We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Killarney
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$427
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$146
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,459)
Filter reviews
2,459 results
Traveller rating
1,741
473
156
66
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,741
473
156
66
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunchbowl barmary macgarden roomtrain stationreading roombeautiful hoteljunior suiteold worldleisure centreself cateringtop classold stylewedding receptionbar foodfrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,616 - 1,621 of 2,459 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very impressed with breakfast, everything you could want, all done really well - lovely pastries, fish, cheeses, pancakes and waffles to order as well as freshly cooked irish breakfast, excellent. Hotel is classic, appeals to older customers. Nice bar, very relaxed. Professional staff, very helpful. Great central location in Killarney. Took the lazy option and ate in restaurant, nice extras with the set menu but overall taste didn't live up to presentation. Had a standard room, perfectly fine but decor not as impressive as communal areas, old tv, bathroom a little tired, lacks any wow. Bed ok, room very warm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Cathy, Thanks for taking the time to write this review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us especially our breakfast. Sorry to hear you were not pleased with your room. We have 171 bedrooms and are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and happy to report many are now complete. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and ensure to let us know your plans if you do. Best Regards, Paul O’Sullivan, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As part of our Royal Irish Manor Tour we stayed in Killarney two nights at the Malton.
What a great venue. Staff also lived up the luxurious standards, as they all did everything they could to live up to the amazing Irish hospitality.!!
The hotel was centrally located, so it was enjoyable to walk through the town after dinner and do some shopping or a pub night.
The Malton is certainly one of the top hotels on this amazing Manor Tour.!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravellerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay as part of Royal Irish Manor tour & sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review. Also thank you for mentioning our staff in your review. We take great pride in our team here at The Malton & always nice to hear when I guest takes the time to mention them. Hope to welcome you back again and until then do take care, Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed two nights in this beautiful hotel. We were greeted with a warm staff who offered to help us with our bags and even park our car. The room was spacious and offered a great view of the courtyard. The restaurant and food was good. Recommend the Cajun chicken and corn cakes!! While there is no air conditioning in most hotels in Ireland, they did have a fan in the room which was very nice. Bathroom was very nice as well.

They also have paintings in the hallways that are for sale. We ended up buying one of the Ross Castle and they took care of the arrangements to get it shipped home to the states for us.

The concierge staff was very helpful in arranging a jaunting cart ride through the Killarney National Park. 40 euros for everyone and they even pick you up in front of the hotel. If you decide to do that, I recommend asking for Mike and his horse Molly. He was great at the tour and very informative.

Great experience overall and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eldetlefsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and such a great title. Delighted you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us & it was our pleasure to help make your stay more enjoyable. Great to hear you enjoyed your jaunt around The National Park and I'll make sure to mention it to Mike and of course Molly! Hope the painting you purchased always brings back good memories of your stay in Killarney. Thanks again for recommending us to others and do hope to welcome you back again should you return to Ireland in the future. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed a recent trip to this beautiful part of the world . The hotel is centrally situated very close to the town centre so everything within walking distance . Lovely large well appointed rooms wit big comfortable beds . The food we had in the hotel was excellent very well presented . Killarneys a fantastic vibrant town we had a good time sampling the local pubs with the accompanying Irish bands wonderful atmosphere in the pubs a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sue, Many thanks for reviewing us & glad you enjoyed your stay in Killarney & our restaurant food. We won Best Hotel Restaurant last year so great to hear when our guests appreciate our menu options. We are truly fortunate re our location in the centre of Killarney on our own 6 acres of gardens adjacant to the railway station . Again thank you and take care, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I would recommend the Malton hotel to anyone staying in the area. The room was clean, nicely appointed and the staff was very gracious/accommodating. The sites in the area and the town itself couldn't have been better. Best way to sum it up "Large hotel amenities but small five star boutique hotel feel".

Room Tip: Suite with garden view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAB5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for reviewing & recommending us. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & do hope to welcome you back again, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews