We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was a lovely suprise, right in the center of Killarney so close to everything that you need to have a lovely weekend.
We stayed in the apartments and each room was a suprise. Clean bright and modern.
The rooms were large and the kitchen had every thing you needed.
I cant comment on the main hotel as all i did here was check in and out but on the 2 times i dealt with the staff i found them bright friendly and very helpful.
If i am lucky enough to return to Killarney i would have no doubt about booking an apartment again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybelly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our apartments; yes they are ideal for larger groups; our two bedroom apartments are spacious, modern & luxurious. As guest of our apartments you are welcome to use all the facilities in Scotts Hotel; we do hope that you return again to our apartments, I look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    315
    129
    62
    38
See reviews for
155
428
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms here one was large with a great balcony. The other was small cramped and felt old. Location was great, and staff was helpful. Overall not bad, a few touches like new bedding and mattresses would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife's sister and her husband booked a two night break for all of us in Killarney.
She booked two double ensuite rooms so were could have a break as couples in a comfortable hotel.
On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a two bed room apartment. The apartment was across the road, in an office block via a key code door on the street. It had one double room with ensuite shower but no TV. The other room had two single beds, no ensuite or TV.
There was a large living/kitchen area that was drab and soul less with an old cathode ray TV.
When we asked for the two ensuite double rooms we had booked (some weeks ago) we were repeatedly told we were lucky to have a free upgrade; and that was all that was available.
The apartment was more suited for a family with two small children than couples on a relaxing break.
We went to the hotel bar after dumping the bags for a drink but there was no barman. I went to the reception and was told there was a barman! (how silly of me not to notice the invisible barman - I had to go into the kitchen area and one myself)

The problem with this hotel is the attitude of the management. Guests are there to be managed like stock in a warehouse. They never once apologized, gave any reason for lying about the booking or accepted any short comings on their part.
We found the hotel stay to be stressful and left us angry and resentful.
We will never darken their doorstep again.
Killarney however is beautiful and we are planning to return next year for a week with my daughter, her husband and his parents. Guess were we won't be staying

Room Tip: Pot luck what room they give you, what you ask for does not matter to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H23h45df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hotel is average, rooms small, bathroom really cramped with those stupid double impractical faucets and no place to put anything, not conducive to travelling couples. Equipped with old tv it shows few upgrades. Breakfast buffet very limied and busy so staff are unable to give great service, evening meal was not great either, lamb was tough, low meat content and friend who recently visited had same experience with their steak.
Location is good being downtown but that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor; I am sorry to read that you found the hotel to be average and that it did not meet your expectations; we are constantly striving to improve our rooms and have an on-going renovation project in place. Scotts Hotel has 120 bedrooms and breakfast can be congested at peak times; we have extended our breakfast times and have notified guests of busy times in the restaurant.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your meal in The Courtyard Restaurant; our Kerry lamb is one of the most popular dishes in The restaurant and I can guarantee you it’s a 100% Kerry lamb- we have a strong ethos in Scotts hotel for supplying locally sourced ingredients especially our meats.
Once more thank you for your feedback & I hope you do return to Scotts in the future.

Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

to whom it may concern

i would like to express my sincere thanks for the exceptional service and meal which we received when we stayed for my hen party on 11th May. all the girls were extremely impressed with the hotel. the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is something you can be very proud of.

thank you again

regards Michelle

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISHEEHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Michelle,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on trip advisor regarding your stay in Scotts Hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff here at Scotts helped make your trip that bit more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff here.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and I was quite confident since it had received great reviews. Looks like a lot of tour companies use this hotel so it can get pretty busy depending on when you turn up. The room is exactly like the title - comfortable but a bit old and tired. We got a double bed and a single bed, there was a panel underneath the bath that was coming off due to water damage and a huge crack in the tiles. A word of caution - the step from the bathtub to the floor is quite high and if your feet are wet can be very similar. They also don't provide a placemat - just a piece of paper which gets wet very quickly. Tv is a bit small but useable and the beds were comfortable. The variety at breakfast wasn't as good as what we were used to at other hotels but was still nice. I did get woken up in the night by the plumbing a couple of times and the local pub had some live music which was very loud. Location of the hotel is great - only a short walk to the city centre and lots of restaurants to choose from which have for the most part received rave reviews on trip advisor. Would I stay here again? I'm not sure that I would but I didn't have a negative experience.

Room Tip: Looks like they do have more modern roos. I would ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Scott Hotel is located in the main business area of Killarney. If you are driving and use a Garmin, be aware the hotel is located across the street from where the Garmin says it is and parking is on another street. Look for the name of the hotel in large letters on the side of the building. We drove around the block twice looking for the hotel underground parking lot. Watch for a 3' sign on the sidewalk saying Scott Hotel Parking. The restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced. We had a great steak in the restaurant and lounge food there was very good. Breakfast was included in the package we purchased and it was very good and offered good variances in selection. In the lounge, there were several locals most times we were there. There are many shopping opportunities and local pubs in the immediate area of the hotel and the area felt very safe. The elevator from the underground parking garage does not exit into the hotel. It is a 250' walk to the hotel in open air so if it is raining, take an umbrella. The rooms are clean, modern and very well appointed. The lounge has excellent food and service.

Room Tip: You are in a downtown area so there are no scenic views. Friends stayed in the same hotel and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QwickerRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing