We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardree House
Ranked #40 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal via KAYAK on this place and it sure met all our needs. Clean room, comfortable bed and in a great location, 5 min walk into town. Overall, a decent B&B which deserves a visit. We stayed at room 7 on the top floor which was quiet and even had som nice views.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    51
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in August 2013 and were not disappointed. It is ideal for walking into Town (5 mins.) and for a base to explore the rest of Kerry. The room was spacious and comfortable and John the owner was very helpful. I must have let it slip that it was our 25th wedding anniversary, and that evening when we got back from our trip round the Ring of Kerry, there was a complimentary bottle of Prosecco on ice in our room. A nice touch.
I would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hessi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We liked this B&B. My boyfriend didn't like the lady who greeted us at the door - and she was definitely not as warm and welcoming as some of the other B&B's we stayed at during our trip but I was ok with the more "hands off" feeling I got from this place as in some of the others I almost felt like I was intruding on someone's home. This is a larger guest house and the rooms are huge and clean. We didn't have the best view of the construction site next door but I suppose that is luck of the draw and there was no noise from the site during sleeping hours nor early in the morning so that was a relief. The bed was hard. My back ached from the hard mattress but that's really my only complaint. Breakfast was a 7 euro/person extra charge and we didn't partake as we chose to go into town for pastries and coffee but that price is fair compared to what restaurants were charging for breakfast. Free wifi in the rooms, great location and very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkemp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Brilliant location. Helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. John really knows killarney well and pointed us in the right direction each morning. Rooms are spacious. Parking freely available. 2 minute walk into main street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neadykq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our third trip in five years to Ireland. This was our second stay at the Ardree House. This is one of our favorite B&Bs in Ireland. It is in a great location, only a few minutes walk to downtown. Internet access, excellent breakfast, safe accommodations, nice beds, and a recent upgrade to the bathroom in our room. There are no fans or a/c in the rooms, so we did get hot, even with the windows open. Highly recommend this place. We had to leave early for an early flight out. They left brown bread and fruit out for us to eat before breakfast was served. It's the little things that prove their desire to provide excellent customer service. We are already planning another stay in March 2014 at the Ardree House in Killarney, Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The Ardree House was a great location from which to visit Killarney. The checking process was quick and efficient and the young girl was helpful and polite. We needed to print some boarding passes that were misplaced and she assisted us and allowed us to use the office printer. Our room was huge by comparison to most European hotels and was nicely decorated. The ensuite was also larger than usual. The breakfast was an extra 10€ and included a full Irish breakfast or other options that you could choose from a menu. Excellent service and refills on the coffee! The location was also great, just a short walk to the city centre and lots of shops, restaurants and entertainment.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Upon our arrival we we pleasantly greeted by Mike and his lovely wife. We got settled in our room and had just a simple problem that was solved immediately and was of little consequence. The location is amazing with a very short walk to the main street for dining and shopping. We returned very late and were eager to have a shower before turning in. It was then that we noted a problem with the shower water temperature adjustment and only scalding water coming out. I am certain that this was an unknown problem as when we reported it in the morning we were promptly moved to another room without question and treated well by our hostess throughout the remainder of our stay. The house has a historic feel to it; dated but comfortable. We found the hostess to be very quiet but accommodating--certainly not rude or uncaring as other reports have implied. We appreciated her level of commitment to ensuring our satisfaction and comfort. Thank you, Jackie & Laurie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnywhereButUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#27 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardree House

Property: Ardree House
Address: Ardree House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardree House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardree House is a family run, newly refurbished B&B located just 2 minutes walk from Killarney town centre. All our spacious rooms are ensuite and include TV, hairdryer and trouser press. Complimentary WIFI is available. Private off-road parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing