We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with very friendly and accomadating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was just amazing. Room was lovely which looked out on the gardens. Food was really good in the restaurant and bar. Really relaxed atmosphere in the whole hotel, perfect for just chilling out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winniedonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay.

We are delighted with your comments and as always I will pass on your kind words to all of our staff members.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Ballygarry House Hotel and Spa in the future.

Kindest regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
There are newer reviews for Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights which included St. Patricks Day. Spa is beautiful but young lady giving massage used her elbow more than her hands. Had to ask her to stop twice. Had booked my partner in for a massage as well for a treat but he said it was incredibly painful and not at all relaxing. In fairness, when I asked him if had asked the massuse to lighten up he said he hadn't but again it seemed to be all done with the elbows! Spa lay out is beautiful and hot tub and relaxation room lovely. Ate in restaurant the first night and it was good but steak was dry, staff very nice and ate in bar following day, mentioned that steak had been a bit dry and lady said she would mention it. Got the most fabulous steak, really nice. Bar very busy with food all day - St. Patricks Day, thought they might have music in bar at night but didnt. Room was nice , had upgraded but unfortunately the first morning we were awoken at 6am by child screaming, this continued on and off til 8.30am. Mentioned it to lady at reception, I think Elaine, and she seemed surprised that there was a child near us but later in the bar we heard a man with a little girl give his room number at next number to ours. Next morning we were woken at 7.45am by a dumper truck right outside going up and down, this went on until we got up, so no lie-ins!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAnnie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, which is genuinely important to us in evaluating the service and facilities of our hotel.
Here at Ballygarry House we receive many positive comments and we are very disappointed to hear that you were let down with some aspects of your stay.
All of our therapists in Nadur Spa are trained in different methods of massage and each has their own style, they each do welcome feedback on the pressure of the massage provided and can adjust as requested.
I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your meal in the hotel, and appreciate you bringing the quality of your steak to our attention on the day so that we had the opportunity to rectify this.
I have spoken with Elaine and the room was on the same corridor but not next door to your room, that is why she was surprised by the noise being heard in your room.
With regards to the dumper, we are finalizing our newest development at the hotel and sincerely apologize for this disruption to your stay. We have now finished all ground works here in the hotel.
On St Patrick’s day we did not have music in the bar as we felt that we did not require music on this occasion to enhance the atmosphere, we do have an agreement with a local taxi company that provide us with a favorable rate, where guests can enjoy the local bars in Tralee town which provide entertainment.

Once again I wish to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention, your feedback has been much appreciated and I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a family suite at Ballygarry. From the moment we checked in, everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful - we felt most welcome! The restaurant, although formal, had an extensive kid's menu that my 8 year old and 4 year old found plenty to eat during our stay - and the food at Brooks Restaurant was the best I had in Ireland.

The room was comfortable, with plenty of sleeping/living space for a family of four. The staff was gracious and attentive in assisting with all our needs for the kids. I only wish I had time to use the spa area!!

I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McFale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback in detail on the recent visit to Ballygarry House Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and pleased to read your positive comments.

I will pass your kind words on to our team who are very passionate about their service and will very much appreciate your feedback.

I am also glad to hear that our younger guests enjoyed it too and hope that you will be able to visit again and take the time to use Nádúr Spa!

Kindest regards,

Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My partner and I stayed in a junior suite on a 3night deal with one dinner included. We called a couple of times to enquire about price/availability and then again to book and the person at the other end of the phone couldn't have been more helpful.

On our arrival we got a warm welcome and an efficient check in.

The hotel itself has a v nice "country manor" feel to it, without being pokey or shabby in any way. It feels clean even to walk down the corrider to your room. The room was very spacious, although somewhat lacking in storage space to get your things out of sight (we didn't want to live from a suitecase for 3 days). No minibar/fridge. The king size bed was comfy, the bathroom very well decorated (complete with separate shower and bath and 2 sinks) and everything worked. Our view was of the car park at the front of the hotel but you can get suites with views of the mountains behind the hotel - didn't really bother us or affect our stay. The bar food is of the same excellent quality as the hotel's dining room so don't feel like you're missing out if you just eat at the bar. Service in both the bar and the dining room was very good (save for a slightly grumpy lady on our last morning who just seemed to be having a bad day).

You can get a taxi into Tralee from the hotel for a cost of about €8 (about 5 mins). For some that might be a negative, but for those who just want a quiet weekend away it's perfect.

We used Nadur Spa (the sauna, steam, room, outdoor thermal pool etc) several times and even got treatments - a facial and a massage - on one of the days. Think you need a book the treatments about a week or two beforehand and beware that your room price does include the price of using the spa facilities (ours did).

All in all, we had a lovely experience in BG House and would happily recommend it to others, especially couples looking for a quiet weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skennedy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed xmas week, beautiful hotel and food was magnificent, very central for ring of kerry and other sights, could not recommend this hotel enought, my 3rd time there and booked again for Mid Term.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I could live in this hotel, it is really homely and very comfortable, the staff are so helpful. Really spacious rooms well appointed, great bedding and good food. well Done!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerramjet365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed at Ballygarry House in Tralee for two nights with my husband and had a really wonderful and relaxing time. It was our second visit to Ballygarry, and we enjoyed both trips immensely. Although we didnt avail of the spa facilities this time around, we found it wonderful during our first visit. Our room this time seemed more modern, it may have been a new/refurbished wing, and it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was fab, and extremely clean. Even though our room was facing onto the main road, I had one of the best night's sleep I had had in a long time!

I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel. The reception staff and majority of bar and restaurant staff we encountered were wonderfully welcoming (the girl waiting on us in the restaurant looked like she'd rather be anywhere but there!) and overall it was good value for money (apart from the VERY pricey sandwiches in the bar - they could definitely do with lowering their prices. €11 for a chicken and stuffing sandwich??? Sans fries??? Recession anyone??)

Apart from the very minor flaws detailed above, you are guaranteed a really pleasant stay in Ballygarry.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmsieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
614 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#3 of 14 in Tralee
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
540 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#5 of 14 in Tralee
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: £91 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing