We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Just lovely.”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

An old building revamped with modern luxuries. The eating areas are wonderful. The bar is welcoming. The lobby is stunning. (See my photos).

There is a pool, so remember your bikini!

Walking distance to everything, but away from the noise as well. Immediately next to the train station for convenience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vagabond-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely old world hotel. Bedrooms were lovely and accomodated our family of 4 perfectly. Staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Had afternoon tea and the lady serving us couldn't do enough to make it special laying out all the fancy tablecloths etc. Breakfast lovely in the fine dinning room and breakfast cooked to order also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Angela, Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write this review of your stay with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea & will pass on your comments to our waiting staff. Hope to welcome you back again, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A delightful blend of old world courtesy and charm combined with everything you would expect in a modern hotel. In a town that has,by some distance, the largest number of hotels by area in Ireland
it is sublime. With all that choice available...this would still be ours!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write this review & delighted to hear that our hotel is your top choice amongst all the hotels available in Killarney. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future so keep an eye on our website & facebook page for future special offers, Again many thanks & Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel was very wonderful, it is hard to describe in words. This had to have some of the most friendlist staff in the world. My room was wonderful overlooking the outside world and right next to the train station--no noise what so ever. The breakfast was ideal, I kept wanting to eat and just relax in the library. AND the availability of the internet in the business center for use was also a nice touch. The staff gave suggestions and great directions to the rest of the town, an easy 10 minute walk to a fun town. I have to admit I did not realize there was a hugh garden within it the property until the morning I checked out. I guess I will have to return one day.

Room Tip: Bring spa clothes!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Pat, Sincere thanks for taking the time to write this review & delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are without doubt one of our greatest assets & so glad to hear you experienced the service we endeavour to provide to all our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, stay in touch via our website and facebook page, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is a gem. Having stayed in previous hotels in Killarney before we decided to stay in the Malton to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted at arrival with a happy anniversary and upgraded free of charge and without asking to a junior suite. The room is beautiful and spacious and has a modern contemporary design. The reception area has lots of nice communal areas to relax and the bar has a lovely ambience. Can't thank staff enough for making our stay exceptional! The food is excellent standard. Location is also very convenient for exploring the town centre. However because the hotel is so nice we found it hard to leave. Other hotels should learn a lesson or two from the malton. Top class establishment with old world charm. When visiting Killarney staying here is a must. You will be happy you did!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest, Belated wedding anniversary greetings from The Malton. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate this special occasion & we were delighted to be of service during your stay. We too will be celebrating our anniversary next year as the hotel will be 160 years old so hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards & Take Care, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in the Malton Hotel In July last year for a family celebration. This hotel is like a touch of Downton Abbey in the center of Killarney
The attention to detail by management and staff has to be experienced to be believed.
The olde worlde charm of this hotel is a joy
Well done to all

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the original part of the hotel if possible, it is like stepping back to the 18t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Ger, Sincere thank you for your review & so glad to hear you describe our hotel as having a 'touch of Downtown Abbey' about it. It will be 160 years old next year(opened in 1854) so maybe you'll return to us again. Do keep an eye on our website and facebook page for future special offers. Again thank you & hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a overnight stay at the Malton Hotel myself and wife. Upon arriving at the hotel the staff could not be any more helpful to us. Our room at the hotel was clean and tidy and after a lovely dinner in the dinning room we relaxed in the hotel before exploring Killarney. After a very good night's sleep we had an excellent breakfast before checking out the grounds. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and made out stay at the hotel. I will be staying at this hotel again as I loved my time there.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff as they are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,606 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing