We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Friendly Service”
Review of Castle Hostel

Castle Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hostel
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights before starting our hike on the Dingle Way and two more after the hike. Steve is a great host. He agreed to store our luggage for us while we hiked the Dingle Way. Rooms are slightly cramped but unless you plan to stay in your room all day it's not an issue. The dining area is a great place to hang out. Free WiFi and breakfast (cereal) is included. The hostel is within walking distance to the Tralee bus station. It's also near all the amenities .. restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, shops, Tralee Museum etc. I strongly recommend this hostel especially if you're hiking the Dingle Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SachBalag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
15
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

this hostel was great, rooms were a little packed, but they were comfortable and towels provided. i did think though that the price was a little expensive, but it was clean and had better reviews then the other hostel in Tralee. the guy from finland was friendly aswell.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorm best choice - shared bathroom but its bigger and has a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

stayed here - its very clean and cosy. would probably stay there again, i wasnt sure about the no lock on the 5 bed dorm bathroom door though, everything else was nice, the guy from finland who was working was very chatty and gave me a few things around tralee to do in my day in tralee. rooms are packed with beds, 5 bed dorm would probably be more comfortable with the 2 bunks only and not the pull out bed. over all nice stay.

Room Tip: get the 8 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victorialucy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hostel was fairly quiet when I went in October 2010, which was nice,

The rooms were fine and clean and the washroom was large and private, which is good. The only problem was the water pressure was very low - so the water was barely coming out at all, and I couldn't figure out how to get the hot water to work (separate in-line heater) so it was freezing cold too! This may have been fixed by now (I hope!)

The people were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked a double room in this hostel after reading good reviews on this site. But when we arrived the room was so dirty we had to leave and stay somewhere else. The bed, shower and sink had hairs (all sorts) all over them. It seemed like the room hadn't been cleaned at all. The hostel owner was very polite and gave us a refund. I've stayed in lots of hostels and all I ask is that it is clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My friends and I stayed there for 2 nights and were really happy with the choice of our hostel. The people who work there are very friendly and make you feel at home at once. they also helped us to book a tour to the ring of kerry, which was really helpful and well organized. The rooms and bathroom as well as the kitchen were perfectly clean and cosy. Something else which was nice was the possibility to get yourself free coffee and tee anytime. We had a great stay at the castle hostel and can only recommend to go there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the3travellers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holyhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Great welcome on arrival from Stephen everything spotless including,bedrooms bathroom,towels provided,breakfast self service cereals,toasts,tea,coffee .7 mins walk from Tra li railway station .Bicycle hire at O Hallorans 100 m from hostel ideal spot to stay and will be going again (if the wife will let me)

Room Tip: Not there for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kenjonesHolyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
846 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#2 of 53 in Tralee
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hostel

Property: Castle Hostel
Address: Castle Street, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing