We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fourth visit”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our fourth visit”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Scotts Hotel and we were not disappointed. On this visit we had a package of one free dinner and a free trip on the Killarney lakes, both were very enjoyable, the food at dinner was excellent.
As always the room and service were very good, we had a room on the fourth floor this time with a view over the countryside. It had a lovely big bathroom with walk-in shower as well as bath plus free internet.
The hotel is right in the middle of the town and yet has free underground parking.
We will be going back again I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Rover426

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. It great to welcome repeat guest’s back to our hotel; it makes our job more enjoyable; we enjoy building strong relations for many years to come with you.

Rover426; one your next visit please introduce yourself and I will look forward to meeting with you shortly.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    319
    134
    62
    39
See reviews for
158
438
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed a week in Sotts hotel Killarney on half board. We upgraded to deluxe suite this was an excellent choice as the suite was quite large with king size bed and easy chairs.
Our room was on the fourth floor and had a lovely view of the mountains.
The bathroom was very spacious with shower and bath and with the usual toiletries.
Towels were replaced every day and the bedroom and bathroom were cleaned every day. The breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The hotel is very centeral close to lots of pubs and restaurants by the way restaurants prices were great value for money.
We had our car so we were able to drive to all the places of interest in the county.
The hotel has free underground car park but be careful,on some of the walls there are brackets protruding about 40cm and it's very easy to reverse into them.
The hotel staff in general were very friendly but the reception staff could have been a little bit more friendly on checking out we were neither asked did we enjoy our stay or would we be coming back. Overall we did enjoy our visit and we are more than likely to stay again.
'

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Pnek

Many thanks for your tripadvisor comments; comments on tripadvisor help us in clarifying how we can best serve our guests.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful deluxe suites; yes they are very spacious and luxurious; a perfect home away from home and some great view of Killarney Mountains.

Thank you for your comments on our staff; I am sorry that you were not greeted in the manner that we are accustomed to; we are about to undergo an intensive retraining course over the coming weeks thus striving for a higher level of customer care.

I do hope you return to us once more in Scott’s hotel. My team and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager- Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Killarney is a beautiful place to stay. would highly recommend Scotts Hotel. The staff were lovely. The food was lovely and quiet reasonably priced...

Room Tip: The family rooms are well laid out with a separate area for the children's beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortLairgeCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Portlairge

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay; I have passed on your wonderful comments to all our staff and we are delighted to serve you.
I do hope that you return to Scotts Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager- Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here on a weekend in Killarney and the hotel was in a great location close to shops and some night life while being far enough away so that you could get a good nights sleep.

We ended up getting an apartment type room with an extra room off it with a fridge and cooker and couches and a telly and this is a part of what made the trip so enjoyable. There is a lot going on in Killarney and if you're the type who enjoys Irish Music there are plenty bars around with live traditional music. There are a few other bars then that would have rock (cover) bands singing some popular current hits for younger people and couples (We were more into the rock bands to be honest)

The food in the hotel was a little bit pricey, but it was very nice and there is a nice ambience in the restaurant / lobby so I'd recommend eating there if it was in your price range.

Room Tip: A room facing the pedestrian street out front will provide some entertainment watching people stumbl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear RitchieF

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time right in the centre of Killarney- where you are in prime location near bars, restaurants, shops and galleries. Yes our hotels rooms with the living/dining room area is a great bonus and treat; giving you some great space and luxury during your stay. I do hope that you return to Scotts Hotel in the near future and I look forward to welcoming you.
Kindest regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager of Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here over a weekend and had breakfast and evening meals. Both were fab. Very tastety, and the breakfast huge. The hotel itself was quiet inside, yet the nightly music was absolutely brilliant, so it suited all tastes. The staff were very nice and friendly. Great location for exploring local area...a cocoon admist the hussle of a very busy town! Traffice was crazy but we couldnt hear it in the hotel. We loved it very much and are definitely returning next year! Yes, there is fab music each night as mentioned and that's what is attractive. Most clients want music and craic, and in a town centre hotel you'd expect some nosie...it's no problem...you'll have lots of time to sleep!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear JacquelineNTB

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. It gives me great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your time right in the centre of Killarney. I am delighted you enjoyed all the service that we strive to provide all our guest’s. The live music is real bonus and does create a great holiday atmosphere! - We have guest return year after year for the music we provide.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed in Scotts Hotel , Killarney with 3 other couples for weekend break. Family rooms are very big, the only thing was there was no air con in room and it got very warm at night. Beakfast was fine, had evening meal which was excellent and catered for you children as well. There is plenty of night life around and yet hotel was peacefull at weekend, kids played around and it didnt bother staff at all which was great.
Parking is free for residends which is a great help

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBOYLE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear NBoyle007

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read that you and your group enjoyed your weekend away with us. I am delighted you enjoyed all the service that we strive to provide all our guest’s.
Scotts Hotel is a large hotel comprising of 120 bedrooms, we have an array of room types from deluxe suites to spacious family rooms to self catering apartments; we also provide all our guests in Scotts with underground complimentary car parking.
It was our pleasure to be of service for your family and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
Kind regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager of Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here for a little break in April. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Killarney with underground car parking. The courtyard area is a great place to have a relaxing drink and to watch the world go by, especially when the sun is shining. Staff very friendly.. Only complaint was a bit of maintenance work going on to the windows without giving the guests notice, but mangement took this comment on board and it was only a one-off. We will stay again.. No question

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Kab56

Many thanks for your compliments on tripadvisor about your recent trip to Scotts Hotel. The Courtyard area is a great spot when the sun is shining; we provide bar food in the seating area. Live music is played at night adjacent to the Courtyard area creating a great holiday atmosphere.

I would sincerely like to apologies that we did not communicate that maintenance were undertaken some works outside the hotel room; it was our error in communication and going forward I can assure you all information is provided to guest if on any occasion such works happen in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing