We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing time out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing time out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

​My sister and myself took our mother to the Malton for an overnight stay recently. Its a lovely hotel for people who will stay around the hotel and appreciate its atmosphere. The staff were so friendly - from reception, to bar staff, to dining room staff. The body of the hotel is beautiful and has kept so much of its original charm. We had a triple room, in which there were 3 single beds. There was plenty of space around the room - we had a table with 3 comfortable chairs in which we could laze around before we headed down for our meal. As we had not reserved a table in the restaurant, we ate in the bar - we had no complaints - the food was lovely. There was a huge fire lighting in the bar which was so welcome as it was quite a stormy night outside. Breakfast was lovely, with such a selection of food to choose from.
It was a lovely stay and we will stay again - however, I would book it for a relaxing, lazing around type of stay, rather than a stay where you are out and about most of the time as I think its is such a lovely hotel, it should be appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest, I'm delighted to hear you, your sister and mother enjoyed your over night stay with us & appreciated the hotels historical charm. The hotel orginally opened in 1854 therefore this year we celebrate our 160th birthday. Hope to welcome you & yours back again soon, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    399
    126
    59
    19
See reviews for
535
806
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

this has to be the one of the best hotels in Ireland. Could not find a fault from the time we checked in till check out. The staff are so welcoming & nothing is too much trouble for them to make the stay extra special. There is comfort & luxury everywhere. Lovely warm fires to greet you & also in the bar area,, Lunch in the bar is also very pleasant . Dinner was delicious & beautifully presented. Breakfast is excellent & newspapers provided . Its location is excellent just a very short walk from the rail station.. parking on sight at a nominal charge & also free wi fi through out the Hotel. Would definitly recommend & would definitly sta there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, delgihted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & glad to hear you plan to return. Again sincere thank you, Regards & take care, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff at this hotel are superb, truly they understand and deliver excellent customer service. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next conference , wedding or a romantic break right in the centre of Killarney.....
This is a gorgeous old hotel right across from the train station. The food is very good and the welcome even better.

Room Tip: There are many different kind of room available, I prefer those not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackabroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest, We really appreciate when customers take the time to write a review of their experiences with us and sincere thank you for this great review. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

stayed here the other night with family lovely hotel but could improve the decor of some of the rooms staff very nice and the food was fantastic the only thing was me and my friends room was very cold they turned on the heating but during the night was very cold again

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresaheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review & your kind words re our staff & food. I have discussed your comments with our maintenance department and will monitor the heat more intensively in the bedrooms for the remainder of this cold spell. We have also invested heavily in our hotel and an bedroom upgrade project is currently in progress. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrigaline, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This post is long overdue. My family and I stayed in the holiday homes that are part of the maldron hotel for one week from the 23rd of december to the 30th of December 2013. We could not recommend this hotel more if we tried. The warm and amazing staff called us twice before we even arrived to ensure that we had all we needed and required in the house. When we arrived we were met by a lovely lady who showed us around the beautiful luxury home. Everything you could think about was provided and everything was high quality. The beds were the most comfotable I have ever slept in. The hotel itself was also the same quality and luxury sum this hotel up with the added bonus of lovely kind and warm staff. They made our family feel very special throughout the stay and we cant thank them enough for making our christmas so special. My only complaint is that we all only got to sample one thing on the menu. The food was so good we ended up getting the samething every time we ate at the hotel and we were afraid to change because we each loved our choice so much. We have already booked in for christmas 2014 and we are all really looking forward to it. A big thank you to Eimear the lady in charge of the holiday homes accommodation. By far the nicest and best staff member I have ever met in any hotel in all our travels. Irene from Cork

Room Tip: House 10 in the holiday homes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ireneann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Irene, Sincere thank you for this wonderful review of your week long stay with us over Christmas. It was our pleasure to look after you & your family and I am truly delighted to hear you have booked again for next Christmas. Until then, take care & Warmest Regards, Eimear Scannell, Self Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the centra conference 2014. I have to start with the food which was absolutely delicious! Probably one of the best meals I've ever had. I also got a massage and facial which were gorgeous. Staff were lovely and hotel was spotless and very comfortable. Highly recommend a stay here while in the beautiful killarney.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CatzyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments & so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Centra Conference on Monday 3rd Feb. I will ensure to pass on your comments to our InnisFallen Health & Beauty Rooms team. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay and I must say this is now our most liked Hotel. From the greet you get from Mary Mac to the dinner in the restaurant managed by Dora, room very comfortable and the swimming pool for a relaxing swim. Killarney park just 5 minute walk away where we spent most of Saturday morning. All in all another wonderful stay at the Malton.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarlethgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and delighted to hear that The Malton is now your 'most liked hotel'. Also thank you for mentioning Mary Mac & Dora in your review. Our team here are without doubt one of our greatest assets and it always delights me when a customer mentions staff members in their reviews. Take Care & hope to see you soon again, Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing