We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardree House
Ranked #40 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The Ardree House was a great location from which to visit Killarney. The checking process was quick and efficient and the young girl was helpful and polite. We needed to print some boarding passes that were misplaced and she assisted us and allowed us to use the office printer. Our room was huge by comparison to most European hotels and was nicely decorated. The ensuite was also larger than usual. The breakfast was an extra 10€ and included a full Irish breakfast or other options that you could choose from a menu. Excellent service and refills on the coffee! The location was also great, just a short walk to the city centre and lots of shops, restaurants and entertainment.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    51
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Upon our arrival we we pleasantly greeted by Mike and his lovely wife. We got settled in our room and had just a simple problem that was solved immediately and was of little consequence. The location is amazing with a very short walk to the main street for dining and shopping. We returned very late and were eager to have a shower before turning in. It was then that we noted a problem with the shower water temperature adjustment and only scalding water coming out. I am certain that this was an unknown problem as when we reported it in the morning we were promptly moved to another room without question and treated well by our hostess throughout the remainder of our stay. The house has a historic feel to it; dated but comfortable. We found the hostess to be very quiet but accommodating--certainly not rude or uncaring as other reports have implied. We appreciated her level of commitment to ensuring our satisfaction and comfort. Thank you, Jackie & Laurie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnywhereButUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great location, just around the corner from the National park and the town centre, we were given a fantastic room with a great view, breakfast was 10 € extra but was worth it, clean room and bathroom and the old guy who runs the place was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Book Early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salzy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stay in this bed and breakfast in may during the may bank holiday weekend gor three nights. Greeted by owner at door on arrival. Rooms spotless and cleaned every morning. Breakfast was ok very average. Very popular with tourists. Tea and coffee available in front room which looks out on road which is a nice touch. Location is near town and quiet location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely Bed and Breakfast with great parking. Breakfast was great. We were in the off season e was lovely. Our host was very nice and was quite helpful when we asked questions of where to go get pub food and if there were any places for traditional music.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathannewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our stay at the Ardree House was the highlight of our trip to Ireland & Scotland. The Ardree House is maybe two blocks from the activity center of Killarney and our host, John King, advised us where to go for food and entertainment. The Ardree House was a very attractive facility and our room was spacious, with a small dressing room and a private bath. The breakfast was very good, providing a variety of local cheeses, porridge, eggs,bacon, waffles, etc. The King's were gracious hosts and saved our trip. We arrived in the evening and planned to drive the Ring of Kerry in the morning. When we got up, we had a flat tire. I would have spent the majority of the day finding a repair shop and getting it fixed, but John stepped in. He arranged for us to be included in a small local tour group for the Ring of Kerry, while he got out car repaired. The tour was outstanding and John wouldn't take any payment for dealing with out car. I highly recommend the Ardree House and the Killarney area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Ardree House during a family trip to Ireland. As we passed through Killarney, we stayed at the Ardree House as it had excellent access to downtown Killarney and was within easy walking distance to town. The accomodations were nice and very clean and comfortable. The Irish breakfast was also excellent. However, if you are looking for traditional Irish Hospitality, we did not find it here. We were greeted and hosted by some non-Irish folks who were not very friendly and were rather cold and business-like throughout our stay. In fact, other than at breakfast they were never seen.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#27 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardree House

Property: Ardree House
Address: Ardree House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardree House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardree House is a family run, newly refurbished B&B located just 2 minutes walk from Killarney town centre. All our spacious rooms are ensuite and include TV, hairdryer and trouser press. Complimentary WIFI is available. Private off-road parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing