We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hospitality!!!”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Dear Malton staff,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you and your staff for such a pleasant experience during my recent stay at The Malton!

My husband and I traveled to Ireland for our Honeymoon and your location was the best two-day experience we had out of the 9 days we were in Ireland. Shannon (front desk) was so accommodating with us and managed to find us a new room with a king bed. We were so thankful for that and she, as well as everyone in the hotel, displayed such a high level of friendliness and professionalism!

Thank you also to Mary Mac who effortlessly devotes her time to giving directions, making recommendations for attraction stops, and even found a way for me to purchase a piece of art before departing on the morning of September 12th.

Your meals were fabulous! By the way, you have the best Belgium waffles ever!! And dinner/room service was so enjoyable and the presentation was superb. We pretty much loved everything about the place :)

Kudos to everyone at the Malton for a job well done! My husband cannot wait to stay in the Killarney area again! When we do, your hotel will be our first choice for accommodations!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrietree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us on your honeymoon and sincere thank you for your review. Our staff are our key asset and so glad to hear you had the true Malton experience during your stay with us and that you and your husband plan to return some day to us. Congrats and all the very best from Malton team, Kind Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,237)
There are newer reviews for The Malton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Originally had a reservation at the Royal Killarney. Somehow, the previous occupant could not leave due to a medical issue. The hotel staff was very gracious and made arrangements for us at the Malton. Cannot really compare hotels as we did not see much of the Royal, but the Malton was wonderful. About a block away and somewhat of a different atmosphere. Not sure how someone said it was near the train station, if it was, no bother. Rooms comfortable, lobby area and bar were wonderful. Several choices for dinner with the main dining room being special. Food great, service also great.
I cannot say enough in a positive manner for this hotel. Would return, and hope to, in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you have a chance for a short walk for dinner, try Bricin. Reasonable and well worth the 10 minu...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest, Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review. The train station is close by and the hotel was formally known as The Railway hotel when it first opened in 1854. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future so stay in touch via our facebook page and website for future special offers. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having just returned to the states and having circled Ireland, our top pick to return to is Kilarney's Malton Hotel. We spent 2 nights here and loved our concierge, Mary Mac. She was instrumental in our wonderful visit. We so wanted to stay another night, but had reservations elsewhere. I bought some local artwork there, visited the spa, and we ate our meals at this hotel. We would definitely come back.....Thanks Mary for your hospitality and sense of humor!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Susan, Sincere thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you plan to return. It was my pleasure to be of assistance to you and again thank you. Warmest Regards Mary Mac, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just a beautiful looking hotel (and its been there for over 150 years). Easy to find and park (free), at 2.30pm, though I think the car might get quite full later. We arrived early and the receptionist apologied that the room was not available (the place did seem to be quite full), but she checked us in, told us the room would be an upgrade to superior, and bags were already in room when we returned from a walk.
Room quite beautiful, very large, lovely decor and furnishings. lovely view over gardens. No a/c (probably rarely needed), but lack of an in room safe was disappointing. Fridge, free and rapid wi-fi in room. 2 large comfortable beds, bathroom with both shower and bath.
Breakfast superb, and the hot part even served at your table !!!

Big disappointment - after a day of driving and walking the Ring of Kerry, arrived back at the room at 4pm to find the room had not been made up from the previous night. Receptionist advised that it would be done by 5pm when the staff finish, but that really didn't help as all we really wanted was to shower, and take a nap. Instead, had to go out for a wander around town for an hour and a bit! MANAGEMENT - YOU CLEARLY DO NOT HAVE SUFFICIENT DOMESTIC ROOM STAFF.

Good evening meals in the bar area.

Room Tip: Take a wonderful superior room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Peter, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, your room and our breakfast. I can only apologise that your room was not made up by 4pm and I can assure you that this is not normally the case and that I have raised this with our accommodation manager to address immediately. Hope to welcome you back again in the future, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan , Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is right next to the train station.. It is an older historical property that has been nicely maintained.. The rooms are nice and even though it is the middle of town it was quiet at night. The reception area is spacious and they have several rooms that you can sit down and relax or have a drink in. The bar area is very nice although can become quite crowded when they have tours there and they appear to have lots of them. We stayed for 2 nights and had breakfast there both days, dinner in the Punchbowl bar one evening and in the garden room (their more formal room) one evening. All meals we had were excellent . Parking is very easy in the lot next to the hotel. The staff were quite pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is close to lots of shopping and many good restaurants. Be sure to take time to take one of the carriage rides around town. This is a lovely hotel that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would highly recommend us to others. This historical building will be celebrating its 160 year anniversary next year (opened in July 1854) so we are looking forward to these celebrations and are currently telling the story of The Malton on our Facebook page. Many thanks again and do hope to welcome you back again in the near future, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Visited from the states. Had a wonderful stay in July. Very accommodating staff. Room was wonderful. Bjorn was very helpful and gave us great advise on where to tour. We would defiantly go back to Killarney and this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarp2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind comments and so pleased to hear that you plan to return to us in the future. Keep in touch via our website and facebook page for future special offers and news. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My family stayed here for the weekend of 23 to 26th August for a family wedding. We had prebooked the rooms at a very good rate, even better than some B&B's. Each room was very different from the other; my husband and I's was a suite, big, spacious, clean and comfortable. Our every need was catered for; breakfast was wonderful with a lovely lie on on Sunday til 11. The bar area is big and staff were generous to our needs, especially on Sunday night when we stayed up until the early hours. The staff is this hotel's best asset, friendly, helpful, warm and welcoming. The location is perfect - right in the middle of the town. One small suggestion - the purple lighting in the foyer is NOT in keeping with the splendour of ye old world feel of the rest of this great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that your overall stay was a great experience and you enjoyed your family wedding here. We believe our staff are our greatest asset and so glad that you experienced The Malton service during your stay. Hope to welcome you back again in the future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £115 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing