We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem - Don't Miss If In Killarney”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Put up in this hotel by CIE during our eight day tour. Excellent accommodations. Would definitely stay here again if in Killarney. Don't miss. Wonderful small reading room off of the rear garden. If you are a photographer, you can spend hours on the grounds with a camera.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear that you would stay with us again next time you are in Killarney. Again thank you and Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,229)
There are newer reviews for The Malton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from a wonderful 3 day stay in the Malton. We are a family of 2 adults, 2 children and a baby. We had 2 interconnecting rooms which worked out great. The food was fantastic. Kathleen in the restaurant looked after us very well. The kids club was very good. There was one member of staff who yawned a lot, but apart from that the girls were lovely and very attentive towards the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor, delighted to hear you & your family enjoyed your 3 night stay with us & I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. We often send special offers via email so please do sign up to our newsletter via our website or keep an eye on our Facebook page. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An easter weekend break, the most enjoyable part was the relaxing atmosphere and the dining. Our room was not the largest but adequate and comfortable. The hotel is located bang in the town centre and adjacent to the train and bus station so accessibility is not a problem. We had dinner which I would highly recommend as it was exceptional value because of the quality in taste and presentation. As a break location, it is ideal as you need not leave the hotel. Great dining, spa and leisure facilities and a bar are all onsite. Whilst it caters also for children the clientele was of an older age but both are catered for sufficiently.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NariekYelworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent hotel, a little bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Location, food, atmosphere, friendliness of staff etc are all top notch. Only negative I would say is that the leisure centre/pool is a bit on d small side. We will be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Super location. Super hotel in really nice location. The quality is really high and has a quality feeling. Spacious rooms and really greet staff. The food was top class and excellent service throughout the hotel. The swimming pool, sauna etc very pleasant

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review & delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you want to receive special offers by emails then please do sign up to our newsletter and/or follow our facebook/twitter pages. Hope to welcome you back again to The Malton, All the best, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Was at the Malton for 3 days, one of the few hotels where I have slept very soundly when away from home.
Staff very good, rooms well maintained and clean, fitness and pool facilities very good.
Food good, breakfast hot food non buffet, excellent,! Good menu and wine list.
Car parking can be a problen, but this is town centre, only a short walk from all attractions

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyroneretired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Alan, thank you for comments and so glad to got a good rest during your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again in the future and until then take care, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently had a very relaxing overnight break with a group of friends in the Malton. I have stayed there numerous times (for work, weddings and leisure) and as always the staff are so welcoming and helpful. There is a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and it caters for families, couples and groups with ease. We were particularly impressed with our evening meal in the restaurant and the leisurely breakfast the next morning! I would highly recommend the Malton!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us & for being one of our regular guests. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you like sign up to our newsletter via our website to be kept up to date with our latest special offers & also stay in touch on our facebook page. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 39 in Killarney
2,255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 39 in Killarney
1,421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £117 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing