We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay”
Review of Ballyseede Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballyseede Castle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

As part of our 15 day Irish adventure, my mother-in-law said that she really wanted to stay in a castle so this two night stay was to meet that desire. I think by all accounts, she was very happy with Ballyseede Castle.

We were in the Moore Room, which ironically is my paternal grandma's family name. (Thankfully we were not in the Shaw Room . . . my former married name!) With three of us, we found the room to have enough space to navigate comfortably. Our view from the top floor was nice, overlooking the back gardens courtyard area.

The restaurant was out of our budget range for dinner, so we took our first evening meal in town at Gally's which had a nice 3 course early bird special. Our second evening (Friday) we had planned to do a light dinner in the pub onsite. With a wedding reception going on at the same time, imagine our disappointment to hear at 7p that they could not serve food in the pub until after 9p. Frankly, the pub looked like a disaster area after a frat party, with dirty glasses everywhere (from the reception or pre-wedding party no doubt).

After a bit of grumbling, they came back and said they could feed us but on a limited menu basis. More grumbling and they agreed to offer their full pub menu. We stayed . . . and did enjoy our meal with them.

As for the two breakfasts we had there, we enjoyed them both. With a full continental available for cereals, breads, fruits and juices and a hot menu selection, it would be difficult to not find something of interest or to leave still hungry.

Throughout our stay, we felt as though they wanted to do everything humanly possible to assure our total satisfaction. Anything that seemed to elicit even a whimper of upset resulted in immediate attention and resolution.

I will say that having our room on the top floor was nice (we didn't have to hear the music from the wedding all night) but also a hassle given the two flights of stairs (on a lovely grand staircase I might add) especially when moving our luggage which was packed for a 15 night stay and not just two. They did have someone to assist my hubby with the schlepping of the bags which was nice.

I would recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in a stately old manor home or castle. The ambiance and surroundings were lavish; the service attentive and responsive. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    216
    55
    22
    29
See reviews for
324
517
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My friend and I stayed one night in Ballyseede Castle in early April. What a delightful find. The staff were welcoming and friendly and even carried our heavy bags up the stairs to our room. The room was huge and we felt like royalty. We chose to eat in the bar and the food was lovely. Tim gave us a guided tour of the castle which was entertaining and informative. A lovely venue for a wedding.Shame that we don't have any upcoming in our family and we live far, far away! The 2 resident dogs added to the charm of this gorgeous place. Great value for money and a beautiful breakfast completed our stay. We would highly recommend this as a lovely, affordable treat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a wonderful castle hotel and would recommend you staying here without question. It is also a great location to base your day trips out of and explore Ireland. Ester greets you upon arrival and is also there to serve you breakfast - she is funny, welcoming and pleasant and should be given a raise! We loved the dogs and the small bit of property around the hotel.

Some thoughts....
We love dogs, have a dog, and looked forward to the dogs as described on the hotel website. Mr. Higgins needs a bit more training as he can be "mouthy" when he gets excited. My niece was in tears as he nipped her arm and frightened her while he was playing.

We were enjoying some cocktails in the common area of the castle, and were a bit put-off by the two girls running around. I am not sure if they were children of the staff or we did notice the locals enjoy coming to the castle's bar. The two girls appeared unsupervised and just didn't appreciate the running about. Similarly, we had dinner in the bar, and a young boy was obsessed with the dog Einstein who seemed to try and find some refuge under our table from him. The boy's parents appeared to be local residents enjoying their time at the bar, while their son was under our table and pestering the dog.

We were assigned a room in the basement, second room from the very end. We found that hotel guests enjoy using the exit doors outside our room to come to/from the parking lot or smoke? The doors just bang shut each time someone uses them. Some signage in the hallway reminding guests to not talk loudly or adjust the doors so they are not so loud.

Room Tip: We didn't really understand that many of the rooms are in the basement, so you can't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZ2SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Ballyseede castle is everything you would think a princess would live in. So beautiful ! We picked the dinner bed and breakfast package for its amazing value and convenience. Our evening was gorgeous, the food amazing the whole night was just as we had expected. Our room was perfect, if a little smaller than I had expected from the pictures on the web page ? However it was still so lovely, we didn't mind.
Breakfast however was disappointing, we are still unsure if it was just one of those mornings or ??? However I didn't think asking for weak tea and soft boiled eggs would be an impossible ask ( they could have bounced ) and my husbands omelette was a little thrown together and the mushrooms he asked to have with it were uncooked ??
Ballyseede castle is still a gem and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Maybe ring the hotel as ask if the room you are looking at on the net, is the same room you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

More of a manor home than castle. Long elegant winding staircases. Beautiful furnishings. Cozy with family pictures of the owners and their young daughters. Large Irish hound puppy to greet you along with a smaller dog who carries stones around in his mouth and is ready to play. A little out of the way. Tralee is a business town so not much to see and few good eateries. Spent two nights being pampered. Room and bath large and beautiful. Trip up to top floor with luggage a challenge but room overlooked pretty back garden. Lots of places to sit and meet other visitors from all over the world. Just my cup of tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is exclusive. The staff are amazing, warm and welcoming. We stayed sat 28th of april in the" paddy hillery" room. The room was magnificent, spacious and luxurious. Food was superb-breakfast was just the best. The grounds are outstandiWg.we will be back and will highly reccomend you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Ballyseede is great! Don't shy away because of the eerie and drab picture views online.. it's so neat there. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was huge! Great shower and tub. The decor is old and very cool. They also have a hotel dog or two. The food is good and the breakfast room is old and also very interesting. Hotel staff is good too.. but the service is just slightly lacking. They seemed to all be in a rush. They also have two donkeys in the field. Not sure why. They are friendly and just graze around. Good stay, would definitely like to go again. Our room was the Clancy room.

Room Tip: Clancy room had a big and comfy bed and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepgirl824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
570 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
712 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
843 reviews
2.3 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyseede Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyseede Castle

Property: Ballyseede Castle
Address: Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyseede Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 4* Castle hotel located just outside of Tralee town on its own thirty acres of woodland. A very grand Hotel with two AA rosettes and shortlisted for Country House of the Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ballyseede Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing