We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed 1 night for conference.
Courteous and helpful staff at reception.
Lovely room; warm and cosy (this is important considering I had arrived on a freezing evening)
Wifi worked okay.
Conference facilities were good, but somewhat colder compared to the main building.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveistanbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and glad the conference went well. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, perhaps for a leisure break this time. Best Regards, Emer Corridan, Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    415
    132
    60
    19
See reviews for
567
841
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent a Saturday night on 1 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis yesterday and loved our stay.

On arrival, I found the Reception Staff to be extremely welcoming and could not have done more for us. I didn't get the girls name but she was very friendly.

We ate lunch in the Bar and it was very nice. We both had Seafood Chowder which was lovely with more than enough Fish in it. We shared the Classic Turkey Club Sandwich with chips and couldn't finish it after having the Chowder (our eyes were definitely bigger than our belly)

We had a gorgeous room on the third floor. Huge Room with a fab bed and a huge bathroom. It was spotless and we couldn't fault it in anyway.

We had dinner Saturday evening. We both had the Duck starter. I had the Fish Medley and my hubby had the Pork Belly with Garden Vegetables and Potatoes for Mains. I had the Meringue Roulade for desert and hubby had the medley. Everything was very nice!

We went into the Bar after dinner and the Guy that was singing was very enjoyable. Really easy listening music.

Breakfast this morning was excellent. It is lovely to have a selection for a hot breakfast to order and not a buffet were half of the food is cold or has been there a while. Great choice of juices, cereals, bread, pastries, natural yoghurt with fruit to choose from.

Check out this morning was very quick and the staff once again were very friendly. We found that through out our stay in the Hotel. The staff went out of their way to say hello or check if we were okay for everything.

This was our first time staying here and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrigGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest, So glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review and delighted to hear you plan to return to us. Our team at The Malton are without doubt our greatest asset and thank you sincerely for mentioning them in your review. This year we celebrate our 160th anniversary so do keep an eye on our website and facebook/twitter pages for future temping special offers. Thanks again, Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

wonderful visit to the malton on sunday 16th march....staff courteous and welcoming from the time we arrived. Dinner was the best food we have had in a hotel for a long time.....steaks were superb. The attention to detail is what makes the malton stand out from other hotels. We had a lovely large room on the ground floor . It was just 2 mins to reception bar or diningroom. We will be back and Ive already told my friends about the delights of the malton

Room Tip: room on ground floor very adjacent to everything and no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemay626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Maggiemay, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the 16th March & that you recommended us to your friends. Hope you return to us again so if you like sign up to our website newsletter (on the home page) or keep an eye on our website special offers section and facebook page for future special offers. Thanks again and Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from a three day St. Patricks break , coupled with a birthday celebration, at The Malton. As usual everythiong was excellent - efficient, friendly and helpful staff, a beautiful room overlooking the garden and a great breakfast.

But once again, what should have been the highlight of the day, dinner in the Garden Restaurant was a let-down. The menu never seems to change very much and we now know it off by heart. Since our last visit in December 2013 the vegetables may have improved a bit and are not now so overwhelmed by white sauce. But my monkfish was by far the worst of its species I have ever tasted - having all the charm of dry cardboard - and had presumably spent most of its life in the freezer? I brought it to the attention of the restaurant manager but all I got was a metaphorical shrug of the shoulders and the offer of "something else". Not at 10 pm thank you! And, as before, there is only the most half-hearted of efforts to cater for vegetarians. Oddly enough, the bar food is more interesting but unfortunately all of the dishes may be had with the ubiquitous chips but no vegetables.

Still, if they can fill the house with people who like large platefuls of stodgy food then no strictures of mine will have any effect on commercial reality?

Room Tip: We had room 248 overlooking the tranquil garden and which was large enough to have hosted a party wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review, it is of great benefit to us to receive feedback about our product and your Malton experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom & breakfast during your stay but I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinner in the Garden Room Restaurant. We have introduced a new table d’hôtel menu for the Garden Room with seven to eight choices on each course for the month of February & March as a large number of our guests will dine two nights of their stay. This menu then changes after three days with the idea that we would have a large choice available as appose to changing the menu daily. From feedback we feel this has worked very successfully for the last seven weeks but like every change we make we will review this at the end of the month. Using fresh local produce is very much part of our food ethos in The Malton and I am confident that we use fresh products as we have a great selection of fish available from our local suppliers. I have spoken to the supervisor that was on duty the evening you dined and we are a little confused with the way that you expressed her in your review as she has many years of experience dealing with guests. I will certainly discuss your comments with the executive chef as we continue to grow our food business and continuously strive to improve our food offering to suit all our guest pallets.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this in more detail.

Regards

Paul O’Sullivan
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Myself and my wife visited the Malton hotel for St Patrick’s weekend. We have stayed in the hotel previously and I am very glad to say that the very high standards that we experienced then were still very much in place. The staff were very courteous at all times the food and service is of an exceptional high standard and I am very glad to see that there are more positive reviews than negative ones I would highly recommend this hotel it is very welcoming and has very unique ambiance that you have to experience for yourself, thanking all the staff for a fantastic weekend looking forward to visiting the Malton in the near future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamcallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear William, Sincere thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed St Patricks weekend with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Malton to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it was an over the top, luxury experience. The room was absolutely beautiful and the staff was simply excellent. In particular I would like to thank Marie Mannix for the extraordinary attention she gave us and for upgrading our room to such a beautiful suite. Thank you also for making special arrangements for us to visit the Wine Room mid-week, when it is normally closed – it was one of the highlights of our trip. A big thank you also to Sommelier Jurate Kanisuaikiene – you were very knowledgeable and made our evening very special. From opening a particular bottle that we expressed interest in, to making arrangements for us to enjoy our dinner in the Wine Room. Thank you also surprising me the next morning with a Happy Birthday greeting in chocolate on my breakfast plate! Our stay at the Malton was truly exceptional and we are still raving to friends and family about it.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcCarthy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Kathryn, Thanks a million for your email and this trip advisor review. Belated Birthday greetings and delighted to hear your birthday celebrations at The Malton went well. Thank you for mentioning Marie and Jurate in your review, we are very proud of our team here and it always pleases me when our guests mention them in their reviews. Hope to welcome you back again in the future, Warmest Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We celebrated a special event at The Malton last w/e. The staff at the hotel were helpful at evry turn, yet not in your face. From the front door Concierge to the reception, the breakfast room, bar and restaurant we were met by alert friendly and interested staff. The food, accommodation and overall experience made us feel 'special'. Could not recommend more strongly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, it would be nice to ask for a room in the old part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear David, Delighted to hear you had the true Malton experience during your stay with us and thank you sincerely for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future so til then take care and Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing