We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel so many times and it never fails to impress, each trip is better and better! The rooms are fabulous with plenty of room, food is always brilliant. The staff are always so friendly and helpful and nothing is ever too much bother, can't wait for my next trip. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & that you plan to return. If you like sign up to our newsletter on our website and/or keep an eye on our facebook page/website for future special offers. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This delightful hotel in the town centre has all the 5-star conveniences most of us could want but with none of the inconveniences that come with a 5-star hotel. The rooms are unusually spacious for a European hotel, and the service is second to none. It's a hotel to which one looks forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear John, Sincere thanks for your comments & we do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Conor Hennigan,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Went to a wedding here last weekend. Omg... Where to start. This hotel is amazing! The attention to detail really sets them apart from others. The service & the friendly ness of all the staff blew me away. It was an amazing night & will stick in my memory for a long time yet! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review & so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & the wedding. We have special offers advertised throughout the year so do keep & eye on our website and follow up on facebook & twitter for even more great offers ! Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

​My sister and myself took our mother to the Malton for an overnight stay recently. Its a lovely hotel for people who will stay around the hotel and appreciate its atmosphere. The staff were so friendly - from reception, to bar staff, to dining room staff. The body of the hotel is beautiful and has kept so much of its original charm. We had a triple room, in which there were 3 single beds. There was plenty of space around the room - we had a table with 3 comfortable chairs in which we could laze around before we headed down for our meal. As we had not reserved a table in the restaurant, we ate in the bar - we had no complaints - the food was lovely. There was a huge fire lighting in the bar which was so welcome as it was quite a stormy night outside. Breakfast was lovely, with such a selection of food to choose from.
It was a lovely stay and we will stay again - however, I would book it for a relaxing, lazing around type of stay, rather than a stay where you are out and about most of the time as I think its is such a lovely hotel, it should be appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest, I'm delighted to hear you, your sister and mother enjoyed your over night stay with us & appreciated the hotels historical charm. The hotel orginally opened in 1854 therefore this year we celebrate our 160th birthday. Hope to welcome you & yours back again soon, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

this has to be the one of the best hotels in Ireland. Could not find a fault from the time we checked in till check out. The staff are so welcoming & nothing is too much trouble for them to make the stay extra special. There is comfort & luxury everywhere. Lovely warm fires to greet you & also in the bar area,, Lunch in the bar is also very pleasant . Dinner was delicious & beautifully presented. Breakfast is excellent & newspapers provided . Its location is excellent just a very short walk from the rail station.. parking on sight at a nominal charge & also free wi fi through out the Hotel. Would definitly recommend & would definitly sta there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, delgihted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & glad to hear you plan to return. Again sincere thank you, Regards & take care, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff at this hotel are superb, truly they understand and deliver excellent customer service. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next conference , wedding or a romantic break right in the centre of Killarney.....
This is a gorgeous old hotel right across from the train station. The food is very good and the welcome even better.

Room Tip: There are many different kind of room available, I prefer those not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackabroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest, We really appreciate when customers take the time to write a review of their experiences with us and sincere thank you for this great review. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

stayed here the other night with family lovely hotel but could improve the decor of some of the rooms staff very nice and the food was fantastic the only thing was me and my friends room was very cold they turned on the heating but during the night was very cold again

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresaheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review & your kind words re our staff & food. I have discussed your comments with our maintenance department and will monitor the heat more intensively in the bedrooms for the remainder of this cold spell. We have also invested heavily in our hotel and an bedroom upgrade project is currently in progress. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing