We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Killarney
Nearby Hotels
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Heights Hotel Killarney(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,486)
Filter reviews
2,486 results
Traveller rating
1,761
478
156
68
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,761
478
156
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunchbowl barmary macgarden roomtrain stationreading roombeautiful hoteljunior suiteold worldleisure centreself cateringtop classold stylewedding receptionbar foodfrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,746 - 1,751 of 2,486 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was one of the best stays in a hotel i have had for a while, location atmosphere everything was great . One let down in the six course meal but other than that i would only be nit picking to find fault. My teenage daughters didnt complain either which was a first they loved the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear John, Thank you for your review & delighted you & your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again in the future, Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just stayed two days as on way to family event in Cork, chose The Malton as had stayed there previously - on honeymoon in 1973 when it was the Great Southern. Reception was friendly and welcoming and despite our arriving early our room was ready. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. We took all of our meals in the hotel, mainly in Garden Room Restaurant but lunch in the bar. All very good and reasonably priced for the standard provided. Restaurant Maitre-D' and his staff were attentive but unobtrusive, bar staff equally efficient. Ran a tab for drinks and food over the stay and kept own record, bill presented on departure was correct to the penny. A good experience and would not hesitate to stay again if in area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We are always happy to welcome back past guests & glad we met your expectations during your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Thank you all for a wonderful stay at your hotel on Sunday last 15th Dec. A warm greeting by reception staff and stayed in a beautiful room.I will look for this junior suite again upon our return.We had a few pre dinner drinks in the bar and here the staff were very professional.
The restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere, a comprehensive menu and once again the staff here were very professional dealing with all customers on the night. The meal itself was beautiful and we both would give this a five star rating. The breakfast was one to be remembered and it was great to be served breakfast once again rather these awful buffet breakfasts. I was delighted to see such a comprehensive selection of local produce.
Well done to you all at the Malton It was wonderful to see this magnificent hotel delivering such great standards Looking forward to a return visit Jim & Helen

Room Tip: Stayed in a beautiful room 101, close to reception, room wih morning sunshine and with a garden view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Jim & Helen, Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you had the true Malton experience & look forward to welcoming you back again. We are celebrating our 160th birthday this year (hotel opened in 1854) so do check our website and facebook/twitter pages for future special offers. I will also pass on your 5 star rating to our restaurant manager/team. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just had lunch for two. Have to give it 5 Stars ,What a lovely place for lunch,very relaxing and so enjoyable .Everything was perfect except for the frozen chips . How they can produce such a wonderful lunch and then use frozen chips is beyond me .Service was spot on,so professional .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ringo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our annual conference was held at the Malton this year, and it was a huge success.
The conference facilities are great, and the staff are very accommodating. (Last minute requests were well received!!!) All delegates reported favourably about the facilities and services provided.
Some of the breakout rooms are a little removed from the main site, but that was well managed. All refreshments were served promptly, and the hot lunch provided both days we outstanding. The canapes at the win reception were a big hit!

The restaurant and bar both served delicious food, and provided a nice atmosphere. Staff were prompt and friendly. The breakfast was massively varied, and the freshly cooked hot options put a spring in my step for the rest of the day!!

The decor of the hotel is mostly modern with some traditional flair which I really liked. The rooms were all unique and eclectic (again to my taste!) My room was very warm with the radiators on, but did cool down sufficiently to enjoy my sleep!

Overall, would highly recommend as a conference venue.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Orla, Sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience while attending a conference at The Malton. We invested heavily in our conference centre last year & I'm delighted all services met your expectations. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future be it to another conference or for leisure. Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews