We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, easy access from train station.”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

4 adult women on holiday from the US. We landed in Dublin and had made arrangements with Auburn Mini Bus hire to collect us and take us to the train station for our journey to Killarney. First off I must say the service we received from John Read/ Auburn Mini Bus hire was fantastic. The drivers John sent for us were professional but at the same time fun. We ended up using Johns company for our entire holiday transportation needs. The drivers we had, Collin, Ray, Paul and Jeremy (Belfast) were so helpful with a ton of luggage, they suggested dining spots, and they even provided us with refreshing water whenever they picked us up. They really made us feel so welcomed in Ireland. I would and will use them on any future trips. So our first few days we spent at the Scotts Hotel in Killarney. PERFECT SPOT. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station and it sits in kind of a court yard. Three steps out the door and you are in the lovely town of Killarney. The staff was very pleasant, the breakfast bar was delicious and the waiters were outstanding, remembering our drinks every morning and getting us on our way without any delay. The hotel was clean. It can get a little noisy on the weekend with the band playing just outside in the courtyard but we didn't mind we were on vacation.

Room Tip: You will hear the band and music if you stay in the rooms facing the courtyard. We had rooms on bot...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalex207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding Scotts Hotel, our staff; we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
We look forward to welcome you back to Scotts in the future if you do return to Ireland again.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Scotts Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just returned from my annual stay at the Scotts Hotel and wanted to mention that it was another excellent experience. My room was quiet and spacious, the food in the restaurant was very good and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is a also a perfect base for exploring Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2comfyhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Repeat Guests,
Many thanks for your comments on tripadvisor; I am delighted to read that once more you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to see repeat guests coming back year after year; it makes our job worthwhile. I look forward to welcome you back in 2014.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was a lovely suprise, right in the center of Killarney so close to everything that you need to have a lovely weekend.
We stayed in the apartments and each room was a suprise. Clean bright and modern.
The rooms were large and the kitchen had every thing you needed.
I cant comment on the main hotel as all i did here was check in and out but on the 2 times i dealt with the staff i found them bright friendly and very helpful.
If i am lucky enough to return to Killarney i would have no doubt about booking an apartment again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybelly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our apartments; yes they are ideal for larger groups; our two bedroom apartments are spacious, modern & luxurious. As guest of our apartments you are welcome to use all the facilities in Scotts Hotel; we do hope that you return again to our apartments, I look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms here one was large with a great balcony. The other was small cramped and felt old. Location was great, and staff was helpful. Overall not bad, a few touches like new bedding and mattresses would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife's sister and her husband booked a two night break for all of us in Killarney.
She booked two double ensuite rooms so were could have a break as couples in a comfortable hotel.
On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a two bed room apartment. The apartment was across the road, in an office block via a key code door on the street. It had one double room with ensuite shower but no TV. The other room had two single beds, no ensuite or TV.
There was a large living/kitchen area that was drab and soul less with an old cathode ray TV.
When we asked for the two ensuite double rooms we had booked (some weeks ago) we were repeatedly told we were lucky to have a free upgrade; and that was all that was available.
The apartment was more suited for a family with two small children than couples on a relaxing break.
We went to the hotel bar after dumping the bags for a drink but there was no barman. I went to the reception and was told there was a barman! (how silly of me not to notice the invisible barman - I had to go into the kitchen area and one myself)

The problem with this hotel is the attitude of the management. Guests are there to be managed like stock in a warehouse. They never once apologized, gave any reason for lying about the booking or accepted any short comings on their part.
We found the hotel stay to be stressful and left us angry and resentful.
We will never darken their doorstep again.
Killarney however is beautiful and we are planning to return next year for a week with my daughter, her husband and his parents. Guess were we won't be staying

Room Tip: Pot luck what room they give you, what you ask for does not matter to them
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H23h45df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hotel is average, rooms small, bathroom really cramped with those stupid double impractical faucets and no place to put anything, not conducive to travelling couples. Equipped with old tv it shows few upgrades. Breakfast buffet very limied and busy so staff are unable to give great service, evening meal was not great either, lamb was tough, low meat content and friend who recently visited had same experience with their steak.
Location is good being downtown but that's about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear past guest
Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor; I am sorry to read that you found the hotel to be average and that it did not meet your expectations; we are constantly striving to improve our rooms and have an on-going renovation project in place. Scotts Hotel has 120 bedrooms and breakfast can be congested at peak times; we have extended our breakfast times and have notified guests of busy times in the restaurant.
I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your meal in The Courtyard Restaurant; our Kerry lamb is one of the most popular dishes in The restaurant and I can guarantee you it’s a 100% Kerry lamb- we have a strong ethos in Scotts hotel for supplying locally sourced ingredients especially our meats.
Once more thank you for your feedback & I hope you do return to Scotts in the future.

Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

to whom it may concern

i would like to express my sincere thanks for the exceptional service and meal which we received when we stayed for my hen party on 11th May. all the girls were extremely impressed with the hotel. the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is something you can be very proud of.

thank you again

regards Michelle

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISHEEHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Michelle,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on trip advisor regarding your stay in Scotts Hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff here at Scotts helped make your trip that bit more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff here.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 39 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#5 of 39 in Killarney
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 39 in Killarney
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £76 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing