We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel right where you need to be in Killarney”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel right where you need to be in Killarney”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Malton for a friends wedding in June. We brought my parents and our 2 year old with us so we opted for one of the self catering appartments. This was a short walk (5 mins) from the hotel and next to the railway line this in no way affected our enjoyment of our stay. There was no noticeable noise from the train line and if anything it added to our enjoyment of our stay since it was a regular amusement for our 2 year old! We spent plenty of time in the lovely gardens at the back of the hotel and our 2 year old really enjoyed the pool which has a shallow partition perfect for toddlers to get used to before jumping into the 'big pool'. The hotel is also a short walk from the centre of Killarney which of course has its fair share of cracking irish pubs. The accommodation had everything you would need in a self catering house. If i return to Killarney I would definitely look this place up again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura8713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Laura, Delighted to hear you & your family enjoyed your stay in our Self Catering Apartments. We are without doubt very fortunate to have 6 acres of private gardens in Killarney town centre & so glad you enjoyed them. We do hope to welcome you back again next time you come to Ireland & until then do take care. Best Regards, Eimear Scannell, Self Catering Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    410
    129
    59
    19
See reviews for
560
825
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've just had a fabulous weekend at the Malton. We were at our cousins wedding. From the moment we stepped through the door the service at this hotel is the best Ive come across. The food is excellent and in particular a big thanks to Piotro who served our table at the wedding!
Wish we could have stayed longer :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Pamela, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your cousins weddings & thank you for your review and for mentioning Piotr, always great to hear when guests take the time to mention our staff. We hope to welcome you back again so do keep an eye on our website and facebook page for future special offers and perhaps sign up to our newsletter via our website if you would like special offers emailed to you. Take care & Warmest Regards, Emer Corridan, Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We traveled to
Killarney from Ohio, and we were very please. Hotel was very clean. Good location in the city, more quiet but still close to everything. The concierge, Mary Mac, made us feel very comfortable, she recommended great local resturants and pubs, and even mapped out directions to our next stops! Bartenders (Evan) made sure we had a good time. Service was friendly and excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurendisalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Guest Relations Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lauren, Delighted you & your mum enjoyed your stay with us & hope you had a nice trip to Connemara. It was my sincere pleasure to be of assistance during your stay & we do hope to welcome you back again should you return to Killarney in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this review & do take care. Warmest Regards, Mary Mac, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently stayed at this lovely hotel in one of the Junior Suites & were thrilled with the 4 nights. We are golfers & were delighted with the conversations with the bar staff on suggestions for golf courses in the area.& took up their suggestions on 2 occasions. Breakfast were excellent with lots of choice but our only negative thoughts were that we had wished the hotel could offer a couple of "Dishes of the Day" to expand their Bar menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sue, Glad to hear you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us & the golf. I will discuss your comments re bar food daily specials with our executive chef and thank you for this feedback. If you like sign up to our newsletter via our websire & we will email you directly our future special offers. Hope to welcome you back again soon, thank you, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from a 6 night break at The Malton in Killarney, as a party of 8 including 2 children and a disabled adult our every need was met. The hotel itself was beautiful, reception area was lovely with plenty of places to sit, chat and relax. Bar area was great as was the food and reasonably priced too. Our rooms were tastefully decorated with a fresh, modern decor and faced the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens.
Breakfast was a highlight and a great start to the day, loved the silver teapots and cutlery!
What made the holiday though was the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff, even those that passed in the corridor spoke to every guest and the reception staff, waiting staff at breakfast and Mary Mac at the Concierge Desk went over and beyond to ensure our every need was met!
Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clairecal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Claire, Sincere thank you for taking the time to review us & delighted you and your family enjoyed your week stay with us & of course our breakfast ! It was my pleasure to be of service & I hope you had a nice trip back to Belfast, We all look forward to welcoming you back again & until then please do take care. Warmest Regards, Mary Mac Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was a gorgeous hotel in the heart of Killarney. We only stayed two nights but we really enjoyed our stay. It was really nice being able to walk right out the hotel entrance and into the main area of Killarney. The hotel exterior was gorgeous as was the hotel lobby. It is an older hotel so it has some wear but overall I thought it was kept up very nicely. We enjoyed our room and all slept great while visiting. Though there was no air conditioning, we were grateful for the fan since we were there during a hot spell. As many reviewers have said, the breakfast is top notch. The food was great. We did not eat in the hotel for any other meals but we enjoyed the breakfast. Though we did not do the traditional Irish breakfast, it was nice being able to order some hot breakfasts. We also did the buffet though which was just as good. We loved having wifi in our rooms also. One night, my daughter and I were able to explore the gardens which she loved. It is a really nice little garden. My only complaint with this hotel is that there was a carnival across the street while we were there which was a little loud but that is not something that the hotel really has any control over.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Meghan, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & appreciated the hotels architecture & of course our breakfast ! Due to the age of the hotel (160 years old), the building carries a preservation order which makes it extremely difficult and very expensive even if we could get permission for air conditioning. Lovely to hear you & your daughter enjoyed a stroll around our gardens, we are quite fortunate to have these 6 acre gardens right in the heart of Killarney town. We hope to welcome you back again if you plan a return trip to Ireland some day and until then thank you and do take care, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I recently stayed at The Malton Hotel for two nights. The building (outside & inside) is absolutely beautiful! I spent quite a bit of time just exploring the various rooms and decor. There was a quiet reading room as well as multiple sitting areas. We had a room down a quiet hallway on the 4th floor. I know there were other people staying in the rooms around us, however, we could not hear them at all. Our room was good sized and well-appointed with two twin beds, a large window, a small table with two chairs, a large desk with a chair, a large armoire, and an older television on a stand. The bathroom was large with a lot of sink & counter space. (This hotel does not have air conditioning, however, our room did have a fan. We did not need it because it was cool enough outside that opening the window was perfect.) The breakfast each morning was served in a large dining room. It included a variety of cold items (cereals, fruit, pastries, sandwiches, yogurt) and hot items (available for order off of the menu). The service in the dining room was excellent. The concierge was able to provide an information sheet about the hotel's history -- very interesting!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Lizzy, Thank you for your kind words and your appreciatation for the hotel & it's long history. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us & do hope to welcome you back again next time you are in Ireland, Warmest Regards, Mary Mac, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing