We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtyard Irish Holiday Cottages
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our 3rd trip to the courtyard, and it was by far the best. We have two small children and we stayed inthe two bedroom cottage. We travelled 4 hours to get here and were all ver tired. When we arrived we were greeted by Myra,the owner. A nicer more helpful woman you couldn't meet. We got into the house and were met by fresh cut flowers in every room, candles and a lovely tray with a bottle of wine some gorgeous home made scones jam and butter. The fire bqske was full of wood and there were firelighters and matches. There was coffee tea bags and sugar and a big bag of ice why more could u ask for. The houses are beautifully laid out. If ur looking for something extra special ask for the loft very romantic for couples! There's a tennis cour and slides and swings it's, 5 minutes from Tralee and 30 from dingle, fantastic location. We bet a path to myras door with questions about things to do and help with stuff and she accommodated us every time, she couldn't do enough. The interior would remind me of sea side hampton chic! Lovely decor, I seen a previous reviewer giving out about wonky taps, as long as the water comes out sure where's the priblem. I couldn't fault the place and well be back again. Myra had a travel cot and high chair set up for us when we got there and had a folder packed with local info and things to do. We even took home one of the puppies who were no trouble at all they spent litle or no time around our house. Perfect spot for sightseeing and a great base for the whole of Kerry. We are already thinking about our next holiday there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BootzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay that has both historic irish walls and modern interieur, a warm atmosphere and a wonderful host and so many things that can be done in the vicinity, this is the place to go!

We stayed there for a week, enjoyed every single day no matter whether rainy or sunny. Every time we followed Myra's tips for tours in the area we were never disappointed. You just feel the welcoming flair of that place and of the owner and that's what a holiday should be about, right?

A special tip for the ones thinking about getting engaged in a romantic place in a romantic country: do it there and do it with the help of Myra. ;)

We highly recommended the Courtyard and it's definitely a place we will return to rather sooner than later!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Spent a week at 'Courtyard Cottages' between 2nd June - 9th June 2012.
I tend to agree with 'Kes0719' that a rating for this property would be 'Good'. I have rated it 'Average' however because I feel a 'Very good' rating is not appropriate. I feel the layout could have been alot better.The main bedroom with a double bed did not have the 'en suite' which I feel it should have had.The 2nd bedroom with 2 single beds contained the 'en suite'!!!!!
Both the single beds 'squeaked' rather alarmingly, everytime my wife and I turned over.The comments made about general state of the accomodation by 'Kes0719' are, in my opinion, very FAIR.The bath was 'VERY SMALL' , in fact I (6 foot adult) would not have been able to even sit in it comfortably.Some of the furniture was a bit 'GRUBBY' and one of the armchairs had been covered to hide its condition.When we arrived we were greeted by a 'possee' of puppies (5 in all)
and although they were very cute (my daughter-in-law loved them) they were a bit of a nuisance especially when moving the car.Communication prior to my arrival was not as it should have been in fact despite arriving around 18.00 hours the cottages was not completely ready for us, towels missing ect.On the plus side Myra was pleasant enough,the place was quiet and peaceful and we did enjoy our stay.I feel that the website needs to spell out better the layout, and maybe add pictures of the layout for each cottage to enable visitors to select accomodation suitable for them.The website just has a mixture of photos from a number of the cottages.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliver1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at Courtyard cottages in Sept 2011. Myra was extremely welcoming and suprised us in the nicest possible way with wine, scones and chocolates - that was a lovely start to our week's break! When we were shown to our cottage we were amazed at how stunning it looked inside, contemporary designer-like, it was even better than the pictures from the website and we were well pleased with our choice. The bed was really comfortable, the cottage was light and spacious and you could tell a lot of thought had gone into furnishing it nicely.

Sadly after about half a day though we started noticing little things about our accommodation which started to seriously niggle us - I would not have written about these but for the sheer number of them, it did taint our stay a bit truth be told. It just got annoying. Like, wobbly taps, a wonky half broken lampshade, missing lightbulbs or an odd wire not connected to anything. Or a very manky chopping board. Or gutters overgrowing with weeds and leaking in the rain. The kinds of things that would have taken someone a day to fix, but for some reason these have been left unfinished. It seems like the job of decorating and maintaining the cottage was 90% done, 10% abandoned in-flight. The most disappointing thing was, sadly, the communal laundry room. It was a bit of a tip :( It got cleaned up at the end of our visit but really there was no excuse for keeping it in the state it was even for a day.

The location was very good, we could easily travel out of Blennerville and explored the local peninsulas doing day trips even as far as the Ring of Kerry (slightly rushed but still doable).

I am giving it a rating of "very good" as "average" seems way too harsh, "good" would have been more appropriate just because of the niggles. Don't get me wrong - it was a lovely cottage, the welcome was fab, but attention to detail was not quite there on that occasion. Easy to fix though we think!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kes0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Had a romantic weekend here with the hubby. Myra is super, so helpful yet unobtrusive. Candles, log fires, comfy beds, wine, scones....fab. Pack your walking shoes as there are lovely walks in the area. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've stayed 3 times over the past three years. It really feels like a home from home each time we go back.

The cottages are very spacious, well fitted out and really clean. Myra somehow remembers us all by name (each time we've stayed we've rented two cottages) and always has a warm welcome waiting.

I would definately recommend this quiet little hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The moment we arrived we were welcomed by Myra and her home made scones jam and cream and wine.
The courtyard cottages are set in a beautiful surrounds. The interior of cottages are stylishly decorated all by Myra. Tralee is a lovely. We used the cottages as a base so we could explore the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. Can highly recommend a stay.

John and Jan
Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
835 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
430 reviews
3.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
520 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irish Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irish Holiday Cottages

Property: Courtyard Irish Holiday Cottages
Address: Greenlawn | Blennerville, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tralee
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing