We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largest room ever and best location to explore.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Largest room ever and best location to explore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as we traveled to 4 golf courses during the day. The location of this hotel could not have been better - right in the center of Killarney. The room that we had was the largest room I have ever stayed in. The bar had the best seafood chowder that I ate on the trip. The lobby was huge so when we were waiting for our friends were didn't trip over all of the other guests. At night there was Irish music playing in the courtyard, some people complained, we opened our window and enjoyed the sounds from the comfort of our room. Welcome dinner had the best beef stew ever and the breakfast was great. Loved being able to walk to town to enjoy the pubs and the shopping. If I ever go back to Killarney I will be sure to stay here. Great staff at the front desk also.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the music in the courtyard at night, ask for a room at the far end or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogey381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    288
    122
    58
    36
See reviews for
134
393
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corofin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in Scotts as a group, a Hen night.
We went on a jaunt in the early afternoon. (Part of the package offered.)
The dinner in the hotel was good and also part of the package offered.
Dinner was followed by beers and excellent music in the courtyard.
The staff was excellent and hotel is ideally located.

We would recommend the hotel going foward.

The only possible note i would add is, if i was staying with my family in the hotel, i would request a room away from the courtyard! (I would book this hotel again, with my family).

Room Tip: Stay away from the courtyard rooms, if thinking of an early night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Killarney has many B&B to offer and we walked around a couple before settling on Scott's. The hotel is perfectly situated by a courtyard that has many live performances, which bring about a cheery air. After these end, Scott's can also be used as a quick access point to the town's nightlife and local art scene. The lobby is comfortably spacious and the breakfast served here is quite delicious (full Irish option off the menu). Our room unfortunately didn't have an amazing view like some of the other rooms seemed to offer but that may have been in part due to our late check in time (we came in around 830pm). Nevertheless, our 2 person room (they charge you per person) had a queen bed and a twin bed so there was space galore. Would recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, great gateway into the art scene and delicious dining options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here last nite, we had stayed in a hotel up from this one and had to move out, it was our first time staying at this hotel and will be our last time and that for sure,they really dont want gay people staying at this hotel,my partner went into this hotel and book it. the staff on the time of checkin never ask who else was staying with him. so we went out for the nite on arrival back from the nite out which we had a good time in killarney the nite porter and manger on at the time would not allow me into the room that we had paid for, because it was down on black and white that it was a straight couple in the room.we felt like it was a crime to share a double bed here, this is the 21st century for the manger to read this, we have stayed in alot of hotel's in this country and we have never been stop before. the nite poter neven called my partner not very nice word,.so for this hotel review they really dont want gay people staying here.,there are better hotels in killarney that will accommadate gay people i sure of that.....Killarney is a good place to explore and have a great weekend to get away so gay couples be awear ...............................................................................................

Room Tip: Never again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Firstly it is with great sadness that I have had to write this response over tripadvisor regarding these 2 gentleman most recent stay in Scotts hotel; we have been in correspondence with this guests over the past few days regarding his stay and I would like to explain our situation on the matter.
Scotts Hotel has 120 bedroom in a busy town centre location; for security of our guests we implement a manual security list stating room number & gender of the guests staying in the room; this list is to be checked by security when guests return back to the hotel late at night. Unfortunately a clerical error on our part occurred where we mistakenly entered Male/Female in the room that these two gentlemen were staying in. When these two gentlemen came back to the hotel at the end of the night; our security personnel used the inaccurate security list that had been provided by front office. In first instance yes the guests were denied access into the hotel as per our security measures; once it was further investigated & the guest did provide 2 key cards to verify that they were in the room; the security guards accepted it was clerical error and left them into the hotel. I have explained this to the guest and have taken full responsibility that this has happened and I have stated that this should have never occurred to upset our guest. Due to this error we have now altered our security measures going forward.
I can assure you that it was not our purpose to upset or mistreat any of our guests; we have a mix of guests and we do not judge on sexuality or gender & I am disappointed that this guest believed he was mistreated. I can guarantee you it was not our intention to upset him.
As stated previously Scotts is a very busy hotel; we would have a variety of people staying within the hotel; at any one time we could have up to 250 people staying; and is not unusual for male & male sharing, female & male sharing a room; female & female sharing a room; it is soley for security of our guest that we implement a gender breakdown in rooms. I would like to reiterate we were not discrimative to these two gentlemen it is purely for security reasons.
On correspondence with this guest; on behalf of the hotel I have profusely apologised on our clerical error and the inconvenience it caused on the night & as a gesture of good will I have offered them a 2 night return visit in one of our Deluxe Suites with Dinner included; which the guest has declined. I have tried my upmost to apology for this error but unfortunately this guest would not accept our apology.
I would hope this review would not deter people from staying in this hotel; we strive to create a welcoming and fun atmosphere; to make all our guests stay an enjoyable one while in Killarney.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy- General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you intend to stay on a friday night at Scots then forget about sleeping. A live band with ampliers plays outside your window as part of the overall experience until 11.30. Inside the room it louder than the spoken voice. Nothing was offered by managment except a routine apology. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

When we arrived we were "upgraded" to a two bedroom apartment across the courtyard (not in main hotel) and very spacious but it had no wifi or phone service. It seemed more fit for an extended business stay then a two night couples getaway. So we asked to be moved. They couldn't accomodate that until the following day but the 2nd room ended up being very spacious and we were happy with how they resolved the issue. The hotel has a great location and appears to be very new. The major negative for me is the beds are very cheap and uncomfortable. I need a softer bed and these are very springy and hard. So know that if you tend to have back trouble for any issues of that nature.

Room Tip: Make sure you are being in put in a room with wifi and expect uncomfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Bschoenherz,
Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay at Scotts Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room allocated. I am glad this situation was resolved and you were happy with your second room. Apologies again for an inconvenience caused.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Killarney
Co. Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel again for a mid week break on the 3rd Sep 2013, we had a lovely room with a view room 325. Room was spotless and very comfortable. As before, the staff were excellent, the Full Irish Breakfast was also excellent, freshly cooked and and very tasty. We didnt have any meals in the Hotel but the Menu appeared very varied and reasonably priced. We checked out only to find that I had left the indoor car light on and the battery was flat, we went back to the reception and within five minutes they procured a nice gentleman with a set of jump leads and we were on our way. Again staff were very helpful and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We had room 325 which leads out onto a large jointly shared walk around area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsmoke77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Gunsmoke77,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate all our good reviews; it’s great to see our hard work appreciated by the most important person, you, the guest. We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future and we will try to make your next stay even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Killarney
Co. Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#36 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing