We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and comfortable”
Review of Maureens B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maureens B&B
Ranked #45 of 54 Tralee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Maureen was very welcoming. The room we had was clean and comfortable,and the shower was hot. its just a 10 minute walk to the town so was ideal for us. Also the full irish breakfast was good and plenty of it.We were certainley full for the day and didn't need a lunch.
BUT if you are staying there make sure you agree on a price on the day, I was quoted 30 euro each per night . I didn't know till we had left that my husband was charged 35 euro each per night. It was still worth the money, but we should have paid the agreed price

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina-r8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Maureens B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

I recently stayed in Maureen B & B Tralee.
I was in Tralee from London on business and as the nearby hotel where my meetings were being conducted was booked out, my secretary booked me into Maureens.
I would usually stay in hotels while travelling but I must say I had a lovely, comfortable stay.
The location is central, It has a really nice hotel opposite and a grocery shop and newsagent a few min walk away. It's just 6 -7 min walk from the town centre and the breakfast was better than any hotel. It was piping hot and very tasty.
I will definetly stay when in Tralee again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daithiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Tralee on business. Overall, it was just what I would expect from a B&B. The place was kept nice and warm during my stay on a cold January week. However the welcome was a little less warm than I have usually experienced in Irish B&Bs. Decor was more modern than average. Breakfast was average. Basically, it's a fair place to stay without any really distinguishing features.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoomGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Excellent location--very convenient to shops, pubs, etc.. Maureen was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable!! Great location, great breakfast!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CTsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We were recommended this B&B by the B&B across the street and we were well satisfied with the change. The accommodation was spotlessly clean with all the usual facilities. SKy TV was available in a very pleasant TV lounge downstairs. We were greeted with a nice cup of tea and biscuits anf the breakfast the next morning was excellent. We did not need lunch that day!!

She recommended an excellent retaurant, Porters, which provide good food at a very reasonable price.(she even had a sample menu to show us). The hotel across the road whilst very pleasant was very expensive.

Although we were on a main road the B&B was well insulated and quiet!! Well rcommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My mother, my sister and I stayed with Maureen earlier this month. We travelled from Dublin on a girls weekend.
Maureens had been recommended to me by a friend.
Maureen greeted us on arrival with coffee and biscuits.
She was most helpful with making suggestions on how to spend our weekend, where to eat , etc.
Her house is a credit to her, its so clean and welcoming.
It has a lovely hotel just across the road which was so handy for us. We really enjoyed our stay in Maureens. She is a lovely warm kind woman and she was no nice to us and helpful to my mother (who can be fussy). Also the breakfast was top class.
She offered us a great selection of food, but we stuck with the traditional irish breakfast ,which was delicious and well presented with loads of warm toast, tea and coffee.
If we are ever back in Tralee there is only one place I would stay and thats at Maureens.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DublinJoanna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

I stayed in Maureens in June of this year with my husband and two kids. I must say we had an excellent stay and found Maureen to be very kind and helpful to us at all times.
She made us tea and cake when we arrived and made us very welcome. She has a lovely home in an excellent location.
I find the last ladys review very hard to believe as our experience was totally the opposite. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IrelandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.9 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#12 of 14 in Tralee
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
540 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Brook Manor Lodge
Brook Manor Lodge
#2 of 54 in Tralee
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Martin's
Saint Martin's
#44 of 54 in Tralee
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denton B & B
Denton B & B
#1 of 54 in Tralee
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maureens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maureens B&B

Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maureens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing