We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Clogheen, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at The Malton, Killarney on a Golden Years Deal and have enjoyed it so much. We had a lovely room, delicious food and great service. Have been there twice before and each time have never been disappointed. Our stay was for a special birthday and every member of staff we encountered made the stay special for us. Just good old fashioned service, and yummy food, you should go and stay there.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the great deals they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Vivienne, Thank you so much for your kind review & for returning to us for a third time. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & belated birthday greetings. We hope to welcome you back again a forth time but until then Take Care & Warmest Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    406
    126
    59
    19
See reviews for
551
815
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Went to the Malton in Killarney as part of my 50th birthday year, it was fantastic from the minute we stepped in the door, the staff were so helpful and the room was lovely and clean and bright, As this used to be the old Great Southern Hotel, when the Railway Company in Ireland sold it, they have maintained a lot of the old with the new, which was nice to see they had some lovely antique serving dishes, teapots dotted around in china cabinets. We had dinner there on the second night and the food was second to none, also the bar was very well organised by efficient barmen that were very highly trained, the bar was very well kept, no spills or receipts hanging around. The breakfast both days was out of this world, I couldn'nt decide there was so much on the menu. The staff were all professional, and knew their stuff, their uniforms were impecable. We got a great deal in this hotel price wise as well, which made it all the more enjoyable, I will definitely be going back there.

Room Tip: The room that we had was lovely, comtemporary design, well aired and were very quiet despite the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipperary_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this great review and for choosing The Malton to celebrate your 50th Birthday year. Delighted to hear you had the true Malton experience during your stay & thank you for mentioning our staff in your review, truly our greatest asset. Also great to hear you plan to return to us again, so if you like sign up to our website newsletter or follow our facebook page for future special offers. Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Second time staying in The Malton. Stayed Valentine's weekend, Feb. 2014. The atmosphere and care that we experienced was great. Slight issue with room was dealt with swiftly and with sincere consideration for the guest's well being. Entire weekend felt as though we were being well looked after especially by the warm, professional team at reception. Was very happy with every aspect of the hotel and will be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Front Office Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Eddie, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Valentines weekend & sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future so if you like sign up to our newsletter via our website and/or follow us on facebook for future special offers. Warmest Regards, Mary Evans, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
260 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The malton was booked for us for a two night stay in Killarney. It was easy to find at the end of our drive from Kilkenny. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful in getting us checked in. The room was nice, on the second floor above the conference rooms, so it stayed very quiet. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the shower good. We got a good recommendation for lunch and a pint. There are reading rooms and a dining area near the bar with fireplaces. There is also a wine bar separate from the dining area. We spent one evening at the bar area and did our dinner there. The service was pretty decent as they came to our comfortable seats to bring food and drink. The hotel is next to an outlet type mall if you care about that. The hotel is close to the center city part of Killarney, so you are close to many pubs, restaurants and shopping. There is a 2 euro parking fee per night on the hotel grounds. We enjoyed our stay at the Malton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for this lovely review of our hotel. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us & do hope to welcome you back again, Best Regards & Take Care, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 of us friends stayed here this mid-March. Overall really great experience. Nice location in Killarney and staff was friendly. Their restaurant and breakfast food was pretty good in our opinions. Room decor could use a bit of updating, but not that big of an issue for us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LM3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments & glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Due to the age of the hotel(160 years old this year) and size (171 bedrooms) we have a large variety of bedrooms from your traditional Victorian style to a more contemporary style of today. I hope that we will welcome you & your friends back in the future but do let us know and we will do our best to allocate rooms more to your tastes. Best Regards, Mary Evans, Front of House Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here 2 years ago and have been back to a number of weddings there since. Food always amazing. Rooms are lovely and so is breakfast. Emer corridan is a joy to work with and made the whole process much easier than it would have been with out her! We always love coming back here whenever we get the chance.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Martina, Great to hear from you and thank you for this review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the weddings and hope to see you again soon, Warmest Regards, Emer Corridan, Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were disappointed with the room. We booked a Junior Suite, but it was very small. Bar a walk-in wardrobe, it was just the size of a normal room. In fact we stayed in another Junior Suite in the same hotel before, and it was far bigger.

Breakfast : very good. Only criticism would be that the fresh fruit isn't up to the standard of other top hotels.

Bar area is very nice. Though the bar menu should have more savoury main course options ; it's a bit limited.

Value for money : not great. This hotel is a little pricey. And for families, they really fleece you. There is a 30 euro supplement per child on top of the room price, which would dissuade us from staying again. Our five year old had to sleep in a camp bed, not a real bed, and barely ate anything for breakfast. So this 30 euro is a real rip-off, especially if your children are very small.

Staff : very nice. Bar one, which I have to mention. We stayed on 'St Patricks Day'. Having gone out to see the parade before leaving on a long journey, I was quizzed by some doorman at the entrance who said to me 'Am I meeting someone?' ... in other words .. what was I doing here. The fact that I had handed 250 Euro to the hotel an hour previous to that seemed lost on him. He then proceeded to follow me into the lobby. I was so taken aback, I left and used the facilities in the Killarney outlet centre instead. But it left a bad taste in my mouth. People on power or ego trips are not suitable to be at the front door of a major hotel. Bad form.

Playground : badly needs an upgrade. With the prices this hotel are charging, they could make more effort with their children's playground facilities, which are substandard.

Overall good and bad. But we will be trying elsewhere next time, as it's not good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I was disappointed to hear your experience at The Malton was not as enjoyable as it could and should have been but also glad & appreciate you comments regarding the positive aspects of your stay. The hotel is 160 years old this year & we have 171 bedrooms varying in styles from traditional Victorian to more contemporary style to suit different customer preferences & tastes. My apologies that the room allocated to you & your family did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Now that the weather has improved project work has commenced on the external hotel grounds including fresh sand for playground, amongst other improvements, in time for our Easter family breaks.

I will certainly discuss all your details with the team including your comments re your experience on St Patricks Day with our Guest Services Manager.

I do hope that when next in Killarney that you would take the time to contact me personally to discuss further.

Best Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing