We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas time and a deeply disappointed customer”
Review of Maureens B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maureens B&B
Ranked #37 of 52 Tralee B&B and Inns
mother21
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas time and a deeply disappointed customer”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

As every hotel in Tralee is closed over Christmas, Benner's Hotel transferred the reservation I had made for my sister and mother so that they could spend Christmas with family, to Maureen's B & B in Oakpark, Tralee. This turned out to be disastrous. A double rather than a twin room was given to my elderly mother and sister. The house was cold. Maureen was rude and dismissive and offered only a continental rather than full breakfast. Having read SMg2Ct's review, I had asked my sister to confirm the reservation i had made to prevent a similar situation. Despite two phone conversations to confirm the reservation on top of the contact from Benner's hotel, Maureen, it seems had given the twin room reserved to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mother21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
10
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We showed up after being bumped from another B+B. Maureen greeted us warmly and showed us to our room. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, with a comfortable bed, and the shower was nice and hot too! She recommended a restaurant just a 5min walk that was very good. The breakfast was a full Irish breakfast that was simply wonderful, my husband still raves about it! Somehow during our stay I misplaced my little ziplock bag that had my earrings in it, but did not figure that out until I was unpacking at our next lodging. I called Maureen and she found the earrings, they had slipped underneath the bed! She was so excited and so was I! She mailed them to our last stop. I can't say enough about how gracious she was and how helpful. I would certainly recommend Maureen's to any travelers! Thanks again Maureen!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We showed up in the early evening, without a reservation, when another B&B proved less that acceptable. Maureen was wonderful to stay with. Such hospitality! Coffee and tea when we arrived and a bountiful Irish breakfast to start the next morning. Accommodations are attractive, clean, roomy, safe, and comfortable. And the conversation delightful! Ample parking and within walking distance to town center.
John & Karen, Kentucky USA

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JohnH42104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Maureen was very welcoming. The room we had was clean and comfortable,and the shower was hot. its just a 10 minute walk to the town so was ideal for us. Also the full irish breakfast was good and plenty of it.We were certainley full for the day and didn't need a lunch.
BUT if you are staying there make sure you agree on a price on the day, I was quoted 30 euro each per night . I didn't know till we had left that my husband was charged 35 euro each per night. It was still worth the money, but we should have paid the agreed price

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina-r8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I recently stayed in Maureen B & B Tralee.
I was in Tralee from London on business and as the nearby hotel where my meetings were being conducted was booked out, my secretary booked me into Maureens.
I would usually stay in hotels while travelling but I must say I had a lovely, comfortable stay.
The location is central, It has a really nice hotel opposite and a grocery shop and newsagent a few min walk away. It's just 6 -7 min walk from the town centre and the breakfast was better than any hotel. It was piping hot and very tasty.
I will definetly stay when in Tralee again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daithiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Tralee on business. Overall, it was just what I would expect from a B&B. The place was kept nice and warm during my stay on a cold January week. However the welcome was a little less warm than I have usually experienced in Irish B&Bs. Decor was more modern than average. Breakfast was average. Basically, it's a fair place to stay without any really distinguishing features.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoomGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Excellent location--very convenient to shops, pubs, etc.. Maureen was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable!! Great location, great breakfast!!

  • Liked — friendly hostess, close proximity
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
10.0 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#13 of 14 in Tralee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sean Og's
Sean Og's
#10 of 52 in Tralee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denton B & B
Denton B & B
#2 of 52 in Tralee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#3 of 52 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maureens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maureens B&B

Property: Maureens B&B
Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maureens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing