We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Killarney
Nearby Hotels
Arbutus Hotel(Killarney)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$160
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Heights Hotel Killarney(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$234
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotts Hotel(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,457)
Filter reviews
2,457 results
Traveller rating
1,739
473
156
66
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
473
156
66
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunchbowl barmary macgarden roomtrain stationreading roombeautiful hoteljunior suiteold worldleisure centreself cateringtop classold stylewedding receptionbar foodfrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,361 - 2,366 of 2,457 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We have just returned from a two day break at the Malton, we are a family of 2 plus 3 children. We got two interconnecting rooms which were of a good size. I felt the hotel was very child friendly, it had a good library with childrens books, met a very nice receptionst called Mary, who told us about a childrens room downstairs with all types of board games etc..

Restaurant food was excellent, again a great childrens menu (no fish fingers or nugets) thankfully. Breakfast served in the garden room very good and alot to choose from, buffet or menu.

Leisure centre staff were excellent and accommodating.

Rooms etc., very clean. Lovely log fires at night, plus I did like all the fresh flowers arranged around the hotel.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank francfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

stayed in the malton as a wkend away with my bfriend, the hotel is v old style, the rooms were not really that nice as the furniture was old etc but if u like that kind of thing its nice, the staff are v friendly and accomodating and will do everything to ensurea happy stay, i was however a bit disapointed when we were having our meal as we waited almost an hour for it, it was a lovely meal though. anyways hope this helps

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lilpea09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We booked into the Malton for 2 nights after being stranded in Ireland due to the snow back home in the UK. We had a wonderful experience from the time we walked into the hotel. The receptionist was both helpful and friendly. He told us of their special offer of two nights with breakfast and one evening meal. The hotel appears to be recently refurbished and has many comfortable sitting rooms with large homely fires. A charming library with lots of interesting books, plus free internet connection.
Our room was really nice and had space (not a shoe box). The décor was tasteful and the room clean. There was lovely shampoo’s and shower/bath bits in the bathroom and large fluffy towels.
The evening meal at their cosy peppers restaurant was excellent. We thought as it was part of a package it would be skimpy or a limited choice but it was superb and their peppercorn sauce was one of the best I’ve ever had. They have a very good wine list to accompany the food.
The hotel has two restaurants the second one which is larger was closed for the evening but open in the morning. We were lucky enough to have had our breakfast in this room as it is a stunning with traditional and ornate trimmings. The décor is very tasteful and would be ideal for a wedding. All the food we had was very good and the service excellent. The hotel bartender made fantastic cocktails (unfortunately he was not there on the second night and the bargirl was not as good).
All the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful. The only down side was our plane did take off after the second night. The hotel does have a spa but we did not use it as I could not pull myself away from the cosy settee’s in front of the lovely fires. It is a large hotel with all the friendliness and care of a family run establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IssyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Stayed in the Malton last night. Very impressed with tthe service - very quick and efficient without being servile. We had a junior Suite which we loved. The gardens and the building itself are impressive and breakfast was good. We're going back next month. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Had a two night stay at the Malton in mid October and had a favorable experience. This hotel is a perfect blend of traditional hotel architecture and modern amenities. The lobby has multiple areas for groups to gather along with a wonderful bar to start off or cap your evening. Our rate included breakfast each a.m. which was standard fare and also dinner one evening at Peppers Steakhouse. Dinner was fine but nothing exceptional. Our room was generous size with newer fixtures and we loved the 12ft ceilings. The location was great with the main street of town just a short and comfortable distance away. Internet access was available in the library and the staff were always available to address any issues.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mbmtravelAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews