We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days!”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy days!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a short break here to de-stress after our daughter's wedding. The old-world ambiance of this hotel is reminiscent of The Shelbourne in Dublin and is exactly to our taste. Staff were helpful and exceptionally pleasant . The quality and choice of the menu was excellent. Located centrally in the town meant that I could park the car and ramble everywhere at our leisure.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you stay in the actual old hotel building and not any of the "extensions". Old worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Paul, Sincere thank you for your review and for the great comparison with The Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin, another hotel from the 1800's. We opened in 1854 so celebrate our 160th anniversary year. If you like history you can read more on our history page on our website or on our calendar on facebook. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future and until then do take care, Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    415
    132
    60
    19
See reviews for
567
841
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Alway guaranteed a high quality service, food and atmosphere in a fantastic location. Over the last few years we have stayed in all the room types including the apartments, and we would have no complaints. The hotel food is excellent, including the menu provided for weddings. Excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and delighted to hear you are one of our regulars and enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon, All the best and take care til we see you again, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a grand and gracious hotel centrally located for all the shopping in Killarney and for launching your tour of the Ring of Kerry. The breakfast is sensational, the rooms are roomy for European standards, and the staff is very accommodating. The room was a bit warm and you can't control the temperature. While the windows can open a a few inches there is the hum of street noise so an open window doesn't work if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: We requested twin beds in 2 rooms and that's what we got. We did not make any other special requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candacem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies that you found the room too warm. The heating is centrally controlled and timed but it is possible to turn off/down heating in the rooms if required by adjusting the radiator dial. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future and thank you again. Warmest Regards, Paul O Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went down for 2 nights for a work conference, first time i had been to the Malton hotel and i have to say was very pleasantly surprised. Great location near the centre of town just a few minutes walk away.
We had bar food on the evening we arrived as it was just past 9 when we ordered and the food arrived it was delicious, just what the doctor ordered after a three and a half hour drive.
Breakfast was fab, with a buffet style continental choice or you could order from the kitchen, which i have to say i was a bit greedy and did both.
Again we had dinner in the bar as after a very long day on my feet didn't want to go walking too far.
Again the choice was very good and the presentation of the food when it arrived was fantastic.
Served with a pleasant smile, and the bar staff couldn't do enough for you nothing was too much hassle for them.
As above breakfast was excellent setting you up perfectly for another busy day on your feet.
Over all the room and the atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxing, with a very high quality of staff who were very helpful when asked and even when not asked.
Great stay and would highly recommend this hotel to all.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy_carmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Paddy, Sincere thank you for your comments and delighted to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us while attending a conference. We take great pride in our team here at The Malton glad to hear your comments regarding same. We have a newsletter that you can sign up for future special offers via our website if you like; perhaps we can tempt you next time to return for pleasure rather than business. Hope to welcome you back again, Best Regards, Conor Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I used the hotel for one night as I travelled from Dublin for a work meeting near by. The hotel is really nice. The reception area is nice and the staff are friendly and attenditive. I had lunch and dinner in the bar, the bar food was nice, and the staff were really good. The room itself was quite large, the bed was both comfortable and big. The bathroom was large and spotless clean. The breakfast was really nice, although it could perhaps start a little earlier, breakfast started at 7:30. While I was at the hotel they had an issue with the WiFi, and I was unable to log onto the internet for a period. These things happen, and I always think that the way the staff deal with you when you ask about the problem says more about a hotel like this than the actual problem. Wifi Goes down, it happens, when I asked at reception was there a problem the woman could not have been more helpful. She advised there was a problem, recommend I use their computer in the library as she thought it might be on a different network, it wasn't, so she advised when she thought it would be back online and advised where else I could go locally to get wifi. Like I said I have no issue with the wifi going doing, these things happen, and the staff couldnt have done more to help me.

Really nice hotel, I will recommend. I am in Killarney on business again next week and I will be booking the Malton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear James, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us while on business and that you plan to stay with us again. My sincere apologies regarding the WIFI service, we had an intermitent issue that day and this issue was addressed & now resolved. Look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for your recommendation, Kind Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in malton for a night and could not fault it. Hotel rooms are extremely spacious and clean. Food is top quality and service second to none. Well located in centre of Killarney but nestled away from the town at the same time. Would highly recommend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 901eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend us for a weekend break. We have a newsletter for special offers so if you like please do sign up via our website and/or follow us on facebook/Twitter. Warmest Regards and thank you again, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at The Malton for 2 nights. The hotel is lovely, staff are excellent and the facilities are very good.
The only issue we had was that we booked a taxi to Kenmare on Thursday at reception and we were overcharged-it should have cost 40 Euro for the journey but we were charged 62 Euro. We did complain to the hotel when we returned.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emer138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Emer, Many thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. I was disappointed to hear your experience regarding taxi charges. Often its better to try confirm a price with a taxi driver before taking the journey as unfortunately this is out of our control. I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future, Kind Regards, Mary Mac Monagle, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,506 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing