We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going there again, Very poor service and very slow, not enough staff on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keanes of Curraheen
Ranked #10 of 54 Tralee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Me and my family went here on a Sunday for mother's Day. The food was ok but at the end of our meal we ordered a baileys coffee and it was only luke warm. The waiter himself was rushed off his feet trying to serve the tables and the boss was there himself taking the monies and just bossing the poor waiter around "do this now, do that now, hurry up", he was not a pleasant man and i didnt like his manner and attitude. We were waiting for ages for our food to come out and it wasnt cheap either. Would definately not recommend this place to anyone, STAY WELL AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 187Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Beautiful Restaurant and Bar .Superb food and service.John is a true Pro will highly recommend Keanes to my friends it is excellent .The minute you arrive you are made feel so welcome lovely open fire

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Whilst on a spontaneous road trip around Kerry recently we decided to stay in a B&B for a change. We read Keanes reviews on trip advisor which were impressive so said we would give it a go.......and we were so glad we did. The minute we walked in the door we were greeted by a fabulous open fire and a very welcoming proprietor.

We dined in the restaurant......the food and service were exceptional. The bar staff could not have been more friendly.

The room was very spacious, cosy, spotlessly clean and with an amazing view.

I would thoroughly recommend Keanes of Curraheen. I will definitely be back in the summer and cant wait to dine al fresco on their beautiful terrace.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked Keanes without any real expectations. We were heading towards Dingle and this was an easy stop on the way after a long drive. The hotel/B&B is quite close to Tralee which is a pretty little town. There is access to a full kitchen if it is needed. We ate at the hotel restaurant and had a lovely meal. Because it was a Saturday night, there was live music which was a pure delight. Our room was spacious and modern with beautiful sea views. All in all, our stay proved to be an unexpected but welcome delight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcscMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had to pleasure of finding myself in this property for 2 nights in October . Spectacular views , great food , comfortable rooms & personable staff . It was everything I had hoped for on my short visit to West Kerry. Will definitely return .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked a double room for two nights and arrived in the early afternoon to check in. We were told by the owner, in a very crowded bar/restaurant that our booking had been cancelled by venere.com (we booked through trivago.com) as the credit card used was "invalid". How embarrassing! We were then told that our room had been given to somebody else and there were no other rooms available! This was after driving for 3 hours! I had a booking number, received from venere.com on an e-mail confirming the booking and the amount debited from the credit card, but we were still turned away! We were speechless! We were also told by the owner that this had happened before, there was nothing he could do about it, and we were left without accommodation for our holiday in peak season with everywhere booked out for the Rose of Tralee Festival! We have since checked with our bank and there is ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEM with the credit card and we used it to book alternative accommodation several miles away. NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. We e-mailed both venere.com and Keane's of Curraheen upon our return home and did not receive the courtesy of a reply from either. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Brighid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We didn't get a great start 3 years ago. However things have changed for the better since. The food and service for dinner were excellent. We would recommend this restaurant to any ody in the Tralee area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
3.8 mi away
The Park Georgian Guest House
3.9 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
682 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
793 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
893 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keanes of Curraheen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keanes of Curraheen

Address: Curraheen, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Keanes of Curraheen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Keanes of Curraheen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing