We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value”
Review of Ardree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardree House
Ranked #44 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a wonderful find! Only about 15 years old, everything here is modern, clean, and up-to-date. Both public areas and private rooms are quite spacious. I had concerns about the location after finding it on the map, but it’s only a 5-minute walk into the downtown area town. Lots of people are walking this route. Our room was perfectly clean, including a desk/closet in an alcove, and a modestly sized perfectly clean bathroom. Shower water pressure is questionable. Large tub. WiFi is strong throughout the building. Teakettle is down in the common area, where I would have preferred in the room. I didn’t see A/C or fans (Americans tend to like moving air). No refrigerator in room—but fine for me. I didn’t see a clock either, but maybe that’s a European thing. Breakfast is excellent with made to order substantial meals. This B&B is truly a wonderful find and I highly recommend visiting here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartenkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    52
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent one night in this lovely Bed & Breakfast in May 2010 - beautiful property in a picturesque town in one of my favourite places in the world.
Along with my sister, we travelled across Ireland on the "voucher program" with Royal Irish Tours and did not book in advance.
Upon choosing Ardree House as our Killarney home for the night, our friendly host John King was very gracious and inviting, making us feel right at home.
Our room was spacious clean and comfortable and the entire property was beautiful and we made a friend (Suzanne Dowd).
Breakfast was delicious - sad we only stayed for one night.
Would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deaniemac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After being lost and traveling in the rain all day, we were glad to find this place only to be greeted rudely on our check-in. Room was ok but the bathroom sink stopper was stuck and when we addressed it, the woman that checked us in acted inconvenienced. It was also difficult to find someone to give us water to drink that night. We almost walked out of this B&B that same night and we were booked here for 2 nights!
Parking is limited and very small.

The owner was pleasant and helpful the next day but our experience with their employee the night before really soured our opinion of this guest house.

Room Tip: We will never stay in this B&B again. There is no reason for discourtesy to guests and our exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia spain
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

On arrival greeting was a warm welcome. Room was spacious, clean & tidy, bathroom likewise.
Rooms not sound proofed, thankfully everyone settled down for a good nights sleep at a reasonable time. Free car parking is available on the premises which is ideal, as the centre is a short walk away. A choice of breakfast was available which we found adequate. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of eating places in the town. Bars with traditional music. Overall a very lively place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Greeted seemingly warmly by a lady up front.

* will charge you an extra 10 euro for breakfast on top of the room rate.
* the bed feels like a box spring (see picture)
* the shower head barely works (see pictures)
* the breakfast menu is meager (see picture)
* they appear to ration out breakfast food (see picture)
* the tea/coffee room is a bit of a joke (see picture)
* if you are a vegetarian they will try to charge you 10 euro for oatmeal (see picture) (Tesco, the local grocery store is awesome and you can purchase great local irish foods for low cost!)
* the wifi is unreliable and when I informed the staff member, she blamed me.
* the curtains are shear so the street lights and sun will wake you at 5am. (see picture)
* the walls are not sound proof
* the hospitality is lacking overall
* they refuse to accept credit cards from what I understand but they do NOT put this online up front! (see picture)
* the rooms are not temperature controlled but they promised they would be. (see picture)
* there was mold on the ceiling of the bathroom and in the bathroom (see pictures)
* no room phone in sight
* no wash rags and stingy with towels (see picture)
* no toiletries provided except soap which is bolted onto the bathroom wall (see pictures)
* lots of rules
* tv (see picture) has just a few stations
* very greedy, rude, not hospitable and not a friendly bed and breakfast at all.

Don't believe me?
Check out my pictures.
These are the pictures that they do NOT want you to see and that they won't display online.

Sincerely,
The traveler with standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

second time at this bed and breakfast impressed first time has not changed five minutes walk to shops,eating places,bars with trad. irish music bus tours.clean large rooms,excellent irish breakfast and very friendly and helpfull staff close to killarney park 5min.to jaunting cart rides [horse &cart]

Room Tip: stat@least 3days
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I'd definitely come back here. Don't get me wrong, it's most definitely not luxury but for €45 a night including breakfast it's truly outstanding. Two seconds walk to the mainstreet, free parking and Wifi. Nice clean room. I'd be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#33 of 140 in Killarney
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#79 of 140 in Killarney
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 140 in Killarney
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardree House

Property: Ardree House
Address: Ardree House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardree House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardree House is a family run, newly refurbished B&B located just 2 minutes walk from Killarney town centre. All our spacious rooms are ensuite and include TV, hairdryer and trouser press. Complimentary WIFI is available. Private off-road parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing