We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Malton in early June, trip was arranged to meet up with old friends from the USA. From the very start arranging our stay and working out the best deal for all of us (we were eight in all) the service I received from the Malton staff was excellent, emails were answered promptly and politely. We arrived quite late after a long drive and needed some food, this was all provided without any fuss and served in the very comfortable bar. Our room was spacious, ground floor with views to garden, it was a deluxe room and had everything we needed. What made it for us though was the dining, the breakfast was very good, amongst the best we have had in the many hotels we have stayed in. We had dinner in the hotel on two nights and it was excellent, we could not fault it and the staff were so obliging.
The Malton is town centre so minutes walk into the heart of Killarney with great pubs and shops. We would definitely stay at the Malton if we are in the region again. Top marks to them and thankyou to all their staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryparticularperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    410
    129
    59
    19
See reviews for
560
825
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We recently stayed at The Malton to celebrate a friends wedding.

The hotel itself is beautiful in lovely grounds, with a lovely swimming pool. Our room was very spacious and comfortable.

The quality of the customer service from this hotel is outstanding. Having missed our flight from London, we had to cancel our first nights accommodation very late in the evening on the day we were supposed to check in. When we called to let the hotel know, they were very accommodating and did not charge us for the room. We arrived the next morning at 8am, and our room was ready and waiting. Room service breakfast was delivered even though room service breakfast has officially finished.

The staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much bother for them.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel is beautiful and is in a central location close to everything. The lobby and the public areas of the hotel are also very beautiful. There is parking on site. The rooms are not as beautiful as you would imagine - considering the way the hotel looks from the outside and in the public areas. There is no internet in the rooms. The town is great.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed two nights here. There is an old part and a new part to the hotel. We had a room in the new part. It was good sized, quiet, and very light and airy. A downside is that there is no in-room internet available, although free wi-fi is available in the lobby and sitting areas. A free internet terminal is in the library. The hotel has a great location adjacent to a large park and only about a block from the main streets of Killarney. Our only complaint is that one night we were served dirty utensils with our dinner. When we complained, the server said "They're just old". We showed her the old food stuck to several of the utensils were were given- she just walked off and got us new ones.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Stayed here for one night for a wedding in May.
After reading the reviews here, I made a point of ringing in advance and asking for a nice room, and wasn't disappointed - four poster bed, high ceilings, huge room.
Hotel allowed us to check in early, but were a bit slower than they had initially promised - but as it was 11.30am, that was understandable. Service at the front desk was excellent, and they dealt with my stress about getting changed in time very calmly! By the way, it's a fab wedding venue - the food was amazing the room is great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkTouristOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed at the Malton for several days in April 2009.

This hotel as one of the best lobbies I have ever seen. There are three large, beautifully decorated sitting rooms with working fireplaces, a library with a good selection of books that you would actually like to read, and a very large family friendly pub/lounge. It was a great place to relax and visit or read after a long day.

Breakfast was good with an attentive, friendly staff.

Our room appeared a bit dated - as if the last renovation was in the 70s. But it was clean and comfortable and roomy.

Location is very good in downtown Killarney near the National Park entrance.

This is not a luxury hotel but was a good value. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I must say we would never have stayed at the Malton if we hadn't gotten an extremely low "promotional rate" through the cousin of a friend of a friend. The rack rate (or anywhere near that) would have put it far out of our budget range.

Our junior suite was spacious and recently updated. For us, it was pure luxury. Without the low rate, I would have chosen the Fairview, or maybe the Rathmore House.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing