We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a real hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Southern Killarney
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Super location. Super hotel in really nice location. The quality is really high and has a quality feeling. Spacious rooms and really greet staff. The food was top class and excellent service throughout the hotel. The swimming pool, sauna etc very pleasant

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review & delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you want to receive special offers by emails then please do sign up to our newsletter and/or follow our facebook/twitter pages. Hope to welcome you back again to The Malton, All the best, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Was at the Malton for 3 days, one of the few hotels where I have slept very soundly when away from home.
Staff very good, rooms well maintained and clean, fitness and pool facilities very good.
Food good, breakfast hot food non buffet, excellent,! Good menu and wine list.
Car parking can be a problen, but this is town centre, only a short walk from all attractions

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyroneretired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Alan, thank you for comments and so glad to got a good rest during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again in the future and until then take care, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently had a very relaxing overnight break with a group of friends in the Malton. I have stayed there numerous times (for work, weddings and leisure) and as always the staff are so welcoming and helpful. There is a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and it caters for families, couples and groups with ease. We were particularly impressed with our evening meal in the restaurant and the leisurely breakfast the next morning! I would highly recommend the Malton!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us & for being one of our regular guests. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you like sign up to our newsletter via our website to be kept up to date with our latest special offers & also stay in touch on our facebook page. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for a business conference.

Warm welcome from staff on arrival, who helped me with my bags.

Reception were very helpful throughout my stay.

The rooms are large, and have high ceilings. My one observation is that the hotel has a lot of history, the floor boards creak and the rooms could do with an upgrade to the televisions and bathrooms.

Be advised that the rooms have trouser presses but NO iron or ironing board! which I had to ask to be delivered to my room.

The hotel has access to ample parking, but make sure you give reception your vehicle registration as clamping is in force.

The beds are firm and I had a very good nights sleep, although I did hear the train station public address system in use in the morning.

The food in the hotel is of a very good standard.

Free wifi throughout the hotel is present.

Not far from the hotel is the small town with the stunning mountains, lakes and rivers not far away.

Yes I would recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank hot70000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us while on business. Due to our town centre location & to ensure our guests have no issue getting parking during the very busy summer months in Killarney we introduced a nominal guest car parking fee of €2 per day. Thank you also for recommending us & I do hope we welcome you back again in the near future, perhaps for a leisure trip this time. Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently stayed in a 2 bed self catering apartment at The Malton - the apartment was really nice, well kitted out, clean and modern. I stayed with my husband and 3 kids under 6 - the gardens are fantastic, there is a lovely little playground behind the pool and the kids had great fun in the pool. I would really recommend this to families as the location is so central - we walked to the national park / playground and into the town for food in the evening. The only negative was the noise the first night - a family coming in at 3am from a wedding in the malton were quite noisy.

Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Emer, Thank you for taking the time to review us & for recommending us to others. Delighted to hear you & your family enjoyed your time & I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future, Warmest Regards, Eimear Scannell, Self Catering Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

When I first arrived at this hotel, I was concerned it might be a bit too high end for me, but after meeting the friendly reception staff, my fears were put to rest. Everyone was very kind, and Sam, the concierge, helped us plan the most amazing trip around the ring of Kerry. Even the firm's center staff was friendly and made sure everything was to our liking. It was a beautiful, warm, inviting hotel with everything we needed and then some!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Samantha, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & your trip around the Ring of Kerry. Thank you also for your comments re our team. Hope to welcome you back again in the future, Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Attended a wedding at the Malton hotel recently, and was very impressed with the place. Nice accommodation and facilities, but in particular the staff were extremely helpful. Our waiter Piotr was knowledgable and attentive, and all other staff went out of way to make the day enjoyable - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Esther, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & the wedding. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future & if you like sign up to our newsletter via the website so you are notified of future special offers, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Killarney

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £100 - £901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, Great Southern Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. Great Southern is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Southern Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing