We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B & B”
Review of Windway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windway House
Ranked #14 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Windway House for 2 nights. The B & B is well-located on a quiet street within walking distance to town. Our room was quite small, but very comfortable and clean. We opted to only bring one of our suitcases into the room as there was no room for 2 cases. That left my husband running out to the car to get things from his case as he needed them, but it was really not a big deal. Frank, the owner, was very chatty and gracious. He was only too happy to advise us of things to do and places to see. Breakfast was very good, although you must pre-order your option the night before. We had access to a shared computer in the hallway which was a great bonus. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to be able to check e-mails and keep in touch with home. We enjoyed our time in this B & B and would recommend it as a clean, friendly and well-located option in Killarney.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CMac1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pro: Nice clean well appointed room, average size room and bath. Very helpful and friendly hosts as they provided an extension cord to plug in additional items. First floor easy access.
Con: Only on street parking
Definetely would recommend staying there.



A note about B&B's: We stayed in 7 B&B's during our trip, all 4 star or more. Generally they do not provide any wash cloths and just hand soap, no shower soap. As a rule the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, about 3' x 9' with just enough room for the shower stall, toilet and sink. The showers are small some just 2' square. Most do not have any alarm clocks, have dim lighting especially the bathrooms and few or no outlets for charging phones, tablets, etc. That being said they were all clean with nice bedding, all provided a full delicious Irish breakfast and all the hosts were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My son & I just returned from our Ireland vacation. We did not have a reservation and Frank was nice enough to accommodate us. He welcomed us like family and helped us plan our day. The room was small but worked fine for the 2 of us. Short walk to the center of town. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robenz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I chose this location based on reviews and the location and was not disappointed! As with almost all Irish B&Bs, the room is a bit on the small side, but very comfortable and clean - probably the largest (Irish) bathroom that we had on our visit! The description of the location is perfect - but actually leaves out that you can almost see the cathedral from the property and once you are here you park your car and can walk everywhere in town - that was awesome considering our trip covered 5 counties so we spent a lot of time in the car. The location is quiet, Frank is very nice and quite funny and the breakfast was very good! He recommended a show one evening and we loved it! When/if I return to Killarney, I will definitely stay at The Windway House!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews and the location, and we were not disappointed! Frank is a very informative and courteous host. We travelled with teenagers and needed two rooms and he set us up with rooms next to each other. The breakfast was very good with several options to choose from. Walking distance to the downtown area as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Thought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was clean however it was small for a family of 3. We had no place to put our luggage and we had to block the door in order to be able to move around the room. The bathroom was also very small. For the price we paid I expected more. Frank the owner was very nice and friendly and gave us some tips regarding restaurants and bars with live music. Breakfast was very nice. The B&B is well located with a walking distance from the center of Kilarney and yet in a very quiet street with lots of parking spaces. I would recommend this B&B to couples but if you're traveling with kids, try to find B&B with larger rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiDa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were driving from the Aran Islands and hoped to make it to the Killarney area late in the evening so that we could do the Ring of Kerry the next day - kind of ambitious, but we knew it would help if we could get that far. We found a listing for the Windway House in our B&B book, called on the way to ask if there were openings for the next two nights and warned that we'd be very late (almost midnight) arrivals. Frank sounded great over the phone, and couldn't have been a better host when we met him in the morning. We were lucky enough to get the last available room and what luck that was! The room was clean and comfortable, there was a lovely breakfast, and Frank couldn't have been more helpful (or more fun)! He made it so easy for us, arranging our tour of the Ring of Kerry so that the coach picked us up at the door. The location is great - it's maybe a five minute walk to the downtown area where there were pubs with great music. Can't imagine that this place would get any bad reviews, it's really a sure bet for a clean, comfortable, nice place in a great location. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packapeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.5 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#49 of 143 in Killarney
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windway House

Address: Windway House New Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £69 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windway House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWSFLASH...TRIPADVISOR AWARD "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Windway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing