We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Patricks weekend”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Myself and my wife visited the Malton hotel for St Patrick’s weekend. We have stayed in the hotel previously and I am very glad to say that the very high standards that we experienced then were still very much in place. The staff were very courteous at all times the food and service is of an exceptional high standard and I am very glad to see that there are more positive reviews than negative ones I would highly recommend this hotel it is very welcoming and has very unique ambiance that you have to experience for yourself, thanking all the staff for a fantastic weekend looking forward to visiting the Malton in the near future

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamcallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear William, Sincere thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed St Patricks weekend with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Malton to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it was an over the top, luxury experience. The room was absolutely beautiful and the staff was simply excellent. In particular I would like to thank Marie Mannix for the extraordinary attention she gave us and for upgrading our room to such a beautiful suite. Thank you also for making special arrangements for us to visit the Wine Room mid-week, when it is normally closed – it was one of the highlights of our trip. A big thank you also to Sommelier Jurate Kanisuaikiene – you were very knowledgeable and made our evening very special. From opening a particular bottle that we expressed interest in, to making arrangements for us to enjoy our dinner in the Wine Room. Thank you also surprising me the next morning with a Happy Birthday greeting in chocolate on my breakfast plate! Our stay at the Malton was truly exceptional and we are still raving to friends and family about it.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMcCarthy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Kathryn, Thanks a million for your email and this trip advisor review. Belated Birthday greetings and delighted to hear your birthday celebrations at The Malton went well. Thank you for mentioning Marie and Jurate in your review, we are very proud of our team here and it always pleases me when our guests mention them in their reviews. Hope to welcome you back again in the future, Warmest Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We celebrated a special event at The Malton last w/e. The staff at the hotel were helpful at evry turn, yet not in your face. From the front door Concierge to the reception, the breakfast room, bar and restaurant we were met by alert friendly and interested staff. The food, accommodation and overall experience made us feel 'special'. Could not recommend more strongly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, it would be nice to ask for a room in the old part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear David, Delighted to hear you had the true Malton experience during your stay with us and thank you sincerely for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future so til then take care and Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Within The Malton you'll find the Killareny Wine Rooms and dining which is dining with a twist. Rather than paying for a full bottle of wine you can put a certain amount of euros onto a card and this allows you to sample wines, buy half a glass or a full glass. The wines are dispensed from a chiller in a side room and very reasonably priced, I put €20 on my card and had a rather good sample! If you aren't a wine connoisseur don't worry as we had the lovely Massimo who took us through each wine and gave us his impression of them and he didn't steer us wrong, I tried wines I'd never had before on his recommendation and they were incredible. We weren't just there to drink wine, they also have a lovely menu. I had the Malton Grill and my friend the steak and oh my word the food was incredible. Our very friendly waitress suggested we have the pork scratchings as a nibble whilst waiting as she said they were very good, and they were. I'm not one for giving 5/5 ratings but because of the quality of the food, the lovely knowledgeable Massimo and our friendly waitress it deserves it as my friend and I had a brilliant night and came back raving about it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for your review. The Killarney Wine Rooms are all about experiencing new wines & fine food and as you say with our expert sommelier Massimo on hand then one cannot go wrong. Delighted you both also enjoyed your meal, your waitress Gosia was only too happy to be of service to you both & thank you for referring to her in your review. I do hope you return to us again soon but in interim take care and Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and is convenient to town and pubs around. However there were weddings every night and the party rooms were too close to the sleeping rooms. Food was delish. This was a tour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and delighted to hear you appreciated the hotel, it’s location & food. We are a popular destination for wedding couples due to the aforementioned reasons and the fact that the hotel has a great history ( 160 years old this year). We have 171 bedrooms and I can only apologise that you were not allocated a room further from our banqueting room. I do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future and thank you again for your review. Best Regards, Mary Evans, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Staff at the Malton hotel made us feel very welcome...While there we spoke with both barmen Declan and Evan, who were very helpful throughout our stay and very informative about the surrounding area... Would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Malton Hotel. Very comfortable and within walking distance to many shops, pubs and restaurants...I would also recommend all cocktail lovers to try the cocktails at The Malton. Absolutely amazing!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aoifexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Aoife, Many thanks for your comments & for mentioning Declan & Evan in your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back again soon so stay in touch via our website newsletter and facebook for future special offers. Thanks again for also recommending us. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Rencelty returned to The Malton for a 3 night stay and as always it was exceptional due to the quality of the service throughout the hotel. All staff are obviously well trained, courteous and helpful. The building itself oozes charm and history - if only the walls could talk!
I can't recommend the Burgers high enough, it has been a long time since I enjoyed one so much!
Thanks to Mary Mac for everything. I am looking forward to coming back again soon!

Room Tip: I didnt use the Spa/Leisure centre this time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Jessica, So glad you enjoyed your return 3 night stay with us & sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our team here at The Malton are one of our greatest assets and thank you for mentioning them and as always it is our Guest Services Manager Mary Macs pleasure to be of service. Glad you enjoyed The Malton Irish Beefsteak Burger!. Stay in touch via our website/newsletter and facebook page & hopefully we will welcome you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing