We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't find a better place to stay in Tralee”
Review of Castle Hostel

Castle Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hostel
Llandybie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't find a better place to stay in Tralee”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday 5 August 2012, were warmly greeted by the owner, given loads of helpful local information, a basic spotlessly clean en-suite room with TV & SUCH a comfortable bed.
Continental breakfast is included in the price, & well-equipped modern clean kitchen if you want to cook more food.
As hostels in the area go, this one is ACE!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
15
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Aileen and Stephen are helpful and informative hosts. They will bend over backwards to make you welcome. They are sympathetic to tired, wet bicyclists and provide safe, accessible storage for your bikes and gear. The rooms are clean with towels provided. Breakfast is also supplied along with many extras such as milk, coffee, sugar, bread for toast and condiments .... more like a B&B than a hostel, but with hostel prices ... HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonaldAFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

No major complaints about this hostel, and it has some really good points. On our first night, we found that the room we had taken was double-booked, so we were given a four-bed dorm to ourselves instead. (I didn't like the way the owner said that we wouldn't be charged extra for the privilege!) However, we didn't mind, as all was clean and comfortable, if a bit cramped. The double room that we had for the next two nights was good, and had an excellent shower, but the mattress was very hard, and I lost a lot of sleep because of it.

The kitchen is well-stocked and clean, but it should be said that there is no oven. I found this a major disadvantage, and wished I had known beforehand. Also, the power in the kitchen is turned off at 9p.m.

Overall, I didn't save much by not staying in a B&B, and would have been more comfortable if I had done so.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlendaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights before starting our hike on the Dingle Way and two more after the hike. Steve is a great host. He agreed to store our luggage for us while we hiked the Dingle Way. Rooms are slightly cramped but unless you plan to stay in your room all day it's not an issue. The dining area is a great place to hang out. Free WiFi and breakfast (cereal) is included. The hostel is within walking distance to the Tralee bus station. It's also near all the amenities .. restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, shops, Tralee Museum etc. I strongly recommend this hostel especially if you're hiking the Dingle Way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SachBalag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

this hostel was great, rooms were a little packed, but they were comfortable and towels provided. i did think though that the price was a little expensive, but it was clean and had better reviews then the other hostel in Tralee. the guy from finland was friendly aswell.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorm best choice - shared bathroom but its bigger and has a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

stayed here - its very clean and cosy. would probably stay there again, i wasnt sure about the no lock on the 5 bed dorm bathroom door though, everything else was nice, the guy from finland who was working was very chatty and gave me a few things around tralee to do in my day in tralee. rooms are packed with beds, 5 bed dorm would probably be more comfortable with the 2 bunks only and not the pull out bed. over all nice stay.

Room Tip: get the 8 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victorialucy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hostel was fairly quiet when I went in October 2010, which was nice,

The rooms were fine and clean and the washroom was large and private, which is good. The only problem was the water pressure was very low - so the water was barely coming out at all, and I couldn't figure out how to get the hot water to work (separate in-line heater) so it was freezing cold too! This may have been fixed by now (I hope!)

The people were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was simple, but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#13 of 14 in Tralee
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finnegan's Hostel
Finnegan's Hostel
#13 of 16 in Tralee
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hostel

Property: Castle Hostel
Address: Castle Street, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing