We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
1 review
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very well located, in the centre of everything. We always stay here. Most of the staff are very nice and helpful. Just one small thing, when the big bar is full there should be staff for the small bar in reception, for those of us that just want a quiet drink without having to fight your way to the bar

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell250960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    319
    132
    62
    39
See reviews for
157
436
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked a premium room for two nights and were not disappointed. spacious and comfortable with excellent view over the mountains. Breakfast freshly cooked and dinner in evening good value with competitive offers. Good location in centre area of town with underground parking close by. (NB suggest you advised guests that parking entrance is at rear as our Sat Nav took us to wrong side of hotel.

Room Tip: The premium rooms on 4th floor are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ALLAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had previously stayed here a few years back and really liked the hotel, always recommended it to people travelling to Killarney. This time I was with a group of girls and we had a great time, the rooms were nice, and the beds were really comfortable. The food however was very average, as was the service of the waiting staff. I had been told that the food was supposed to be great, and so was really looking forward to our evening meal-but was let down! I ordered a ceasar salad for starters and salmon for main...The salad was basically swimming in a bowl of water, the leaves had obvioulsy been kept in water and just plucked out, without being dried. When I mentioned this to the waitress she just fobbed it off as the dressing-Caesar dressing should definetly not be watery!! The salmon then was tiny-especially incomaprison to the girl sitting opposite me who seemed to get a more generous portion. The waitress also seemed to be quite unhelpful to us, or just fed up with her job in general. Overall the food was not very enjoyable, and while I would reccommend the accomodation side of the hotel again, I wouldnt recommend the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WKSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. The hotel is situated in a really central position. The rooms are spacious and have all the facilities you'll need. Wifi was free. The breakfast included in our package was also great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisAmyRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel very comfortable
1 negative thing the wifi reception was non existence on floor 4
Lively setting very close to the town centre residents bar very nice with a very friendly night porter
Would stay here again without any doubts
Top class

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in Scott's hotel recently and found it to be top quality and great value. It's location right in the centre of town means all the pubs, restaurants and amenities of Killarney are right on hand. Free on site underground parking means your car isn't a problem during your stay. The room was clean modern and big. We were located at the front of the hotel so can be noisy on a Saturday night. The bathroom was very clean but might need a bit of redecoration soon. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We had some bar food in the Snug bar at the front of the hotel. It was excellent quality and seemed cheaper than some other pubs we noticed in town. The beer was excellent and all the bar staff are very friendly. Live music is available in the court yard bar. I've stayed in Killarney before and after my first Scott's visit I will be using this place next time

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front if it's a Friday or Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medoc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our room was very small with no drawer space or shelves and only 4 coat hangers in the small wardrobe. It was also over reception, and as it was the weekend and there was live music directly outside until 11.30 pm it was very noisy. We were moved to a larger room at the back of the hotel on our second night. Staff were helpful, but overall thought the hotel rooms were overpriced for the size and not as described, ie, stylish and spacious. If you want this you need to upgrade to a Superior room. Location is excellent, in the centre of Killarney, but unless you like it lively would recommend a mid-week break, rather than a weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rtf1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing