We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Wedding at The Malton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Winter Wedding at The Malton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently had our wedding at The Malton Hotel in Killarney. We have never written a review before but we felt compelled to do so after our incredible experience at The Malton. We were absolutely blown away by both the venue and the staff. Emer and Paul tended to our every need and ensured the day went as smoothly as possible right down to the smallest details. This personal touch made us feel very special and all our guests felt extremely comfortable and really enjoyed their time in the hotel. The meal was amazing and the quality and presentation of the food was exactly as presented to us at the tasting. The service was without question, impeccable and ran like clockwork. The silver service was especially impressive and the room was decorated beautifully, just as I had imagined. But it was the warm, friendly atmosphere created by every member of staff that really set this hotel apart from the rest. I have have no hesitation in highly recommending The Malton for your wedding or indeed any occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleandPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Nicole & Paul, Congratulations again & sincere thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It was our absolute pleasure to host your wedding & I'm just so glad that everything went so well for you both. Delighted to hear you will recommend us & look forward to welcoming you back again, Take Care & see you both soon, Emer Corridan, Wedding & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    399
    126
    59
    19
See reviews for
535
806
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Attended a wedding here last weekend and stayed overnight. Food at the wedding meal was fantastic and the service was excellent and well enjoyed by all at the table. Food and service at breakfast the following morning was very good considering how busy it was.

Room was spacious, well kitted out and very clean.

Staff overall were very good, receptionist during checking in was not overly friendly (was during a busy period but gave no info regarding breakfast, leisure centre etc). However, Mary at reception checking us out was very pleasant and interested in our stay etc.

Would love to return for another weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expect_quality_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Front Office Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review & glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding & our food/service. Also delighted to hear you may return to us again so do keep a close eye on our website and facebook pages for future special offers(or if you like sign us to our newsletter via the website). We are celebrating our 160th birthday this year (opened in 1854) and currently have an exclusive offer posted on our facebook page if you are interested! Finally I have discussed your comments with my reception team re check in and do apologise for this experence.

Kind Regards,
Mary Evans,
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

had a fantastic weekend at the malton with my hubby at the weekend it was perfect from start to finish first time staying there and cant wait to go back the seafood chowder was to die for and the breakfast was the best I ever had the staff were so friendly and obliging, bar staff so nice and attentive the waiting staff in restaurant work very hard their service was fantastic. Well done Malton hotel a real treasure.. Lynda

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybe_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Lynda, Thank you for your review & delighted to hear you & your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Do stay in touch via our website newsletter and follow us on facebook/twitter for future special offers. Hope to welcome you back again. All the best, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas and we had a wonderful time.
We traveled on the train so it was all hassle free. We got off train and walked short distance to the hotel. We were greeted by one of the hotel employees who took our bags and brought us to the desk.
We styled in one of the Junior suites which is lovely and spacious... Plenty of room for 3 adults.
Room was spotless... Plenty of toiletries fresh towels and hot water.
The hotel location wise is beside train station, and 5 mins to middle of town and shops. Church across the road and cathedral 5-7 min walk and beside the national park for walks.
The Christmas package is brilliant. We were in another hotel last year and programme was not as good.
Hotel closes from 2pm Christmas Eve to the public therefore gives you 100% attention. Breakfast served till v late on the 3 days which is very welcoming and loads of choice... Buffet served during the afternoon and lovely full dinner every night.
Mary was just brill as a host and looked after every1...
Hope to return another Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TipperaryGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for your comments and so glad to hear you enjoyed Christmas with us & hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the malton last weekend, it was very disappointing and over priced. My room card had to be changed 4 times as it wouldn't work , the room was shabby curtains too short for the window, bathroom cracked tiles and grubby shower curtain, window badly fitted and rattled all night with draft, bar staff terrible - they have a new policy confirmed by the manager that individuals/couples or groups are not allowed to share tables in the bar because they are unable to split the bill - unbelieveable! The reception and leisure centre staff were very nice and the food great but their new policy left a bad taste!! I wouldn't stay again and it'S OVER PRICED, they also charge for residents use of the car park- i was aware of this before i went but i think it's just mean, after all it's killarney not london!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fionac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you for your recent review during your break at the Malton. I am very disappointed to read some of your points as we too are very saddened that your short break was not as it should have been. I would like to apologise for any short comings that we created and I will certainly discuss the views that you have shared with us with the accommodation manager and address immediately. I am a little confused regarding our policy that you have suggested is in place regarding splitting tables. We operate a very busy food outlet in the Punchbowl bar and facilitate all guest requirements and I am unsure of the policy that customers are unable to share tables. We have recently introduced a management company to control the use of our car park since we are located in the town centre & need to ensure that there are spaces for all our guests & we charge a nominal/reduced of €2 for 24 hours use. Glas to hear you enjoyed the food offering at the Malton and thank you for your comments re the leisure centre staff. At the Malton we value all our guest comments both positive and negative as it will help us to improve and monitor our business on a daily basis. I would hope to speak to you in the future and I have placed my contact details on this email and I would be delighted if you contact me to discuss your stay in more detail.

Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Me and my family recently stayed at the Malton I was apprehensive taking the kids to a hotel like this as you would expect them not to very welcoming towards kids.
How wrong was i from the moment we went through the door we were treated unbelievably well.
we checked into our room which was fantastic it was an interconnecting room for a family.
We proceeded to the bar for some food, again there was no feeling that kids were not welcome it was actually the complete opposite.
I had the Wings & the Sirloin which was out of this world the steak was like butter.
My wife ordered the tandoori scampi, my wife does not like spicy food and i told her but being stubborn she still ordered it, she eat very little of it and when the waiter came to clear the plates he noticed the scampi and asked if everything was ok she told him she was full from the starter.
She was embarrassed to say she didn't like it as it was down to personnel taste.
I was surprised as to what followed, Between the 2 waiters, The manager & the chef They were all worried if there was a problem and couldn't be nicer to us.
In heinsight we should have told the truth as a Chef and Bar & restaurant owner myself I would always like to know if there is something wrong.

Later that evening we came back from the town and went to the bar for a drink the bar man declan came over and Gave us a drink on the house as a way of apology.
when my family went to the room i stayed for a drink at the bar and was so guilty for not saying about scampi at the start i explained to declan as he was still worried, I Explained that it was just personnel taste on my wife's behalf and that the food was the best i had eaten for a long time.

Overall I have to say The hotel, its staff and especially declan couldn't have been more accommodating & if my own staff are half as nice as the staff in the malton i will be doing very well

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darragh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Darragh, Thank you sincerely for your great review and honesty re the scampi dish. Always delighted to get feedback from our customers and more so when they have received the experience we always aim to deliver. We do hope to welcome you and your family back again soon & just to note at mid terms, easter/summer holidays etc we also run complimentary family fun programmes which I'm sure your kids will love. Thanks also for mentioning Declan in your review, it's the staff that make this hotel what it is & we are fortunate to have such a great team here, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was my second time staying at the Malton and i would recommend it to anyone who appreciates luxury at its finest. The last time we stayed we got a standard room which was okay but i expected more but our second visit during the weekend i booked us for a deluxe room which was very spacious and very cosy i really liked it it was worth the extra bit of money without a doubt. The Jacuzzi, sauna, gym unreal. the bar had a great atmosphere to the point that we had to wait for a seat which was actually a good thing because the last time we were there it was empty the bar food was gorgeous char grilled steak sambo must try!!! and the staff were so friendly and very helpful. the breakfast area is absolutely just amazing makes you feel like royalty dining there and the different options for breakfast are endless. love it!!! the door man carried my bag down the steps when leaving and told us to travel home safely which was very professional. highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sarah, Sincere thank you for your review and always good to hear from a repeat guest. We have special offers throughout this year as it's our 160th anniversary so hopefully we can tempt you back for a 3rd time! Keep in touch and sign up to our newsletter if you like and also like our facebook page so you dont miss out on these great offers. Warmest Regards & Take Care, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing