We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Killarney
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at the Malton st Patricks weekend, as I have previously stayed there, it's a fantastic Hotel great location with such a warm atmosphere.
Great Bar, restaurant , some quiet nice rooms if you need reading space or take a relaxing time out in there fantastic leisure complex.
The Malton has it all and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Robert, Thank you for your great review & for choosing The Malton again. Always great to hear such positive feedback. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and my wife stayed in The Malton for the second time in two years in March 2014 to celebrate my 65th B/day. We stayed in a deluxe room which was beautifully old world with exquisite furnishings and art work on the walls. The breakfast in the room each morning was so lovely and relaxing and worth the extra 4 euro per person. The dining in the evening in the restaurant was perfect and in such a beautiful room. The Maltons greatest asset was the staff and I mean all the staff nothing was too much to ask and all with a happy smile. II hope we will be back many times in the future.

Room Tip: The deluxe room/ junior suite was very suitable for breakfast in the room with an area with a sofa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 432patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Patrick, Sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review & delighted to hear you enjoyed your 65th birthday celebrations with us, belated greetings to you. Thank you too for mentioning our staff in your review, they are indeed our greatest asset and always good to hear feedback on our team. Hope to welcome you & your wife back again a 3rd time, please do sign up to our newsletter via our website and follow us on facebook for future special offers. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Killarney. The Malton is very central, walking distance to town which is great at night. Reception and bar staff very friendly and helpful. Room cosy and clean. I loved the floral arrangements throughout the hotel. We visited the swimming pool and unfortunately met a foreign girl who we felt just wanted us to move along so she could get back chatting to her friend. The pool was ok. Cleanliness could be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Killarney and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Nice to hear you appreciated our floral arrangements, we have our own in house florist and she will be delighted to hear your comments. I note your comments about our leisure centre & will address this. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Killarney , take care and Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed 1 night for conference.
Courteous and helpful staff at reception.
Lovely room; warm and cosy (this is important considering I had arrived on a freezing evening)
Wifi worked okay.
Conference facilities were good, but somewhat colder compared to the main building.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveistanbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and glad the conference went well. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, perhaps for a leisure break this time. Best Regards, Emer Corridan, Conference & Banqueting Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent a Saturday night on 1 Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis yesterday and loved our stay.

On arrival, I found the Reception Staff to be extremely welcoming and could not have done more for us. I didn't get the girls name but she was very friendly.

We ate lunch in the Bar and it was very nice. We both had Seafood Chowder which was lovely with more than enough Fish in it. We shared the Classic Turkey Club Sandwich with chips and couldn't finish it after having the Chowder (our eyes were definitely bigger than our belly)

We had a gorgeous room on the third floor. Huge Room with a fab bed and a huge bathroom. It was spotless and we couldn't fault it in anyway.

We had dinner Saturday evening. We both had the Duck starter. I had the Fish Medley and my hubby had the Pork Belly with Garden Vegetables and Potatoes for Mains. I had the Meringue Roulade for desert and hubby had the medley. Everything was very nice!

We went into the Bar after dinner and the Guy that was singing was very enjoyable. Really easy listening music.

Breakfast this morning was excellent. It is lovely to have a selection for a hot breakfast to order and not a buffet were half of the food is cold or has been there a while. Great choice of juices, cereals, bread, pastries, natural yoghurt with fruit to choose from.

Check out this morning was very quick and the staff once again were very friendly. We found that through out our stay in the Hotel. The staff went out of their way to say hello or check if we were okay for everything.

This was our first time staying here and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrigGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest, So glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review and delighted to hear you plan to return to us. Our team at The Malton are without doubt our greatest asset and thank you sincerely for mentioning them in your review. This year we celebrate our 160th anniversary so do keep an eye on our website and facebook/twitter pages for future temping special offers. Thanks again, Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

wonderful visit to the malton on sunday 16th march....staff courteous and welcoming from the time we arrived. Dinner was the best food we have had in a hotel for a long time.....steaks were superb. The attention to detail is what makes the malton stand out from other hotels. We had a lovely large room on the ground floor . It was just 2 mins to reception bar or diningroom. We will be back and Ive already told my friends about the delights of the malton

Room Tip: room on ground floor very adjacent to everything and no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiemay626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Maggiemay, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the 16th March & that you recommended us to your friends. Hope you return to us again so if you like sign up to our website newsletter (on the home page) or keep an eye on our website special offers section and facebook page for future special offers. Thanks again and Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just returned from a three day St. Patricks break , coupled with a birthday celebration, at The Malton. As usual everythiong was excellent - efficient, friendly and helpful staff, a beautiful room overlooking the garden and a great breakfast.

But once again, what should have been the highlight of the day, dinner in the Garden Restaurant was a let-down. The menu never seems to change very much and we now know it off by heart. Since our last visit in December 2013 the vegetables may have improved a bit and are not now so overwhelmed by white sauce. But my monkfish was by far the worst of its species I have ever tasted - having all the charm of dry cardboard - and had presumably spent most of its life in the freezer? I brought it to the attention of the restaurant manager but all I got was a metaphorical shrug of the shoulders and the offer of "something else". Not at 10 pm thank you! And, as before, there is only the most half-hearted of efforts to cater for vegetarians. Oddly enough, the bar food is more interesting but unfortunately all of the dishes may be had with the ubiquitous chips but no vegetables.

Still, if they can fill the house with people who like large platefuls of stodgy food then no strictures of mine will have any effect on commercial reality?

Room Tip: We had room 248 overlooking the tranquil garden and which was large enough to have hosted a party wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review, it is of great benefit to us to receive feedback about our product and your Malton experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your bedroom & breakfast during your stay but I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinner in the Garden Room Restaurant. We have introduced a new table d’hôtel menu for the Garden Room with seven to eight choices on each course for the month of February & March as a large number of our guests will dine two nights of their stay. This menu then changes after three days with the idea that we would have a large choice available as appose to changing the menu daily. From feedback we feel this has worked very successfully for the last seven weeks but like every change we make we will review this at the end of the month. Using fresh local produce is very much part of our food ethos in The Malton and I am confident that we use fresh products as we have a great selection of fish available from our local suppliers. I have spoken to the supervisor that was on duty the evening you dined and we are a little confused with the way that you expressed her in your review as she has many years of experience dealing with guests. I will certainly discuss your comments with the executive chef as we continue to grow our food business and continuously strive to improve our food offering to suit all our guest pallets.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this in more detail.

Regards

Paul O’Sullivan
posullivan@themalton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Killarney

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £100 - £899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, Great Southern Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. Great Southern is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Southern Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing