We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely campsite very helpful owners. Good showers (£1)proper hair dryer in bathroom (free) Good selection basics in shop. Games room, tv room and good camper kitchen if in tent. only slight negative washing machine and drier a little expensive at £6 each a go. Walking distance to town, wetlands centre and aqua dome. Great holiday would be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Becandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandstralee, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hi Becandgirls,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

All the best,
Mike, Martina and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I've camped in a number of places around Ireland and this is by far the best campsite I have found.
I was doing a triathlon in Tralee so decided to camp. The location was brilliant. It was mins from registration and the start line. And easy walking distance to local cinema and town center. We walked in to the town center in no time.
From the moment we arrived to the time we left Mike and Martina were so friendly and helpful.

The facilities were brilliant and the bathrooms were very clean. The atmosphere around the part was very good, everyone in great mood and I think the main reason for this was because of the great facilities and friendly staff.

Thanks for a great weekend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNK883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandstralee, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our park and for your very kind comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us so much and hope to see you back again sometime. Well done on completing the Triathlon! All the best, Mike, Martina and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed in woodlands last year, as my family and I have done for near on 15 years, not every year, but almost. Never had a problem before but don't know what has come over Mike as he seems to have developed a "sarge major" type attitude,peering into awnings with his torch,ordering adults to bed a they sit quietly, surfing on their laptops. As a 48 year old adult,who enjoys peace and quiet,I resent that. The caravan next to me had a problem similar to me and his power was unplugged in the night. When he complained to Mike, he was told "go somewhere else ".readers make your own mind up.all in all, there are too many nice parks where peace and quiet is the norm to have to put up with mike.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandstralee, Front Office Manager at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Alfrox,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience while staying with us last year. We value your repeat custom and it is with regret to hear that while you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer, an incident with Mike is the basis of your review.
As you know, we are in business 15 years now and always prided ourselves on a high level of management, which involves keeping the peace at night time. You may notice the lack of any bad reviews regarding noise. It seems on this occasion that you found Mike perhaps a bit too strict and for that I apologize. It is unfortunate that sometimes it’s harder to keep noise levels down at night than others. It sounds like perhaps, in his goal to have a peaceful atmosphere for families; he may have come down a bit too hard you on. I hope it hasn't put you off coming back to us again and I will ensure a nice pitch and a warm welcome upon your return.

Regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

lovely staff very helpful. kids had a great time in the games room and tv room they also felt safe.swimming pool and cinema near by come rain or shine there is always something to do or just kick back and relax we also met other guests from holland/uk also cork we had a ball in the evening after a bar-b-q in the all weather area.lovely site will be back also 20-30 mins from lovely beach at castlegregory

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micko986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandstralee, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Hi Mick,

Thanks so much for your great view. Delighted you and the kids enjoyed yourselves. Its true about having lots to do in Tralee and surrounding areas whatever the weather. We hope you have a great summer and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

All the best,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have stayed at the park the past two years in July and found the staff to be the most helpful around. The service the park offers make me and my family feel so welcome and it is no surprise that my kids ask,as we are leaving to go home, when we are coming back! After experiencing one of the worst holidays at hidden valley caravan park, it was great to find a park that I am more than happy to stay for more than a week. I have recommended this park to as many friends and family as possible and would advise any family, who are looking for a park that you can be sure that the kids are safe and welcome to be there,to stay at this park

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feetfirst001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review of our park. It is fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoy staying with us so much. As most of our guests in high season are families its great to get such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again this summer,

All the best,
Mike, Martina and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here for a few nights during the Rose of Tralee festival - the festival dome was just a 10 minutes walk away. While the site was busy because of the festival, it didn’t feel crowded as the pitches are very spacious and it is a big site.
This is a very well run, clean site, with the toilet/shower facilities always clean. Like most camp sites in Ireland, you pay extra for the showers (€1 here). There is also a covered BBQ area, which is very useful, given the Irish weather - they sell small disposable BBQs in the site shop. As far as I know, the owners spent many years camping themselves and therefore know what is required in camp sites to make it an enjoyable experience, and it shows.
The town centre is a 10/15 minutes walk. The cinema and the Aquadome(swimming and water slides, etc) are a 5/10 minutes walk from the site - ideal if you have children.
On the final night of the Rose of Tralee festival, there is a fireworks display and we had a great view of it from the camp site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fenlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you so much for posting a review of our site. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and its great to hear that even when we are at maximum capacity, the park still felt spacious to you. We hope you return to our park next year and look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, all the best,

Mike, Martina & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

We have caravanned in Ireland,uk and Europe for 31years but this is our first visit to woodlands.It is an excellent park with fully serviced hard stands with water and drainage.facility block is well planned and spotlessly clean.Great friendly welcome from the McDonell family and Finn. We would highly recommend this site. John,Catherine,Cowboy jones

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Blackie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi John, Catherine & Cowboy Jones!

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to your next visit & welcoming you back again soon,

All the best,
Mike, Martina & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
2 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#12 of 14 in Tralee
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
786 reviews
9.7 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Caravan Park

Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tralee
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Park is a multi-award winning Caravan & Camping Park located in Tralee, Co. Kerry. Nestled at the foot of the Slieve Mish mountains in a quiet woodland setting our park offer peace and tranquility within a 10 minute walk to the centre of Tralee town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodlands Caravan Park Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing