We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and this place was great. Very central location, and the staff was very helpful and got us on the tours we wanted to go on. We asked for the upgraded rooms, which were spacious and very up to date. We took the train in so we didn't have a car, but the hotel is extremely close to the train station. If the weather is nice you don't need a cab from the station to the hotel.

Room Tip: It seems the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveyinjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Surveyinjoe

Many thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Scotts Hotel Killarney.

I was delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay & I have passed on your kind comments to all our staff.

I was delighted to read that you really liked our Deluxe Suites; yes they are a lovely treat for a special break. Scotts Hotel is very central and only a short stroll from the train station; I am delighted it meet your needs for your break to Killarney.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Dan McCarthy
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    301
    126
    59
    36
See reviews for
140
412
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Scott's Hotel. The location was very conveniently located in town center. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. The room we stayed in was basic but very clean and comfortable. Great value!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Lynsey989,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in Scotts Hotel, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be of great value.
Thank you again & I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

was a bit hard to find. And the elevator from the parking didn't work so we had to walk around the building to get in. Wifi didn't work in rooms and had lousy tv.
Room itself was ok - roomy. wa just ok but being in Killarney was most awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndevlin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ndevlin23
Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We’re disheartened to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your visit as we take great pride in delivering a quality experience for all of our guests. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused by items that were out of order. I can confirm that all items that have been outlined have been rectified.
I am delighted that you did enjoy your time in Killarney- Killarney is a unique place & we are very proud of it.
Once more I would like to apologies that we did not meet up to your expectation on this visit.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in Scotts. Great value for money, Bar food was good although only had lunch on day of arrival. We were on the 4th floor and our only complaint was that on the 2nd day the weather was very wet and very windy. We had a velux window in our room and the draught coming through it was terrible. You could also hear the slates around the roof rattling. I know there is nothing you can do about the weather but did point out to the nice girl on reception who offered to change our room but it was also on the 4th. floor and am sure we would have had the same problem. She said if we weren't happy that we could change the next day if we said it to reception. The wind died down and the problem didn't arise again. I did point out again to a different receptionist on departure so hopefully the window will be looked at and fixed. Otherwise we had a great few days and a bonus was the free car parking.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a velux window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureLouthCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of a package. the location of the hotel is in the center of everything right where you want to be. The staff was very friendly and went our of their way to help. Breakfast was good which some select made to order items.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carkrisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions and generally enjoy our stay ,hotel is centrally located in the town centre and there is free parking,rooms are spacious and well looked after ,the only fault we had was the last two occasions we have stayed here there was no hot water in the taps and the shower was lukewarm outside that it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timmyCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and found the stay very relaxing. The room was lovely it was very clean. The bathroom was very clean as well. Breakfast was lovely the restaurant was lovely. The bar food was really lovely and portions were very good . The restaurant was really lovely and the food was excellent the prices were very good . We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and warm . It is ideally situated in the centre of town everything is within walking distance. There are plenty of places to go. There is music in the hotel at the weekend. We found it very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade if your not happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing