not far.

Keep doing what you are doing at the Malton - if only all 4 star hotels were like this one! We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a mountain view - we always request rooms at the end of a corridor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfriday_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Travelling a short distance from our hometown Clonakilty to Killarney for a family get together, my partner and I decided to stay in this wonderful hotel. Being honest I've wanted to for a really long time - well it didn't disappoint! Everything was top class, excellent service (staff are fab), lovely rooms, food.... well the list is endless and we're looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetaleoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I will start with the good. The lobby is absolutely beautiful, with a library, reading room, bar and restaurant. The full breakfast was fantastic. Their towels were luxurious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Next time I'm in town I will definitely not stay there.
The Bad.
Our room was on the first floor And we had to walk through six fire doors to get there Our room was the last room in the hall between a set of fire doors and a back door that went out to a walking alley. The carpet in the room was badly stained The first night there we had no heat. I had to call the front office at 6:30 AM to ask them to turn on the heat. They said it should've been on but it wasn't so after 10 minutes they did turn it on. We had no control over how much heat we could get. The furniture in the room was very old and run down. There was a closet where the paint was all chipped around it and was locked and we have no idea what was in there. I was afraid to go to sleep at night as fear mice or other insects may come out of this closet. My husband found a huge spider on our bathroom floor. It was the size of a tarantula but without all the hair. He went down the hall to see if the cleaning lady had something to kill it with. She came back with the vacuum cleaner and let out a big scream when she saw the spider. The first night there an alarm went off at 2 AM and lasted for five minutes we were very concerned, it was finally shut off but we never received an explanation as to its cause. For the price we paid for a luxurious hotel we feel we ended up with something less than a Rundown motel in the bad side of town. We will not be staying there again. I have no idea what the other rooms look like but I know what mine looks like, And we made our reservations at least three months in advance. Definitely not worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltonManagement, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on your stay and I am delighted that you found the hotel enjoyable on the ground floor and enjoyed the hotels facilities. I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your bedroom experience during your stay. Comfort and sleep quality is a priority for all guests and we understand that people will have a different taste in furnishings. We are a little surprised regarding some of the comments that you have made, the weather at the moment has been very mild and we did not feel there was a huge requirement for heat, we apologies if we got this wrong. Firstly we do not have any spider in this country that are dangerous but I totally accept that it was not a nice experience , that said I feel your comments that you were afraid to sleep is a little over the top and had you expressed you concerns to the front desk they would have gladly offered to provide an alternative bedroom on the night. You must appreciate that we air all rooms during the day and yes it is possible with spiders being plentiful in the month of September and with a hotel surrounded by gardens and trees it is possible that some will escape the accommodation staff servicing the rooms daily but I feel that this was an isolated incident.

We certainly would like to apologise for the noise of the fire alarm and unfortunately this was activated during the night as our fire alarm panel works with smoke and heat sensors which is an automated system and my night colleagues should have explained the reasons to all guests when the time was appropriate.
I would be delighted to converse with you on the phone if you have the time at some stage over the coming days and my details are attached.
Best Regards,
Paul O’Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
00 353 64 6638011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed in the malton many times over the years and as usual our last trip there over the summer was perfect. The Location is so central and yet so quiet and peaceful with the lovely gardens. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Cant wait for my next visit to the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennettjohn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,158 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing