We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grand Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Malton is a fantastic hotel mixing old charm with new.
Every detail in the Hotel is carried out with perfection.
The warm greeting in reception thru to bar,restsaurant,leisure facilities,housekeeping is amazing and something I've never experienced in any hotel in Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Robert, Thank you for your complimentary review of your stay with us & above all for mentioning our team, truly our greatest asset. Follow us on facebook & twitter for future special offers & if you like please do sign up to our newsletter via our website if you would like updates directly to your inbox. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon & thanks again. Warmest Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    399
    125
    59
    19
See reviews for
535
804
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Otherwise known as the Great Southern, the "Grand Dame" of Killarney hotels; pretty much lives up that ...
Pluses: Town centre, spacious - very generous grounds, pool & spa, great ambience, excellent food, in short: old world charm
Minuses: None really, except perhaps fairly pricey, but still good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDawsoniolfreeie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear John, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Mary Evans, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The M is an exceptional hotel pre 1900's construction. It fulfilled my expectation of a hotel in this era. Great rooms and excellent restaurants. Wonderfully decorated, close to Main street and the rails.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear John, It always delights me to hear when our guests appreciate the history of this building. The Malton is 160 years old, opened in 1854 as The Railway Hotel, became The Great Southern Hotel in the early 1900's & The Malton in 2007. It is named after James Malton, an 18th century Irish artist and The Malton owns one of 3 sets of historic prints by James Malton which now adorn the walls of it's Punchbowl Bar. Thank you for your review & I do hope to welcome you back again if you return to Killarney, Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful and historical hotel filled with old world charm, then this is the place for you on your IReland journey. If however you are looking for new world features ie: good internet, updated rooms, then this hotel is not the answer.
We arrived and were pleased to see that we'd been upgraded to a jr. suite! We walked into our first floor room only to find no a/c and the only way for air opened to a play ground where children were crying. Not sure about the security of leaving things (passport etc) in a first floor room...we looked for a safe but there wasn't one. The room's furniture and features are dated but serviceable. The bathroom drain was quite loud when water was used at the sink. Internet was spotty thru out the hotel. Service in the dining room is fine, but we were shocked at how poor it was in the bar area...we were ignored at the bar when we returned for the evening and wanted a nightcap. We sat for 5-6 minutes before my husband finally got up to order at the bar. It was not a busy evening!

Room Tip: Don't have a first floor room near the playground. Choose upstairs so you can open a window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kim, thank you kindly for your comments. We have 172 bedrooms ranging from your traditional Victorian style to a more contemporary style of today, all to suit different tastes & preferences. My apologies that the Junior Suite allocated to you was not to your liking.The Malton hotel is a large Victorian style hotel (160 years old) and unfortunately our bedrooms do not have air conditioning, our building carries a preservation order which makes it extremely difficult and very expensive even if we could get permission for AC. We have free WIFI throughout the hotel & ample bandwidth to cater for even large conferences so I am somewhat confused as to the issues you had and will definitely investigate this further. Again thank you for your feedback, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here the end of July, 2 adults & 2 small kids. We thoroughly enjoyed the malton, you can park up the car walk everywhere from here, and parking can be a pain in killarney in peak season.
The hotel is very nice inside, the garden room restaurant is fantastic setting with fabulous food. There is a wine tasting room where you put credit on a swipe card and sample different varieties self service, it's very interesting!
Pool & sauna facilities are good, only small negative is the kids pool is very small & very shallow, but there are no restrictions on the kids in the pool up to 8:00 or so which is good. They had free activities & stuff for the kids each day also.
Jaunting cars & killarney tourist train all stop at the front door & the hotel is located beside killarney train station & killarney outlet shopping centre.
It may appear a bit more expensive when booking, but I think it's definitely worth it, we're sure to visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jim, Delighted to hear you & your family enjoyed your 5 night break with us & thank you for taking the time to write this review. We run family fun programmes during the summer months as well as at Easter, Halloween, Christmas etc which are very popular with our little guests & of course their parents. The Killarney Tourist Train is a new addition to Killarney town and where better to start its many journeys than The Malton which was known as The Railway Hotel when it first opened in 1854. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon & until then do take care, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A group of us golfers use this hotel as a base for golf while spouses hike and explore the National Park.. Fab links golf ( Ballybunion, Tralee, Dooks) and Killarney Golf / Fishing club all within drivable distance.. Facilities are good in this hotel with an adequate pool for a swim before a fine spread of breakfast offerings.. The ladies used the Wine Cellar to unwind and talk about shops while the men sat at the whiskey corner to talk shop and bad shots.. Special mention must go to Jerry ( fabulous knowledge of Scotch and Irish whiskey alike ), Evan for making beautiful award winning cocktails ( inspired by Jerry's own award winning receipe) and Declan ( for a genuine welcome and great story telling ) my wife thinks you should be in sales!! It was a absolute pleasure to be in the company of such well trained and friendly chatty bar staff ( hard to find these days ).


On returning on Sunday evening after golf we were surprised to see the bar so busy with what seemed to be a celebration of sorts.. The whiskey corner was 5 deep and my wife was nearly knocked over by a herd of chicken wing bearing 10 yr olds and a musician singing no better than myself! There was finger type food on tables and my wife commented that it looked like an event we'd come across in our local GAA CLUB.. ( AND SHE WAS RIGHT ).. Where were non party attending hotel guests supposed to eat,drink and unwind????


An observation of mine was there seemed to be a huge bar ( just beyond Leisure Centre ) with beautiful gardens just steps away for children to play and be children while adults enjoy their celebration of sorts.. I WONDER!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Martin, Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and glad you enjoyed the golf & our Whiskey corner. We do pride ourselves on our level of service and our staff and your recognition of same are much appreciated. Jerry, Declan and Evan were delighted to look after you & your party & your kind words has been passed onto them. This time of year can be very busy & my apologies that the bar was too crowded when you returned Sunday evening. We have other options for guest to relax; there is a nice room right next to the bar, The Reading Room, The Library. The Killarney Wine Rooms as well as the Lobby. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future, thanks again & Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deptuy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have tried to write this review many times since our wedding in June and give up every time as my words simply do not do The Malton justice. I am giving it one last shot and hope this review will be of help to couples considering The Malton as a wedding venue, families looking for a fun weekend away or just anyone wanting a 5 star experience with 5 star surroundings, staff and food.

From the moment we discovered the walkway from the old world charm of the original hotel to the mind blowing conference centre, we knew there was nowhere else we could get married. We actually brought forward our preferred wedding date by 3 months when a date became available! Jen, Emer, Paul, Mary Mac, Massimo and every member of staff ensured that we felt like VIP's from day 1. (Special mention to the night porter who I didn't meet but many guests commented on his top class service)

Our first dealings with Emer, who must be the No1 wedding coordinator in Ireland, instilled complete confidence and we knew our guests would have an incredible experience. The Muckross suite is stunning and the layout is perfect to ensure your guests are comfortable. The Malton have thought of everything and your day feels intimate as the conference centre is separate from the hotel.

Emer anticipated our every need throughout the planning process going to such lengths as sourcing a hospital bed for my Grandmother! The menu tasting was fabulous, it felt surreal having the exquisite Wine Rooms all to ourselves being educated by Massimo on the different courses and wines. We ate here on our last night in the hotel also and the food was magnificent, I can’t wait to return.

I don't think you can beat The Malton for food. From the welcome reception nibbles to the sumptuous wedding meal to the evening bites to breakfast to the post wedding BBQ everything was faultless.

We had an “advice for the newlyweds” book doing the rounds at the reception and about 50% of the remarks included praise for the venue and food.

There are accommodation options for everyone, we stayed in The Kennedy Suite which was perfect as we had a separate reception room where guests came to say goodbye on the Sunday. The majority of our guests stayed in the hotel and loved the hotel rooms. We also had parties staying in the self catering apartments and houses and they raved about the comfort and facilities. ( I had 4 bridesmaids and it was lovely for them to be able to stay together in the 4 bed house whilst having their own space)

Our wedding weekend at The Malton was a dream come true and the only complaint I can make is that it had to end. Both my husband and I are extremely grateful to all involved and never have to worry about anniversary/birthday gifts etc as a trip to The Malton will make either half extremely happy.

Best wishes to all at The Malton,

Emer and Cormac.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emer725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Emer, I am so happy you, Cormac & your guests enjoyed your wedding & thank you sincerely for such a complimentary review. It was our pleasure to be of service & hope to see you both again soon. All the very best from everyone here at The Malton. Warmest Regards, Emer Corridan, Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing