We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Southern Killarney
Nearby Hotels
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McSweeney Arms Hotel(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveller rating
1,761
479
156
68
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,761
479
156
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunchbowl barmary macgarden roomtrain stationreading roombeautiful hoteljunior suiteold worldleisure centreself cateringtop classold stylewedding receptionbar foodfrom start to finishlast weekendfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,385 - 2,390 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I must say we would never have stayed at the Malton if we hadn't gotten an extremely low "promotional rate" through the cousin of a friend of a friend. The rack rate (or anywhere near that) would have put it far out of our budget range.

Our junior suite was spacious and recently updated. For us, it was pure luxury. Without the low rate, I would have chosen the Fairview, or maybe the Rathmore House.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We had a two night wonderful stay here, its such a shame others have had problems. We were in a junior suite above the front door slept with windows opened. Really lovely room everything in order or above expectations. The staff were terrific making reservations, changing currency (fair rate), booking Gap of Dunloe Tour, Taking photographs when asked. Dinner at Peppers was highly enjoyable and delicious, did not eat in Gardens except at breakfast which is buffet style with entrees from menu if desired. Really wanted to stay in a historic hotel and remembered the Great Southern from a previous trip. The way they have melded the old with the new was superb in the pubic rooms of the main hotel. The bar is lovely but very crowded with a wedding one night we were there, which was fun to watch but made for an early night. Which was fine, we were exhausted from day any way! Overall thought The Malton was a great value and will treasure the memory! Would very much like to return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCFNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for our 25th anniversary as we got good reports about it,unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay.We were upgraded to junior suite as it was our anniversary,room was in need of update,curtain holdback falling off the wall,tv small and old, just wondering where they spent 3million! We looked forward to our evening meal,but we think the chef must have had a fight with the salt ,the whole meal was bad,we were offered 2 glasses of champagne in the bar which we refused,but when we went back to our room found a bottle of champagne from management,was a nice touch but did'nt make up for ruining our anniversary,must say we enjoyed breakfast.There are so many hotels in Killarney we were unfortunate to pick this one for our 25th.
N and P Dunlea
Cork.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while traveling through Ireland. We feel in love with this hotel. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful. We would stay here again if we get back to Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We were here for a friends wedding which was fantastic!

Rooms were luxurious and comfy! Food was fab!

Leisure facilities were very good but are due an upgrade as they dont keep up with the rest of the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews