We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Olde Worlde”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand Olde Worlde”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent the Easter weekend in Killarney at The Malton - a birthday gift to my husband. We were travelling around the country but wanted somewhere special for that weekend. We were not disappointed. It is a beautiful Olde World Hotel close to town for shopping and eating. It was handy having somewhere to park our car as well. We were travelling with my parents and both our rooms were large, comfortable with modern bathrooms and great views over the spacious grounds. Within easy travel time to some of the tourist attractions it was an ideal base and great to come home to after a long day sightseeing. Breakfast was terrific, we didn't have dinner there but we had drinks and nibblies in the afternoon and they were delicious. The staff we dealt with were helpful and obliging, had no complaints. Would thoroughly recommend The Malton to anyone who wants a great place to lay your head, with that little bit of style.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Vicki, Thank you very much for your review & for great recommendation. So glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us & do hope to welcome you & your family back again soon. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    409
    129
    59
    19
See reviews for
560
822
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Malton Hotel is a venerable old place where you'll feel as through you're staying in the country house of a lord...if you knew one, that is. Ivy-covered walls and wide stone steps let you know right away that you are entering a very special place. The lobby is grand and welcoming with soaring ceilings and a predominantly white color scheme. Pink accent lights lend a bit of glamour to the old girl, but she's definitely still in her prime. My room was about as far from run-of-the-mill as you could get. This hotel is most definitely a taste of old Ireland (so do look elsewhere if you're a Holiday Inn aficionado) but with all the modern conveniences. Some in our party mentioned showers that were less than optimal. Mine was spacious with a generous and beautifully-made wrap-around curtain. I found that the control, while different, was easy enough to use intuitively on the first try. Heated towel racks seem to be standard in Ireland, but the linens at the Malton are certainly very plush and a large cut about average. Luxury shampoo, lotion, and soaps were also on the posh side. No screens on my tall window meant a wasp buzzed in almost immediately after opening it, but others in the group had no such problems. The room was nicely stocked with everything I needed including good coffee. Be advised that the Malton is a popular spot for weddings and some complained of noise from the festivities. My room on floor three had no issues whatsoever, and I was able to get a sound sleep both nights. It was fun to see the local guests dressed in their best, everyone from grandmothers in fascinator hats to "girls in white dresses with blue--and every other color--satin sashes." I recommend you try the bar for a light supper. My sandwich, the bar special, had local ham and red-cheddar cheese with a tasty sauce. A clever little silver basket of fries accompanied the large sandwich, so it was really enough food for two. My table-mates tried vegetable soup and found it hit the spot. Even the tea came with a little cookie! Seats are at a premium, so don't wait to late if you expect a table. Every morning, a little room off the lobby is set with coffee, a fresh and attractive selection of rolls, and fruit. If you're in a hurry, you can just grab and go--at no charge. There is a quiet, clubby reading room off the lounge, too. I had plenty to read, but a great selection of local books and publications is available. That was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was, as usual in Ireland, lavish and sumptuous. The continental breakfast was just right but offered many hearty extras like smoked salmon, sausages, and many kinds of cheeses in addition to some of the best scones I've eaten. Personnel were always on the go but never to busy to stop and answer an inquiry with a cheerful, polite response and a smile. I liked the Malton quite a lot and recommend it highly. Oh, and don't miss a jaunt through the expansive park on one of the pony carts. The receptionist can arrange that for you. It was like taking a trip back in time with Jane Austen and remains one of the nicest memories I have of Killarney.

Room Tip: Get a room on or very near the top floor away from the elevator. Ask for a sheet if you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YourTravelingFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for such a comprehensive review & delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us & your 'Jane Austen' jaunt around The Killarney National Park. The hotel is 160 years old this year ( opened in 1854 as The Railway Hotel) & always great to hear when guests really appreciate its style & grandeur. Thank you for highly recommending us & do pop by if/when you visit Killarney again. Warmest Regards & Take Care, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A beautiful hotel with a great location in Killarney. But, after traveling, a soft bed would be a blessing. Malton beds need about a 2 -inch sheet of memory foam placed over the mattress bacause the beds are like sleeping on a sheet of fiber board..........hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Dennis, Thank you for your review & for mentioning our staff in your title, always great to hear when guests mention our greatest asset, our team. We do hope to welcome you back again & please do let us know your bedding preferences prior to your visit & we will endeavour to help make your stay more comfortable. Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirl32
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stay at the Malton every year and this year was a bit disappointing. I found some of the reservation staff quite off hand even rude!!! The room was basic and in need of some care, the food was ok at dinner but breakfast was excellent!! I don't know if we will return next year we might try somewhere else I just lacked a little care and attention this year , just ok!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your return visit to us. We have 171 bedrooms and are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and happy to report many are now complete. If you do decide to return to us & I sincerely hope so then I'd appreciate if you contact me directly so I can ensure a room is allocated more to your preferences & that you enjoy your stay. Best Regards & again thank you, Paul O’Sullivan posullivan@themalton.com, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

the staff couldn't do enough for you. the food was excellent both dinner and breakfast. Our rooms were spacious. a real fire welcomed us in the foyer and we were checked in quickly and efficiently. the only fault i could find was we couldn't just use one light to read at night without using all the lights. i will definately go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Breda, Many thanks for your review & I do hope you sign up to our newsletter so you get news of our great special offers first ( via our website ). We also post offers on our Facebook/Twitter pages if you are on these. Again thank you & look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nowadays hotel service is going down the tube: you can have a nice hotel, sometimes good food, but often poor service. At the Milton, service is excellent, from people that still remember what hotel service is about.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaDu186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest, Our team is centre to what we offer at The Malton & sincere thank you for your great review. I do hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Killarney & until then take care & Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with my now fiance for the June bank holiday weekend. Amazing from start to finish. he staff were all fantastic. incredibly polite and helpful-really made this place memorable for us and are dying to get back to this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 323- fine room but bathroom needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kek82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest, Delighted to hear you & fiancé enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for commending our staff, truly our greatest asset. If you like sign up to our newsletter via our website to get updates 1st re our special offers. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon & until then do take care, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing